We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to be seen.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Ranked #3 of 141 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A place to be seen.”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Pompous people. The only friendly people were the service staff. Rooms were marginal, at best. Forget about the views...they're hard to come by. Choose somewhere else. I hear that Oregonians are friendly...but not here.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank halekat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandyGM2013, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear "place to be seen";
I want to say that your review was a bit of a surprise to me. I am grateful that you have shared your perspective of your guest experience. This is important for our team to realize that each and every guest walks in through our doors with a different perspective, our job is to uncover what you are expecting and do our best to ensure that. We hope we have an opportunity to present you with a different experience on your next journey to Portland. Again, thank you for your feedback. All the best, Sandy Burkett, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    858
    300
    81
    43
    10
See reviews for
172
548
93
245
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
95 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

I think my problem with Kimpton hotels is that I get seduced by the website that seems to suggest the staff will bend over backwards for you and be super friendly while doing it. Then when I get there I find a nice hotel with some good amenities - my room had an exercise bike and weights in it! I adore the foam pillows and the fact that they bring you the New York Times. The room itself was nice and clean. That said, the hideabed was so uncomfortable that my son had to make a bed out of the couch pillows and sleep on the floor. We did call the front desk to ask for a foam pad but they could not find one. At check out I was overcharged and the bell service was pretty mediocre. I am not saying it was a bad experience, but it just didn't live up to the hype. An exercise bike in the room does not make it a consummate experience.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeonaHtheQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandyGM2013, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear LeonaHtheQueen;
I love your screen name! I just want to thank you for your candor and overview of your Kimpton Experiences. We are boutique hotels, many in historic buildings which is the blessing and the curse that we face, making the most out of the space that we have to work with. Your review highlighted our strengths and weaknesses. I am pleased that you enjoyed our in room fitness option, though your son did not sleep well and that our team did not make a touch down in follow thru. Thank you for bringing it to our attention, so that we stay focused on all of the basics that our guest experience entails. All the best, Sandy Burkett, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We selected the vintage for its location, which was ideal. The staff was friendly- gave some good reccomendations for nearby bars. Pillows were way too soft, and the "foam" pillows brought up were little help. We had to ask twice for these. Left sign on door the first day that we did not need room made up, took it down the next- housekeeping still did not come. Overall it was a good experience but I think they could have done better with what they had, and am planning to try someplace new next time in Portland.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandyGM2013, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
We strive to be great, sounds like the location and recommendations from the team were ideal. We have our Kimpton In Touch program that define guest preferences, like firm/feather/foam or fluffy pillows, so that we may prepare in advance for your arrival and anticipate your preferences. We would love to see you the next time you are in Portland and ensure you are well rested. Thank you for letting us know what rocked and what did not.
All the best, Sandy Burkett, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
105 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

I stay frequently at the Vintage when visiting my family. I love this classically elegant hotel, the wonderful staff and location. I love the corner rooms as well as the suites. I have known Michael for over six years. They took very good care of me when my father passed away. I will never forgot the special service they provided me and I will always be loyal to this wonderful staffed hotel.

Room Tip: Corner higher floor and the suites are gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunnynlajolla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandyGM2013, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Sunnynlajolla;
I loved loved loved reading your review and want to thank you for taking the time to detail out all of the staff and services that you love about the Vintage Plaza here in Portland. Your words mean the world to our staff. We read all reviews at our daily line up. We look forward, as always, to having you back, I hope to meet you next time you are in town. We love to serve! Happy trails, Sandy Burkett GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
262 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

I am a kimpton rewards member. We booked our room on January 8 for a late March two night stay mid week for my husband's conference. We did not get a good rate. We did not get a good room. Do not stay on the south side. You will not enjoy the bell from the Marriott parking garage every time (1000 times) they exit with valet parking. Request a room high up on the west side (facing west) as that is a bank and presumably a lot less noisy. Worst night's sleep I've had all year!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laurie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandyGM2013, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Laurie C;
I am thrilled to hear that you are a KIT member and that you were looking forward to your stay. Your feedback clearly let us know that we fell short and that you are certain we can do better. I agree with you. I look forward to seeing you return and us getting it right. Thank you again for letting us know how you felt. All the best, Sandy Burkett, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, Ecuador
Level Contributor
84 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Cute boutique hotel in typical Kimpton tradition. My room was smaller than most offered at the same brand/different location and was more traditionally decorated, but was very tasteful and elegant.

Byron at the front desk was a wonderful host, making sure I had an umbrella when going for a walk, and offering a pet goldfish to keep me company in my room!

Great lobby, very sleek. Didn't attend the wine tasting, but its always a nice touch if you get the chance.

Room Tip: I was in room 1007 which was a corner room. I think that was one of the factors that made it smalle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank megoreilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandyGM2013, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear "wish I had more time in Portland" with the 5 Star review~
Please come back and bring all your friends! Seriously, your feedback made our entire team smile. Can't wait to serve you again. All the best, Sandy Burkett, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroke City NI
Level Contributor
128 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I have known of this hotel for many years on visits to Portland, Oregon. It has a well-known restaurant on the street level - Pazzo's - which is a favourite of Portlanders for years. On a recent trip to PDX we decided to stay at the Vintage Plaza.
We upgraded to a 'starlight room' on the 10th floor and visited in the 'low season', getting terrific value for money to be right in the heart of the city.
The staff are professional, welcoming and kind. We enjoyed the space and light in our room, had a really comfortable bed with high quality bedding; but found the furnishings a little tired and in need of refurbishment. Indeed, the theme of the room seems focused on romantic trysts than out-of-town visitors (there is a cuddly toy on the bed, themed dressing-gowns with leopard print etc.).
Sleep quality was excellent as we were remote from street noise, and higher floors are probably recommended.
There is a wine reception from 1700 to 1800 daily which is a nice welcoming touch for guests.
At the end of the day: the location and staff make this place a great success - 2 blocks to Pioneer Square and the Max to the airport. Would happily stay again.

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor if possible as there are normal street noises through the night as in any larg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ernestBT48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandyGM2013, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Fine Hotel On Broadway- you've got me singing!
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience staying with us during your recent trip to Portland. We truly appreciate your comments and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
All the best, Sandy Burkett, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 141 in Portland
1,688 reviews
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#6 of 141 in Portland
1,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel deLuxe
#4 of 141 in Portland
2,777 reviews
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#13 of 141 in Portland
1,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland

Property: Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Address: 422 SW Broadway, Portland, OR 97205-3511
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Portland
#2 Spa Hotel in Portland
#3 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#4 Family Hotel in Portland
#5 Business Hotel in Portland
#7 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all new Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland! From the urban-art-adorned lobby - where you're pretty much guaranteed to bond over our complimentary hosted social hour with a new friend - follow the floating staircase to the game lounge, stocked with current hits and nostalgic classics (Atari, anyone?). You'll feel the pioneering spirit of the Oregon Trail when drifting to sleep against a distressed-oak headboard, not far from your specially curated bottle of wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vintage Plaza Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing