We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Ranked #7 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Although it's part of a chain, this hotel seems much more like a specialty boutique hotel. Many special touches such as complementary wine hour, pets accepted, bikes to borrow, yoga mats and great restaurant on property. However, I do have an issue with employees at front desk. I stopped to make a future reservation. Tamara didn't even print me out a confirmation. That won't stop me from staying again though. It's a great place if you ignore superiority complex.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank lew w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandyGM2013, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear Lew;
Thank you for your gracious and kind review of our hotel. Charming it is and Kimpton actually set the standard in boutique hotels, before there was such a thing here in the states, we began in 1981. I want to let you know that I truly appreciated your entire review. Thank you and please come back soon. All the best, Sandy Burkett, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,347)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

759 - 765 of 1,347 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2013

Stayed here on a business trip. I was pleasantly surprised by accomodations and how nice this hotel is. The private dining in the Pazzo Cellar is by far one of the most unique dining experiences I have ever had. Great food, great atmosphere, great 3 nights stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fmlyo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandyGM2013, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear fmly011;
3 nights and a fabulous experience in our Wine Cellar- Sooooo pleased that you truly embraced and enjoyed the entire experience. Thank you so much for your review and we do hope to see you return in the near future! All the best, Sandy Burkett, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Great hotel with complimentary wine (happy hour) in the foyer. Bonus is their pastisserie which serves freshly made brioche and other pastries in the morning. We also find their pillows especially comfortable.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luch209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandyGM2013, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear Lew;

I want to let you know that we appreciate your kind and gracious feedback about the experience that you had here! Kimpton is a "specialty chain".... I see it as a unique and amazing place to work, as well as care for guests." I am pleased that you enjoyed and notices our special touches such as complimentary wine hour, pets accepted, bikes to borrow, yoga mats and great restaurant on property. I am thrilled you will be returning and will see what we can do to enhance your front desk experience! Thank you for all of your feedback and your business. All the best, Sandy Burkett, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

The hotel was clean and quiet. Kimpton is my favorite loyalty chain these days because of their small benefits like $10 credit to use minibar and every day free wine happy hour in the evening. On top of that, it was easy to access the running trail around the river (which they give you a map with some running routes if you ask), it was less than 5 minutes away.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandyGM2013, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear Chris A
Thank you for the glowing review! We love our road warriors here at the Vintage! You listed everything that is critical to a great hotel stay for any corporate traveler. I cannot add anything - other than how much we love our guests. Thanks for the review telling others that this is the place to stay in Portland. We look forward to serving you again! All the best, Sandy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

my husband and I went for a weekend and the hotel was great. from the car hop outside, the front desk, everyone was helpful and smiling. We got a garden spa room, although the room its self was a little smaller then we figured it would be, the balcony with hot tub made up for it. we had a very quiet and relaxing weekend. also its location is in the middle of everything, you can walk to almost anything you want to go do

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephaine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandyGM2013, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear Stephaine;
The garden spa rooms are so much fun indeed! Thank you for your review for others to read about your fun get away at our hotel. I am thrilled that you had a great time in the outdoor hot tub and all the city had to offer. We appreciate your feedback and fabulous review and hope that you return to us again in the near future. All the best, Sandy Burkett

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Went here for a romantic birthday night with my boyfriend. I was greeted with a bottle of birthday wine and chocolates. Comfortable and scrupulously clean. Elegant. With top-notch and very human service. I cannot emphasize how fantastic the service was enough.
I loved this place and will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Spa suites have an amazing two person jacuzzi tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mariquail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandyGM2013, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear Mariquail;
Wow your review is INCREDIBLE- Thank YOU!!! I have to say your wording was vivid! "Comfortable and scrupulously clean. Elegant." ... "I cannot emphasize how fantastic the service"- Thank you so much and we look forward to serving you and your partner again in the future. Appreciatively, Sandy Burkett, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

I am a big fan of Kimpton hotels and decided to include this hotel on the two week rail journey my friend and I made in a circuit from Arizona to California, to the Northwest, to Chicago, and back to my home in Flagstaff. As usual, I was not disappointed. The room was very attractive and comfortable. The only criticism I have of the room is rather dim lighting in the shower. Otherwise, the bathroom was large and spacious. I have also commented to Kimpton that we were in a bit of a jam in needing to do laundry. The nearest laundromat was several blocks away - not convenient. On the weekend, I am not sure if sending out laundry was even available, something that I do not care to pay for anyway. So, we did it the old fashioned way, festooning the room with damp laundry done in the bathtub! I realize that big city hotels usually do not have washing machines available for guests, but have suggested to Kimpton that this is an idea they may want to consider.
We ate a total of three meals in the hotel restaurant. A couple who are friends of mine came from their home in suburban Portland to join us for dinner and they knew of this restaurant and wanted very much to eat there. It was a fine evening.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EAZELIFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandyGM2013, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Dear EAZELIFF;
I am thrilled that you shared your "fan status for all of Kimpton".
Your trip for two weeks is one that I want to take! What a great journey! I may want to ride my Harley vs. the rails, but you crossed some of the most beautiful land in the country! I loved your review of your stay with your friend, the fact that our locals LOVE PAZZO was a definate win!
Our team and chef Eisenhart are Iconic in Portland and from this restaurant many other popular chefs and restaurants have begun, with their roots right here!

I took note of your only criticism I have of the room is rather dim lighting in the shower and the convenience of an on site laundry option may be worth looking into.
Again, thank you for sharing your story, our chapter and opening up for other travelers to evaluate when traveling to Portland. Happy trails, Sandy Burkett, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 144 in Portland
1,746 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#3 of 144 in Portland
2,838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#4 of 144 in Portland
1,403 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#15 of 144 in Portland
1,428 reviews
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland

Address: 422 SW Broadway, Portland, OR 97205-3511
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Portland
#2 Spa Hotel in Portland
#4 Family Hotel in Portland
#5 Business Hotel in Portland
#6 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#7 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $187 - $382 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all new Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland! From the urban-art-adorned lobby - where you're pretty much guaranteed to bond over our complimentary hosted social hour with a new friend - follow the floating staircase to the game lounge, stocked with current hits and nostalgic classics (Atari, anyone?). You'll feel the pioneering spirit of the Oregon Trail when drifting to sleep against a distressed-oak headboard, not far from your specially curated bottle of wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vintage Plaza Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing