We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eskimo Love”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel
Ranked #34 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 29, 2013

One of the essential needs we have as humans is shelter, and one of the key features we hairless monkeys crave when searching for shelter is warmth. The friendly front staff did assure us both times we called down that they were, "Restarting the boilers." Yet, our room that we stayed in on this late November day remained as frigid as the Arctic North. (They did, BTW, send up a space heater to thaw us out).

But hey, I'm a glass half-full kinda guy. If you and your significant other are into weird Eskimo fetish, then this is the hotel for you!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Winemaker93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry H, Manager at Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Good morning Winemaker93,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. I do apologize that your room was not as warm as you would have liked. We discovered and have corrected an issue that was causing some heating problems if a few of our rooms over the cold spell. We do appreciate you bringing this to our attention.
Thank you Winemaker93. We hope to see you back in Portland very soon.

Terry Hanley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (980)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

901 - 907 of 980 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2013

Only stayed one night, booked some sort of portland deal so parking was included... However I was charged for it on checkout. Quickly resolved it with a stop at reception (warning to other travellers to make sure they aren't charged if it was supposed to be included). Other than that rooms were nice, location was good (eating, shopping), and prices are good. I would stay again.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
Thank Mclaren31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry H, Manager at Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Good morning Mclaren31,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. I was happy to hear you enjoyed your time in Portland and at Hotel Rose. We hope to see you back very soon.
Warm regards,

Terry Hanley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

The lobby staff was very friendly offering dining, destination and transportation suggestions. Our room was modern, nicely designed, and clean. The hotel's location was really convenient to Portland's public transit or many restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PTJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry H, Manager at Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2013

Hello PTJ,
Thank you for choosing Hotel Rose for your home away from home while in Portland. We truly appreciate you staying with us and your positive comments about our hotel. We hope to see you back soon.
Warm regards,
Terry Hanley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in Hotel Rose in Portland. After reading some reviews before we went, I was suspicious of the hotel but was pleasantly surprised upon arrival. The hotel room was very clean and provided enough room for two people. It was not spacious but also not cramped. The shower was clean and stocked with plenty of towels daily. The hotel was also happy to provide us with extra toothbrushes and toothpaste that we had left at home. The nice things about the hotel include the cheap parking (you park right below the hotel and it costs less than anywhere else in the city) and the ease of getting onto/off of the highway. We visited Mt. St. Helens and the Willamette Valley and having the interstate directly next to the hotel was a major time saver, as we could jump on and off the major roadways. Additionally, we visited many restaurants and breweries downtown that were a convenient 10-20 min walk from the hotel. With free WiFi, cheap parking, and easy accessibility to the highways, we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Austin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry H, Manager at Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2013

Good evening Austin M,
Thank you for your kind comments about our hotel. I was happy to hear that you made the decision to give us a chance and that you enjoyed your stay. I'm glad you enjoyed your room and our great location. It really is fantastic!
Thank you again Austin M. We hope you return soon.
Warm regards,
Terry Hanley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

I frequently travel to Portland for business. Hotel Rose - previously Hotel 50 - is my first choice not only for business but pleasure as my wife and I travel with a dog. The riverfront area across the street is perfect for a quick walk with the dog or a leisurely stroll on a nice day or after dinner. The max (public transportation) is a block away. Close to downtown and walking distance to many of Portland’s best restaurants. There is really no noticeable difference - to date - with the change in name/ownership. A couple of comments: The bathrooms now have soap/shampoo dispensers. I'm guessing economics plays into this but really feel this is a downgrade - in appearance and convenience - to past offerings of individual shampoo/soap offerings. I wonder if the person who approved the dispensers has ever tried taking a shower with gel? The hotel restaurant is in need of management. Stood waiting 5-10 minutes to be seated on a busy morning (2 wait staff 10 tables). Ordered coffee and oatmeal thinking this would be quick. Turned out not so quick - coffee refills non-existent - and oatmeal was lukewarm when it finally arrived. Next day - seated quickly - 2 other tables with guests and meeting room with 8-10 people. Again slow to take order and to serve. Once served the House Scramble was again lukewarm at best. While waiting for food I noticed the people in the meeting room peeking out every few minutes - where's the waiter? Others standing waiting to be seated left for other options - I guess - including a minor celebrity Jonny Moseley - Olympian and MTV host - Jonny did come back after several minutes and was seated. So where was the waiter - making room service deliveries - are you kidding me! As much as I like the hotel and the convenience of the restaurant - there are too many other choices in Portland and near the hotel for breakfast that surpasses the quality of service and food at Hotel Rose.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rotton1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry H, Manager at Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2013

Good evening Rotton 1,
Thank you very much for your comments. It sounds like you enjoyed your hotel stay but we did not exceed your expectations in our restaurant. I do apologize for that. I have passed your comments on to our food and beverage manager so that we can make improvements moving forward.
Thank you Rotton 1. I hope we see you back at Hotel Rose very soon.
Warm regards,
Terry Hanley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

This hotel has recently been renovated. It was pristinely clean. We were allowed to check in 2 hrs early, and upon check out, our bags were held while we shopped, until time to depart for the train station. Very comfortable beds, linen. Room faced the parking lot, but we did not mind.
Easy access from Union Station. They recommend the Red line, we took the yellow/green line and walked a few blocks from downtown. Easy walk to all the great downtown attractions, and even an easy walk to Powell's books.
Front desk was accommodating and suggested the fantastic bistro Mother's for breakfast. Also an easy walk. Booked through Groupon; process was easy.

Room Tip: Ours was a mural room--considered inside. There is noise from the Max line train. We did not find it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarcySeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry H, Manager at Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Good Morning MarcySeattle,
Thank you for your very postive review of our property. We truly appreciate your kind words.
It was nice to hear we were able to check you in early so you could get started early exploring Portland. Our location is perfect for walking all the cities fun spots. Hopefully you can come and see us again very soon.
Thank you again MarcySeattle,
Warm regards,
Terry Hanley
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at Hotel Rose. The people really made it wonderful. They helped with directions and handed me an umbrella to use in the always rainy Portland fall. The rooms were small but comfy. The beds were big and fluffy. You can walk any where you need to go from this location. Or they provide bikes and helmets for your enjoyment. From Voodoo donuts to Stumpstown coffee it's all easy to get to from Hotel Rose.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiffany V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry H, Manager at Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Good Morning Tiffany V,
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at Hotel Rose. It sounds like you really took advantage of our great location while enjoying our property. I was happy to hear you used our complimentary bikes and our large Pineapple umbrella's while walking in the rain. It's always good to have one close by this time of the year.
Thank you again Tiffany V. We hope you return soon.
Warm regards,
Terry Hanley
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Hotel Modera
Hotel Modera
#29 of 144 in Portland
1,991 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#6 of 144 in Portland
2,856 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#7 of 144 in Portland
1,634 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#15 of 144 in Portland
1,433 reviews
Downtown
Paramount Hotel
Paramount Hotel
#9 of 144 in Portland
1,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel

Address: 50 SW Morrison St, Portland, OR 97204-3390 (Formerly Hotel Fifty)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#51 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $118 - $306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its iconic food cart gatherings, anti-establishment murals and even a 24-Hour Church of Elvis, its no wonder the mantra of this town is "Keep Portland Weird." And right in the heart of it all you'll find Hotel Rose, a funky, fun and "oh-so-Portland" boutique hotel located directly across from Tom McCall Waterfront Park on the beautiful Willamette River. From shopping to dining to outdoor recreation, there's no better home base for exploring the odd, the exquisite and the just plain outrageous. Staypineapple at Hotel Rose. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fifty Hotel Portland
Hotel Fifty Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing