We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always Great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Ranked #2 of 139 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Scotts Valley, California
Level Contributor
109 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Always Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel several times and I always enjoy it. This past weekend my stay was very brief but especially enjoyable! The front desk was helpful each time I approached them, the valet was quick and effecient, the room was large and clean, and happy hour was fabulous. I appreciate their consistency and I almost forgot to mention the terrific central location.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mindi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VintagePlazaHotel, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
We always look forward to having our regulars stay with us! Thank you for your great review. We look forward to your return. Please do not hesitate to contact me to any of our staff if there is anything we can do for you.
Warm Regards,
Marianne Moisant
Asst General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    845
    296
    79
    41
    9
See reviews for
169
537
93
240
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
White Rock, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

This hotel has so much to offer aside from thoughtful friendly service. Every day from 5-6 is generous amounts of wine tasting in the lobby and is so much fun.The best Italian restaurant, Pazzo is attached to this hotel and along side of Pazzo's is their delicious bakery. The dark chocolate and almond scones are to die for. Upon return to the Vintage you feel like you are coming home for the night. I love pets but did request a pet free floor which is available upon request. Just tell the staff what you need. I am looking foreward to a return stay with even more friends next time.

Room Tip: I can not comment on the pool or spa service as did not use while there. Too many other things to do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Myrna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VintagePlazaHotel, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
It is great to hear you had such a great time with us! Thanks so much for your kind remarks. We will be waiting for you return trip, we look forward to taking care of your again!
Warm Regards,
Marianne Moisant
Asst General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

the parking was $35 per night on top of an expensive room - the service from the front desk was unreliable at best - when i requested towels, it took took two hours - the staff was friendly but they couldnt help me with my issues although they smiled alot - not so helpful - many other beautiful hotels in Portland for my next stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patty5534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VintagePlazaHotel, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Ouch – sounds like we really blew it. I am so sorry! You should always receive the level of service you expect during your stay with us. I promise we will do better next time.
Thank you for taking the time to reply to me personally also.
Best,
Marianne Moisant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
276 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for a small bachelor party, forking out the extra money for their best room which had plenty of space but could have used a full kitchen. At $400 a night i expected complimentary parking instead of $30-40/day. To make a local phone call cost $2.00, to eat a candy bar cost $4-8.

Besides the lingering cost of everything, the hotel itself is in need of an update. In the late 90's the decor and layout would have impressed me, but it only added to my frown for what i thought would be an exceptionally perfect room.

There are several other hotels, some on the same block that are very up to date and just as posh. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happiestbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VintagePlazaHotel, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to give us feedback. We appreciate your comments. I apologize if you were misinformed about our rooms. We have some very nice suites but we do not have any rooms with kitchens. We do charge for valet parking and other optional services should one choose to use. OUr last renovation was in 2009 but we are always updating! Maybe you will give us another try in the future?
Best,
Marianne Moisant
Asst General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

This hotel is a treat to stay in. Clean, comfortable, and a terrific location. Most everything you want is within walking distance and Portland is a great walking city.
The staff at all levels are fantastically friendly and helpful. Almost everyone seems to be able to act as a mini-concierge so you are never stuck for helpful advice on Portland. The evening wine reception is a great opportunity to meet new folks, in their comfortable lobby. Not the cheapest place in town but the experience is worth it. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PTBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VintagePlazaHotel, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
Thank you for your review. We love hearing we got it right! Our warm, friendly atmosphere and free wine every night is also a plus!
Warm Regards,
Marianne Moisant
Asst General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

Another beautiful Kimpton Hotel. Service was impeccable. Of course, wish it was less expensive, but did make use of my Kimpton member perks. Also, I know there's no way around it in urban settings, but $35/night for parking with in and out privileges is so much when you stay for 2 nights. Really beautiful room, and wonderful staff.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pammiep58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VintagePlazaHotel, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
Thank you for your review. We will be sure to share your comments with our staff.
Best,
Marianne Moisant
Asst General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

It's true - people DO make the difference, and the professional, courteous, welcoming staff were the highlight of our four-night stay at this Kimpton property. Others have commented favourably on the hotel's location, which is hard to beat for ease of navigation and proximity to transportation and downtown attractions of all kinds. As for the room itself, we gave up a large, nicely appointed room on the sixth floor for a smaller, but sufficiently spacious King Deluxe on the ninth floor, facing away from the street noise (great old building attractively renovated, but the old window units aren't the most soundproof for light sleepers like me - to be fair, note that my wife did not have trouble with noise); the reception staff were happy to do this exchange for us. The mattress was firm but comfortable, and all utilities (shower, aircon, etc) worked flawlessly. As mentioned by another reviewer, the TV remote was flaky (weak batteries?) but we didn't use it much. Now, one of the things about downtown hotels is the likelihood that you'll want to use the hotel's valet parking to help ensure your vehicle is secure overnight. Getting the car when you want always entails something of a wait; at the Vintage Plaza it's about 15 - 20 minutes, which is fine as long as you plan ahead. I mention this because valet parking is not cheap and, rather than booking through the providers on TripAdvisor, we used travelportland.com's 'Portland Perks' package for the third time, which includes free valet parking, complimentary breakfast, and a discount booklet which, for us, consistently delivers between $50 and $100 in value - something to consider when you're researching. A couple of other points: Pazzo is the onsite restaurant and is an attractive option, without exhorbitant prices. Again, the staff is top-notch. And there's a daily complimentary wine reception in the lobby, which is a pleasant way to end your day's shopping and excursions, or to start your evening.

In sum, the pluses: great staff, excellent location, very good restaurant onsite.
The minuses: $10 per day wifi charge.

Room Tip: Based on our limited experience, higher is better, ditto facing away from Broadway
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VictoriaHikerbiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VintagePlazaHotel, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
You should write reviews for a living! Thank you for your thorough review and great suggestions for other travelers. One correction, see the reception desk staff to see how you can get free wireless during your stay with us and at all Kimpton hotels and restaurants.
Thanks again!
Marianne Moisant
Asst General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,660 reviews
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#7 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel deLuxe
#6 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,721 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#14 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,321 reviews
Downtown
Paramount Hotel
Paramount Hotel
#9 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland

Property: Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Address: 422 SW Broadway, Portland, OR 97205-3511
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Portland
#2 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#2 Green Hotel in Portland
#4 Family Hotel in Portland
#5 Business Hotel in Portland
#7 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all new Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland! From the urban-art-adorned lobby - where you're pretty much guaranteed to bond over our complimentary hosted social hour with a new friend - follow the floating staircase to the game lounge, stocked with current hits and nostalgic classics (Atari, anyone?). You'll feel the pioneering spirit of the Oregon Trail when drifting to sleep against a distressed-oak headboard, not far from your specially curated bottle of wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Jetsetter, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vintage Plaza Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing