We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Ranked #6 of 142 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Hotel!”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We spend several weekends in Portland a year and this was our first visit to the Hotel Vintage Plaza. It is a beautiful property near the downtown core. The service was excellent and our room was spacious and comfortable. Close to heart of downtown, there are many restaurants and shops within walking distance and the Pearl District is just a short walk or street car ride away. The only downside to our room was that although a suite, the only window was small and looked over the roof and unsightly courtyard area (not really even a courtyard) and the shower door handle begged to be tightened and repaired. Overall though, it is a great hotel and we would stay there again.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a room that has views of the city, NOT the roof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milly6020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandyGM2013, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Milly6020;
I happily read your entire review. Loved that you would happily stay here again, considering that you spend several weekends in Portland a year!

Your review was thorough addressing all aspects of your experience here, from your guest room, location, near the downtown core and always my favorite partThe service was excellent". I appreciate online reviews they help future guests anticipate where they want to stay. The only frustration as the GM is that when I see that something in the room wasn't quite right, I wonder, did the guest tell the front desk? Which room were they in? Have we found the issue. So I will be testing all the shower door handles today, so that no future guest is inconvenienced! Thank you again, we do look forward to becoming your Portland home away from home. Until your next visit, enjoy the journey! Sandy Burkett, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    873
    308
    86
    46
    11
See reviews for
184
559
95
250
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 20, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Vintage Plaza for a staycation in order to get a break from the kids, and we had a mixed experience. The staff was polite, professional, and tried their best to attend to our needs. The wine hour was wonderful, and the restaurant next door was impressive. Our only problem with our stay was the paper thin walls. We could hear the people next to us cough, sneeze, have sex, and even hear their cat "meow", all while our TV was on. Knowing we could so clearly hear our neighbors made us somewhat uncomfortable and conscious of our room volume. For a boutique hotel with an above average room price, we did not expect to be so clearly aware of our neighbors, and I would not say they were being overly loud. The walls are simply thin. The hotel staff tried to help out by switching rooms for us, but on a Saturday night, that was just a logistical problem. The staff was great, the service was great, but for a trip when you plan to stay in your room, it is a crap shoot depending on your neighbors.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crowderfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandyGM2013, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Crowderfam;
Your review of our hotel for you and your wife's staycation made me proud as a hotelier, that our staff did everything they could to ensure that your break from the kids, was enjoyable. When you stated that "The staff was polite, professional, and tried their best to attend to our needs. The wine hour was wonderful, and the restaurant next door was impressive." all made my day.Thank you !
I am not certain what room you were in, but obviously the ability to hear everything next door did not add to your comfort or entertainment. I am sorry about that portion of your experience. I will be following up with our team to see whom took care of you and which room you were in.

Thank you for selecting our hotel, for your entire review. We do hope that we have earned the opportunity to serve you again in the future. Until then, all the best, Sandy Burkett, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 18, 2013

I've stayed here twice during business trips and both times the stay was wonderful. Recently, I stayed from Sunday to Friday in a Queen Starlight room and it was great. The bed was very comfortable and the provide couch was nice. The Internet login didn't work at first but the support number listed in the connection was able to get me connected in less than 5 minutes and everything worked perfectly after that. They have nice big fluffy towels that are very nice and the bathroom is very well stocked with everything. The TV has a great selection of channels. The only thing I'd ask for is 1 movie channel provided in the TV package, ie HBO, or Cinemax. The staff are very polite and knowlegeable about the area. The checkin and checkout process couldn't have been easier. Everyone associated with the hotel was incredible.

Room Tip: Unless you need the king size bed, the starlight queen room is very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandyGM2013, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Robert A;
Third time is a charm! Thank you for selecting us as your home away from home when you travel to Portland. There is no greater compliment than a 5 STAR Review and your continued selection of our hotel. Now that we are your hotel of choice for business and pleasure, and that our team has done an incredible job, we look forward to your next visit to see how we can continue to earn your business. PS I am working on that movie channel! Happy trails, Sandy Burkett, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
1 review
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Thanks to the Hotel Vintage Plaza staff and couldn't have picked a better place to celebrate our anniversary! The Starlight rooms are great and to wake up to the surrounding sky above and fall asleep to the stars is something special. We let the staff know it was our anniversary and the handwritten note that we had in our room made the night! We had a little trouble getting into the room but the front-desk staff was very accommodating and comped a drink and appetizer and that bar, which totally made up for it. We didn't bring our dog but any place that makes them feel welcome is a huge plus. Thanks again for the wonderful accommodations!

Room Tip: Starlight Rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tyler S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandyGM2013, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Tyler S.;
Congratulations on your Anniversary and I appreciate your feedback on the service level of the staff and the starlight room ambiance! We are thrilled that you chose to stay with us and look forward to having you return again from Bellingham. Enjoy lifes' journey! Sandy Burkett, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, California
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed at the Vintage Plaza twice within a 10 day period. The hotel is very well located - you can walk to most of the major attactions - Pike Place Market, Pioneer Square, International District etc. The service is excellent. Wine/beer served every evening in the lobby. The rooms are very well appointed and very quiet and clean. There is a restaurant attached - we only ate there for breakfast - wonderful pastries as they have a coffee shop/bakery there, too. We will stay here when we return to Portland.

Room Tip: See if you can get an upgrade to one of the large rooms. If you drive a hybrid, you get a discount...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank datspeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandyGM2013, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear datspeed,
Twice within 10 days, we are truly fortunate not only for you selecting our property once but twice. The pastries from the Pazzoria are exceptional! We look forward to your return to Portland and your stay with us again and appreciate your 5 STAR review. Enjoy your journey, Sandy Burkett, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Sometimes you yearn for a bygone era when staying at an old-style hotel. Although this was lost on me as the room was cluttered with advertising offered by the hotel. I thought it sweet they offered bed socks hanging in the cupboard, but on closer inspection I read, if I separated the socks $15 would be charged to my room. The leopard print bathrobes were an odd touch and the yoga mat a good idea, especially as the gym is in serious need of cleaning and an upgrade.
I suppose there was nothing really wrong with this hotel, comfy beds, clean rooms but the price was exorbitant for a hotel of that quality. Shop around.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maddotsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandyGM2013, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Maddotsu:
Wow, I read your review it was painful. You were clear on your disappointments with the experience, my overall impression is that you were actually angry. We are here to
exceed your expectations, not disappoint you. I just want you to know that is our intention - make the world a better place - especially for our guests! If the price value of your accommodation, during a high demand time, was incongruent with what you expected to pay, or may have paid in Portland at another time of year, I understand. I would like to encourage you to extend your comments with myself or our team while you are staying, so that we have an opportunity to help you better enjoy your time with us and enjoy your entire guest experience. All feedback is reviewed and addressed by our team immediately, I just walked our gym, based upon your comments. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, we appreciate your feedback as well. I also extend an invitation to connect with me. I am always available, as is our team to address any issues that arise during your stay. All the best on your journey, Sandy B GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Good beds, great staff, not as good as some of the other properties but a solid stay. No in room coffee but the wine hour makes up for it if you can make it in time. The Kimpton gummy bears are always great, although as any mini bar item... overpriced.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank TravelEnoughToKnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandyGM2013, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear TravelEnoughToKnow;
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We do have coffee makers, complimentary upon request. I wish we would have known while you were here, as we would have loved making you even more comfortable during your time with us. We hope to have you back again and providing the early morning coffee in your room for your convenience. Enjoy your journey and we appreciate your review! Sandy Burkett, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 142 in Portland
1,717 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#3 of 142 in Portland
2,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#4 of 142 in Portland
1,380 reviews
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#8 of 142 in Portland
1,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland

Property: Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Address: 422 SW Broadway, Portland, OR 97205-3511
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Portland
#2 Spa Hotel in Portland
#4 Family Hotel in Portland
#5 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#5 Business Hotel in Portland
#7 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all new Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland! From the urban-art-adorned lobby - where you're pretty much guaranteed to bond over our complimentary hosted social hour with a new friend - follow the floating staircase to the game lounge, stocked with current hits and nostalgic classics (Atari, anyone?). You'll feel the pioneering spirit of the Oregon Trail when drifting to sleep against a distressed-oak headboard, not far from your specially curated bottle of wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vintage Plaza Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing