We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel
Ranked #31 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We spent 2 nights at the Hotel Rose (though it was called the Hotel 50 when we booked it). The room was clean but quite small. The best thing about it was the location. It was right across the street from the park and bike path that runs along the Willamette River. It was easy walking distance to most of the downtown area. There was a bar that had a decent happy hour and a restaurant where we had breakfast. The breakfast was fair and the service average. There is a self-parking area at the hotel for $15 a day.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hoppy333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry H, Manager at Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Hello Hoppy333,
Thank you for your kind feedback. I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed our H5O restaurant and bar, along with our fantastic location. I hope the next time you are in town you have time to take one of our complimentary bikes for a spin along the river front.
Thanks Hoppy333. We hope to see you back soon.
Warm regards,
Terry Hanley
General Managr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (892)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

839 - 845 of 893 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2013

I have been traveling to Portland for business for a year now. Usually I stay at Hotel Modera but had to change my travel plans due to the conference suggestions. Hotel Rose/Hotel Fifty (I can't really tell you which one it is now) needs a bit of help outside and in. It was very difficult to locate their hotel because Hotel Rose is not on the outside of the hotel. There is no big sign. I was lucky to catch a small transient placard that said "Hotel Rose Valet Parking". I pulled in and there was no one there. It was problematic backing out and finding the self-parking.

I also typically like the personal feel I get from my usual hotel. Even on my first time staying at Hotel Modera, I was always greeted by my professional name and met with maturity and a smile. At Hotel Rose, I found a lot of goofing around behind the check-in desk, they couldn't remember who I was or that I was even staying in the hotel. This is a bit scary because anyone could walk into the hotel and go up the elevators to the floors. I typically like access to the different floors to be protected where you have to insert your room key card in order to get the elevator to go up. Safety and professionalism are very important to me and if I am going to pay the same amount for the night, I would rather stay somewhere else.

Finally, I heard the train go by my room all night long. If you do stay here, be sure to ask for a room that is not on the side of the train. It sounds like thunder every few minutes.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the opposite side of the train tracks.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry H, Manager at Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Good afternoon Kate M,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. I do apologize for any confussion we may have caused you as we transition signage to Hotel Rose. Our management team has reviewed your feedback so that we can make improvements for future guests. We truly do appreciate your comments.
Thank you Kate M. We hope you come back and see us very soon.
Warm regards,
Terry Hanley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Bad stay. We booked an accessible room weeks in advance only to discover on checking in that they didn't have the room open. (A maintenance issue.) They said the next day they could move us into an accessible room. The next day came and went and when we called they had completely forgotten that we needed the ADA room and had already put able-bodied guests into them.

Of course, given that one of us uses a wheelchair, we need an accessible room, but they refused to move one of the able-bodied reservations. (This is actually against federal ADA legislation, incidentally.)

After some time on the phone, they called back to say they found a room for us. So we packed everything up, assembled the wheelchair stuff, and went downstairs to get the key. And guess what -- the "new" room isn't accessible either. So other than getting a bath instead of a shower, we have pretty much the same room as before we packed everything up to move it.

So now here we are. Stuck in a room in which things are out of reach, and wishing we'd have just stuck with the Westin instead of giving this rebranded "boutique" hotel a shot.

Let's hope they do the right thing tomorrow at checkout and offer us a significant break on the room (which we booked weeks ago and never got). Judging from what we've gotten so far, we aren't holding our breath.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Tod M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry H, Manager at Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Good afternoon Tod M.
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. I do apologize that we did not exceed your expectations while you were here. I do appreciate you taking my call and hopefully we will see you back in Portland very soon.
Thank you Tod M.
Warm regards,
Terry Hanley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

The location is great and honestly, the stay was nothing but positive. Room was clean and my overall experience made my trip to portland that much more exciting and relaxing. Great customer service as well. Here is where it all goes wrong.

I booked my trip through Priceline. Great. Fantastic. Checkout, didn't use any amenities like water or parking so my cost was as stated through priceline which was $XXX.XX.

A couple of days later, I see that the hotel charged me $YYY.YY. I call them up, they state it was a misunderstanding in that they charged me for the room instead of the deposit and that it will be refunded. That's understandable, it happens. Wait a week for refund.

Look at my credit card statement a week later, AND THEY CHARGED ME AGAIN FOR $YYY.YY. That means they charged me $YYY.YY + $YYY.YY. So clearly instead of refunding me, they charged me again! So now, including my priceline booking, I'M TRIPLE CHARGED. Call again, they say they will refund me....

IT HAS BEEN OVER A MONTH AND STILL NO REFUND TWICE. I went through my credit card and got one of the $YYY.YY back but one more $YYY.YY still remains. THIS HAS NOT BEEN RESOLVED.

I repeat, THIS HAS NOT BEEN RESOLVED. This is unacceptable. People on their end clearly do not know how to issue a refund and I have no idea where else to turn. I could call my credit card again, but really, it should not get to this.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cliff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry H, Manager at Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Good afternoon Cliff R.
Thank you for your comments. I'm very sorry that your billing issue had not been resoled in a timely manner. I do appreciate you responding to my e-mail and sincerly hope we see you back at Hotel Fifty very soon.
Warm regards,
Terry Hanley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

The only reason I am giving the hotel 3 stars is that we were allowed to change room after one night at no extra cost (5 stars for this): the view from the first room we checked was a wall of cement of a nearby building (1 star, or maybe 0 stars). The first room was described as "courtyard" view, but with a totally grey wall staring at you it felt more like a prison cell: at more than $200 per night (no breakfast) I was ready to leave. The second room had a view of the river which was very nice. On the plus side, the downtown location is good, meaning that there are a lot of stops for public transportation to take you away from downtown, where the good restaurant and pubs are. The beds were very comfortable and the complementary coffee machine in the room made good coffee.

Room Tip: Make sure your "courtyard" room does not face the building with the cement wall (all cemen...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tosca123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry H, Manager at Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Dear Tosca123,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. We truly do appreciate your feedback. Please know that we are in the early stages of having a very cool "Portland" based mural painted on that wall so watch for that coming soon. I was happy to hear you enjoyed our great location, new coffee makers, and super comfortable bed!
Thank you Tosca123.
We look forward to seeing you back in Portland very soon.
Warm regards,
Terry Hanley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel when it was called the Hotel Fifty in July of 2013. We were attending the Oregon Brew Fest at the waterfront, so the location was excellent. All around this is a good location. Pioneer square is just up the street and there is lots of shopping and places to eat and drink in the immediate area.
The room was clean and very nice! The bed was comfortable and we really enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry H, Manager at Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Hello Bill E,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, and for staying with us! Your comments are greatly appreciated. I'm happy to hear you had such an enjoyable time over the Brew Fest weekend. It's such a fun time to be in downtown Portland. We're also excited to hear our location and room we're highlights as well. We hope you can make it back next year.
Thanks Bill E,
Warm regards,
Terry Hanley
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

When I booked this was the Hotel Fifty, upon arrival we found it was the Hotel Rose and the self-parking price had come down from $24 to $15 under the new management. Bonus! The room was very stylish and comfortable. It faced the courtyard/valet/trains and so had a little extra noise and no view than had it faced the out to the river, but if memory serves I chose a cheaper room knowing about these things. Location is great. Walk right out onto the waterfront for Portland's best views and restaurants. Short stroll to the Saturday market in one direction and Downtown in the other. Front desk service was excellent. Complimentary coffee served in the restaurant (we took this and walked to Voodoo Doughnuts!), where we ate for dinner. In another city it would have a michelin star. Everything we ordered was interesting, balanced and beautifully presented. SUCH good value. I would look no further for a Portland hotel/restaurant combo.

Room Tip: The train noise reported in other reviews didn't bother us.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veronica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry H, Manager at Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Good morning Veroncia S,
Thanks for staying with us at Hotel Rose. I'm glad you enjoyed our discounted parking rates along with our superior location and restaurant. We pride ourselves on our service so your comments about our front office associates is appreciated.
Thank you again Veronica S. We hope you return soon.
Warm regards,
Terry Hanley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Hotel Modera
Hotel Modera
#28 of 144 in Portland
1,960 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Hotel deLuxe
#3 of 144 in Portland
2,824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Paramount Hotel
Paramount Hotel
#7 of 144 in Portland
1,230 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#14 of 144 in Portland
1,420 reviews
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#26 of 144 in Portland
2,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel

Address: 50 SW Morrison St, Portland, OR 97204-3390 (Formerly Hotel Fifty)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#51 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $151 - $336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its iconic food cart gatherings, anti-establishment murals and even a 24-Hour Church of Elvis, its no wonder the mantra of this town is "Keep Portland Weird." And right in the heart of it all you'll find Hotel Rose, a funky, fun and "oh-so-Portland" boutique hotel located directly across from Tom McCall Waterfront Park on the beautiful Willamette River. From shopping to dining to outdoor recreation, there's no better home base for exploring the odd, the exquisite and the just plain outrageous. Staypineapple at Hotel Rose. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fifty Hotel Portland
Hotel Fifty Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing