We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Upgraded and room ready early”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Ranked #2 of 140 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
new york
Level Contributor
1,097 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
“Upgraded and room ready early”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Our early flight from ny arrived early we hopped on the red line and walked two blocks to the hotel. Instant upgrade and check in. Nice staff. Room had slight musty smell when we entered. Excellent location. Have walked to Powell's a books, food cart pod at 9 th and Washington, craft museum.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nycmom22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott C, Assistant General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Hi Nycmom22,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of the Vintage Plaza. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us here and glad the location was convenient for you. I am would like to apologize for the inconvenience the room smell was for you. I hope you have a chance to come back and stay with us soon.

Cheers,

Scott Congdon, AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    853
    299
    81
    42
    9
See reviews for
172
544
93
243
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights in June for our first trip to Portland. Wanted to stay at a Kimpton so we chose the Vintage Plaza. Room wasn't huge but it was big enough and clean. Beds were comfy, possibly too comfy. Beer on tap during wine hour - I applaud whoever thought of that. Location was great and staff were friendly. Upon leaving, they were able to book us a town car to the airport so we could roll up like a boss.

Definitely enjoyed our first Kimpton experience - wouldn't mind coming back!

Green Features: If you refuse housekeeping service, you can get a credit to the restaurant.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott C, Assistant General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Hi Chris H,

Thank you for the kind review, I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and I agree the beer at wine hour is awesome. That's great you took advantage of that. Come back and have a beer with us soon.

Cheers,

Scott Congdon, AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014

We stay at the Vintage Plaza every time we visit Portland. The most recent stay was especially nice. When we arrived after a fairly long trip from the East Coast, we received a warm greeting and a room upgrade - a very nice surprise. The room was quiet and comfortable and I enjoyed the spa tub as well. Michael helped us to arrange a lovely day in wine country, booking a driver for us, arranging for a picnic lunch from Pazzo, and making appointments at wineries. From arrival to departure, everyone was welcoming and friendly. Our breakfast at Pazzo was delicious - don't skip the toast that they bring with the already abundant meals - it is a beer/walnut bread that matches nicely with the apricot jam they bring with it. We are eager to come back.

Room Tip: If the small bathroom in the "regular" room bothers you, look at a spa room - the ledge ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaraLZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott C, Assistant General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Hi SarahLZ,

Thank you for the lovely review of the Vintage Plaza. I am so happy we can be your resting place when you are here in Portland. I really appreciate your kind words about Michael, and am so happy you enjoyed the wine tour. I know he took a lot of pride in putting that together for you! Hope to see you soon on your next Portland adventure.

Cheers,

Scott Congdon, AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2014

My husband and I were traveling to Portland with our toddler for a quick weekend visit to family. After an unusually stressful week, we were excited to have a very convenient, comfy, and luxurious place to stay so we could fit in a few favorite downtown Portland activities. Kimpton hotels are my favorite, but this was our first time staying at the Hotel Vintage Plaza, and we definitely enjoyed the hotel.

There were only two minor, less-than-perfect elements of our stay. The first was that there was not a crib in the room when we checked in, although the front desk staff quickly called someone to get one for us while we were on our way up to the room. The crib request was noted in the appropriate check box on the room reservation info, so it was a (very) minor frustration that the individual working at the front desk was surprised by this when I asked about it. The second small inconvenience was that there are two small steps from the lobby to the elevator, although there is a lift adjacent to the steps. We were quickly told that someone could be summoned to operate the lift if needed, but we opted to maneuver our small stroller up the steps instead to save time and effort for everyone. Although I am certain that the hotel staff will readily help with the lift whenever needed, it should be noted by anyone with wheels (wheelchair, stroller, heavy rolling bags, etc.) that accessing the elevator will require assistance from the hotel staff.

Completely silly side note to Vintage Park management: when we stayed at Portland's Hotel Monaco late last year, there was a little stuffed puppy toy with a note saying that it was for our son; this little dog ended up being one of his favorite toys even to this day! We noticed a stuffed animal on the bed when we arrived in our room at Vintage Park, and we let our toddler play with it before noticing that there was a price tag on the toy. It's a little thing, but it would be so lovely if there was a similar thing at all of the Kimpton hotels. That tiny little puppy at Monaco meant a lot to our little family!

The little goodie box filled with toys in the lobby of Vintage Park was brilliant. My son was too little to enjoy it this time, but we'll certainly let him check it out when he is older.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeattleGWS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott C, Assistant General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Hi SeattleGWS,

Thank you for staying with us here at the Vintage Plaza and thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel. I apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. I am so happy to see that the staff and property made up for them. I hope that the next time you need to get away you come see us!

Warm Regards,

Scott Congdon, AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Great city - great room - great food - great microbrew! What more could one ask for??? Great treatment by hotel staff - from the doormen to the ladies at the front desk - wonderful folks who welcomed us and made us feel completely at home. Thanks folks - I WILL be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rickity1-x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott C, Assistant General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Hi Rickity1-x,

Thank you for your awesome review of the Vintage Plaza. I am so happy to see you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you have a chance to come back real soon. Your words about the staff were very kind, thank you!

Cheers,

Scott Congdon, AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarasota
1 review
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Luv all of the amenities that Kimpton Hotels have to offer. This Portland location is excellent. The wine, infused waters, bikes, coffee are just some of the perks. The service was outstanding. The room was very clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank siestawave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottCongdon, Assistant General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Hi Siestawave,

Thank you for the very nice review. We love amenities as well, and am so happy you took advantage of them all while you were here with us. That is what we like to see. Come back and see us again soon.

Warm Regards,

Scott Congdon, AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snoqualmie, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 2, 2014

We have stayed here several times and always look forward to returning. We especially appreciate that it is so pet-friendly. And by that I don't jus mean pet-tolerant. The Hotel Vintage Plaza wholeheartedly welcomes our two poodles --- from having their names on the welcome board in the lobby --- to providing cozy bedding, treats, feeding bowls, a list of pet-friendly restaurants, etc. We especially appreciate that we can book a lovely, roomy suite at the Hotel Vintage Plaza, while some other hotels only make their basic rooms available to people traveling with pets. The adjoining Pazzo restaurant was pleased to serve us a truly delicious breakfast in the hotel lobby so our pups could stay next to us while we ate. From the moment we pulled up in our car until the moment we left, everyone was so friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Lovely, roomy suites are also available to those traveling with pets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoseOnTheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottCongdon, Assistant General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Hi RoseOnTheRoad,

We love pups and am so happy you had the chance to bring yours to hangout with us! I am glad they felt pampered, as they should. We'll look forward to seeing you soon. Thank you for the fantastic review!!

Cheers,

Scott Congdon, AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 140 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,677 reviews
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#7 of 140 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel deLuxe
#4 of 140 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,757 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#13 of 140 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,353 reviews
Downtown
Paramount Hotel
Paramount Hotel
#10 of 140 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland

Property: Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Address: 422 SW Broadway, Portland, OR 97205-3511
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Portland
#2 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#2 Green Hotel in Portland
#4 Family Hotel in Portland
#5 Business Hotel in Portland
#7 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all new Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland! From the urban-art-adorned lobby - where you're pretty much guaranteed to bond over our complimentary hosted social hour with a new friend - follow the floating staircase to the game lounge, stocked with current hits and nostalgic classics (Atari, anyone?). You'll feel the pioneering spirit of the Oregon Trail when drifting to sleep against a distressed-oak headboard, not far from your specially curated bottle of wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vintage Plaza Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing