We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They allow construction at 9 am directly below your room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel
Ranked #34 of 146 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 3, 2014

I'm guessing this is why I found this hotel on groupon. We are staying in the hotel rose for Wednesday night and Thursday night and was woken up bright and early to drilling directly below my room which sounded like it was coming through the floor. Being as I'm on vacation I was looking forward to sleeping in, but they allow construction and don't bother to tell the guests whom will hear it as and alarm clock. According to the front desk they allow construction during normal business hours (beginning at 9am sharp). This would have been something I would have found useful for them to inform me of about my stay. The girl at the front desk was helpful, yet did not empathize with my desire to sleep and I was told that construction is allowed during business hours and after a bit of a fuss, got the valet free for 2 days. I would rather sleep in for 2 days, but, seeing as I didn't even know I was going to be charged for the valet (which is thinly option available if you don't want to pay to park on the street) I will take the wake up over the extra fees.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank Alex T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry H, General Manager at Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Good evening Alex T,
Thank you for your comments from your recent stay. I sincerely apologize that our restaurant renovation impacted your stay. Our goal is to do the project the most effecient way with little or no impact to our guests. We thought a 9:00AM start would take care of any noise issues but obviously not, and I am sorry. We will definitately revisit this with our contractor next week. I hope you have the opportunity to return when it's all done as it will be a terrific space.
Thank you Alex T. We hope to see you back in Portland very soon.
Warm regards,
Terry Hanley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,087)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

969 - 975 of 1,087 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

First plus? This small hotel has a great location. The front street riverfront with its beautiful walkway is on one side while the max line stops 1/2 a block away. Be sure to ask for a river view; however, ask for 3rd floor or higher as front street is noisy. The back side without the view is very quiet. The north side rooms have balconies that look over Morrison bridge on-ramp. Again, ask for upper floor. 2nd plus is the bar. Friendly and comfortable with a out of ordinary bar menu. If you want buffalo wings, walk a block to Rockport Brewery. Finally their complimentary breakfast was unexpectedly luxurious. Eggs Benedict ... Fruit... Pastries .. Bagels ... Lox... Oatmeal ... Etc. (not sure if this was because the river view restaurant was under construction?) The one drawback was the $20 parking fee. This location has seen many owners over the past 30 years. I've never had to pay for parking til now.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank piratejani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry H, General Manager at Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Good afternoon piratejani,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It sounds like you had a great time and took advantage of our fantastic location. I was also happy to hear you enjoyed breakfast and your bar experience. We are currently renovating the bistro so watch for our new Bottle + Kitchen that will be open in June. It's going to be very cool!
Thank you piratejani. I hope your travels brings you back very soon.
Warm regards,
Terry Hanley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

First times staying with this hotel, stayed November 2-6th 2013. Had a some problems along the way, but Molly's service and her efforts to rectify these issues is what stood out in our overall experience. She made extra efforts to help us leave feeling that we had a positive overall experience. It was how her service and attitude stood out over the issues that would have me stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachel c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry H, General Manager at Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Good afternoon rachel c,
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We truly appreciate your feedback.
I apologize that you had some issues while you were here, but was happy to hear Molly was able to resolve them for you. She is one of our star associates.
It also pleases me that you will stay with us again. I know it will be an enjoyable time.
Thank you again rachel c,
Warm regards,
Terry Hanley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Just returned from our second stay at the Rose. So many pluses with this place: affordable, great location, friendly staff. Love the proximity to everything downtown. Portland is a walking town and having this place as your home base is perfect. The valets are the best. Nice, funny and super helpful.The $20 per day rate is probably one of the best in the city. Last time we stayed we had a fantastic breakfast in the restaurant as we looked out at the park and river across the street. The restaurant is under renovation so I look forward to enjoying that next time we stay. The manager of this hotel knows his stuff and takes care of his guests. Well done Rose, see you next time we're in Portland !

Room Tip: Request a high floor and corner if you can get it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry H, General Manager at Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Good afternoon tikalove,
Thank you for your fantastic comments regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We are greatful for the feedback. I was pleased to hear you took advantage of our steller location, great valets, and very inexpensive parking. It is the best rate in town!
Watch for a new and improved Bottle + Kitchen restaurant and bar that will be ready to go in early June.
Thank you for staying with us tikalove. We hope you return very soon.
Warm regards,
Terry Hanley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

I was very impressed with Hotel Rose. The room rate was great, and when I arrived I received free self parking in a covered lot. The location was close to everything downtown, and we walked and walked. The train station was close, and we rode it to a Portland Timbers game, and also to the airport. The bathroom was spacious, and the Keurig in the room was greatly appreciated. Would stay again!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank soccerknitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry H, General Manager at Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Good afternoon soccerknitter,
Thank you for your most favourable comments regarding our hotel. I am so pleased that you had an enjoyable time and was able to take advantage of our great location. Walking to almost everything downtown is so easy from our perfect location. I hope the right team won!
Go Timbers!
Thank you again soccerknitter,
Warm regards,
Terry Hanley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Well located, good place but they need better sound proofing - we could easily hear the people next door, in the hall, street noise etc. Really nice people. Request a room facing the river (but maybe those are more expensive?)

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the river, unless these are the more expensive rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jake J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry H, General Manager at Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Good afternoon Jake J,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. We truly appreciate your feedback. I am sorry that your room was not as quiet as you would have liked. Being in the center of downtown can occassionally cause issues if you are from a quiet neighborhood. I do apologize for that. Our rooms on the interior of the building are probably the quietest. I am pleased that you enjoyed our great team here at the hotel. We hope your travels bring you back to Portland and Hotel Rose very soon.
Warm regards,
Terry Hanley
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

I went to stay for my birthday. We arrived in our room, settled in for a few hours and then were interrupted by another couple opening the door and entering our room. We were not completely dressed so needless to say I was humiliated! I called down to the front desk and was put on hold, then I called back and was told that they were busy and was HUNG UP ON! They called back and my husband answered. No apology but was told they would comp us dinner. We had dinner plans (birthday) and was told we could get breakfast, lunch or dinner on them the next day. When we went to have dinner we were told they would only comp breakfast which by then was too late. The only helpful person there was Nick the valet/bike guy.

As far as the room goes, yes it was 70 degrees so we had to open the window. And that was with the heat turned to 40 degrees. Some people might like it that warm. The showers have no door but that just means a very wet floor and no bathroom fans.

Like I said nice location, clean room but the way we were treated was inexcusable.

Monte and Erin

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry H, General Manager at Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Good morning Erin S,
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay. I sincerely apologize for the unfortuante issues that happened during your stay. Please know that we take your comments very seriously and have reviewed them with our management team. I believe our front office manager Art has been in touch with you as well.
Thank you again Erin S. I do hope we see you again soon.
Warm regards,
Terry Hanley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Hotel Modera
Hotel Modera
#31 of 146 in Portland
2,013 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#16 of 146 in Portland
1,458 reviews
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#8 of 146 in Portland
1,764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Hilton Portland Downtown
Hilton Portland Downtown
#24 of 146 in Portland
299 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#7 of 146 in Portland
2,882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel

Address: 50 SW Morrison St, Portland, OR 97204-3390 (Formerly Hotel Fifty)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#51 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $143 - $306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its iconic food cart gatherings, anti-establishment murals and even a 24-Hour Church of Elvis, its no wonder the mantra of this town is "Keep Portland Weird." And right in the heart of it all you'll find Hotel Rose, a funky, fun and "oh-so-Portland" boutique hotel located directly across from Tom McCall Waterfront Park on the beautiful Willamette River. From shopping to dining to outdoor recreation, there's no better home base for exploring the odd, the exquisite and the just plain outrageous. Staypineapple at Hotel Rose. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fifty Hotel Portland
Hotel Fifty Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing