We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Waterfront Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel
Ranked #31 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 16, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel when it was called the Hotel Fifty in July of 2013. We were attending the Oregon Brew Fest at the waterfront, so the location was excellent. All around this is a good location. Pioneer square is just up the street and there is lots of shopping and places to eat and drink in the immediate area.
The room was clean and very nice! The bed was comfortable and we really enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry H, Manager at Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Hello Bill E,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, and for staying with us! Your comments are greatly appreciated. I'm happy to hear you had such an enjoyable time over the Brew Fest weekend. It's such a fun time to be in downtown Portland. We're also excited to hear our location and room we're highlights as well. We hope you can make it back next year.
Thanks Bill E,
Warm regards,
Terry Hanley
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (893)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

845 - 851 of 894 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2013

When I booked this was the Hotel Fifty, upon arrival we found it was the Hotel Rose and the self-parking price had come down from $24 to $15 under the new management. Bonus! The room was very stylish and comfortable. It faced the courtyard/valet/trains and so had a little extra noise and no view than had it faced the out to the river, but if memory serves I chose a cheaper room knowing about these things. Location is great. Walk right out onto the waterfront for Portland's best views and restaurants. Short stroll to the Saturday market in one direction and Downtown in the other. Front desk service was excellent. Complimentary coffee served in the restaurant (we took this and walked to Voodoo Doughnuts!), where we ate for dinner. In another city it would have a michelin star. Everything we ordered was interesting, balanced and beautifully presented. SUCH good value. I would look no further for a Portland hotel/restaurant combo.

Room Tip: The train noise reported in other reviews didn't bother us.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veronica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry H, Manager at Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Good morning Veroncia S,
Thanks for staying with us at Hotel Rose. I'm glad you enjoyed our discounted parking rates along with our superior location and restaurant. We pride ourselves on our service so your comments about our front office associates is appreciated.
Thank you again Veronica S. We hope you return soon.
Warm regards,
Terry Hanley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stayed just one night at this hotel under a hotwire rate with my girlfriend. The hotel has a very modern look to their rooms and we had a very comfortable stay.

Located right on the waterfront and easily within 10-20 minutes of what downtown Portland has to offer by either bus or by bike. They offer a bike rental - simply sign the waiver and you can ride around Portland on a bike free of charge. Parking is $15/night for self-park and $20/night for valet. Plenty of parking spaces for self park and even allowed you to keep your car parked until 5pm on the day of checkout, allowing you to have time to explore more of Portland without needing to worry about parking or the safety of your car.

Was able to get a good nights rest. Beds were comfortable with the only issue hearing the sounds of the city at night - which you can't really prevent.

When we return to Portland, we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caliswag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry H, Manager at Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Good Morning Caliswag,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed our complimentary bike program, as well as great location and ideal parking arrangement. There is so much to see and do in downtown Portland and our hotel is perfectly located to take in all the fun places. Next time try our complimentary pineapple cupcakes and coffee served daily in our lobby from 3PM - 7PM!
We hope that you have the time to return very soon.
Warm regards,
Terry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Rose (formerly Hotel Fifty) for three nights. It is within walking distance to all that downtown Portland has to offer. The accommodation was clean, comfortable, and reasonably priced. We could not ask for a better accommodation in Portland.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank soontoberetiredagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry H, Manager at Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Hello soontoberetiredagain,
Thats a great name, and congratulaions......again.
Thank you for your kind comments about our property. Portland has so many great offerings and so easily accessable from our hotel. Hopefully you will have more time on your hands soon and can come back and see us. Thank you for taking the time to let us know how you enjoyed staying with us!
Warm regards,
Terry Hanley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I stayed in mid August 2013. This is a great location for reasons mentioned by others. The room was comfortable/clean w/ friendly staff. My challenge was w/ room confirmation & billing. 1st I booked via Portland Travel (PT) which was a mistake, as the hotel was overbooked, I wasn't forewarned, & was outsourced to another hotel upon arrival. Although I prepaid via PT, the Hotel billed my CC, too. It took 3 days to get the charge refunded. Plus there was a $20/night difference between the hotel's and PT rates for the same room. So buyer beware!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
Thank Boomer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry H, Manager at Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Good evening Boomer C,
Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay. I'm sorry that there was a rate discrepency with our Travel Portland partners. We do aim for 100% accuracy so I apologize that we missed it with your reservation. I was very happy to hear you enjoyed our great location and our fantastic staff. We hope you have an opportunity to come back and see us soon.
Thanks Boomer C,

Warm regards,
Terry Hanley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We recently stayed at your hotel , 31 Aug through 5 Sept on the recommendations of our travel agent. We were dismayed to find out on our arrival that you had a $20 parking fee per night. Our travel agent didn't tell us that. We were also dismayed at how tiny our room was and that the view stunk. We were in room 435. Also, there was no top sheet and you had a governor on the Air conditioner. We could never get the room cooler than 72 degrees. We were also told by your clerk that my handicap tag would get me free parking at any meter in town. We parked at a 15 minute meter and promptly got a ticket for $39.00, We pre-paid for this visit, or we would have left the first night. We were totally unhappy with your hotel, its lack of amenities and customer service. We let our travel agent know how disappointed we were and not to recommend this hotel to anyone. We still don't know how much we paid, as we rolled the price in with our flight and rental car, but whatever it was, it was way too much.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry H, Manager at Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Good evening Steven C,
I'm sorry to hear that you were not informed about our parking rates. I appreciate you letting us know so that we can follow up with our travel partners to ensure this information is passed on to future guests. Your comments regarding incorrect information will be shared with our team so that we can get it right moving forward.
Thank you for your comments Steven C. I hope your travels bring you back to Portland very soon.
Warm regards,
Terry Hanley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Great location, friendly staff and easy walking to the river, downtown shopping and the Max
Room small but bed very comfortable and all very clean. Would stay again. Would ask for room street side vesus parking lot side. Staff is prepared to help as you ask. Appreciated available umbrellas as tends to rain.

Room Tip: Will not wantt stay over the parking lot on a Sat night...was a lot of in and out action.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rach504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry H, Manager at Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Good evening Rach504,
Thanks for letting us know how you enjoyed staying with us. We do appreciate the feedback.
There are several area's of the hotel that are quieter than others and we are more than happy to point those out to you the next time your in town.
Thanks again Rach504. We hope to see you soon.

Terry Hanley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Hotel Modera
Hotel Modera
#28 of 144 in Portland
1,961 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Hotel deLuxe
#3 of 144 in Portland
2,824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Paramount Hotel
Paramount Hotel
#7 of 144 in Portland
1,231 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#13 of 144 in Portland
1,422 reviews
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#26 of 144 in Portland
2,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel

Address: 50 SW Morrison St, Portland, OR 97204-3390 (Formerly Hotel Fifty)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#51 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $152 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its iconic food cart gatherings, anti-establishment murals and even a 24-Hour Church of Elvis, its no wonder the mantra of this town is "Keep Portland Weird." And right in the heart of it all you'll find Hotel Rose, a funky, fun and "oh-so-Portland" boutique hotel located directly across from Tom McCall Waterfront Park on the beautiful Willamette River. From shopping to dining to outdoor recreation, there's no better home base for exploring the odd, the exquisite and the just plain outrageous. Staypineapple at Hotel Rose. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fifty Hotel Portland
Hotel Fifty Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing