We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great...except for our room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Ranked #18 of 142 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Salem, Oregon, USA
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great...except for our room”
Reviewed January 23, 2011

Reserved a king room via the Embassy Suites website for a one night get away to Portland. Embassy Suites service and the hotel itself were outstanding, our room was not.

Check in was quick, arrived around 5 pm on a Saturday. A tip for folks staying Saturday night to avoid the outrageous 28.00/night parking charges is to look for a street spot. Parking is free on the street after 7 pm every night, and on Sunday, there is no fee until 1 pm. We paid the meeter from 5-7, and then never had to pay again, costing us 2.50. There were plenty of spots. Lobby was as others described, grand. The hotel has a gift shop, a bar, and a spa attached. Manager's reception was fine, no food there at all, even gold fish or pretzels, which we have come to expect. Instead, they provide menus of places that deliver. Pool and work out room were large and well maintained. We did not encounter a crowd anywhere, even though we were there on the weekend. Breakfast was not crowded, and food was as expected for Embassy Suites. Internet was a hefty daily fee, but there are multiple locations within walking distance with free internet.

When we booked our room on their website, it offered us a "king" non-suite room as we entered 2 guests. I expected a room similar to other chain hotel rooms, but not a "suite" room, with a separate sitting area, pull out sofa, kitchenette, etc. What we got was one of the smallest and poorly arranged rooms I have ever stayed in. The door was in the middle of the room, so when you open the door, anyone in the hallway can see your bed. Most "normal" hotel rooms have a hallway, closet, bathroom, etc, by the door. Not this room! When my significant other woke up earlier in the morning and left to get coffee, anyone in the hall could have seen me sleeping in bed. The room had no closet, no space for anything but a small suitcase, ONE small desk chair, and a desk. No dresser, no comfortable sitting chair, etc. Bathroom was about half the size of the room. The room had one SMALL window in a corner, making the room even smaller. The only advantage is that the small window faced a heating/air duct and we didn't hear a peep from outside/any bar noise as others have complained about.

Advice: if you are booking a room for two people, it is NOT worth it to save the 15-20 dollars and book the "non suite" room. The website pictures are deceiving. Additionally, the room was located directly next to the stairway and vending. You will feel cramped and you will not have enough space for your belongings. Compared to other Embassy Suites rooms, this is a huge disappointment. Would I stay here again? Probably as the other amenities were nice, but I would book a normal suite room.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KGBnwu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this review, January 28, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripavisor.
I sincerely apologies and I am sorry to hear your dissatisfaction with your room. We have many different room types and "non-suites" are smaller than a typical suite at our hotel.
I also wanted to thank you for complimenting our staff and our other amenities.
Please contact me on your next trip to our hotel so I can personally assist you with your room choice at our Historic Embassy Suites Hotel.

Sincerely
Gorana Tifekchian
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,258
    700
    174
    70
    31
See reviews for
746
546
87
548
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, MD
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2011

Wow - I had a hunch this hotel was going to be nice when I booked it for a business trip, but was truly blown away at how great it was when I checked in. The hotel is actually a historic property with an awesome, high-ceiling lobby area and Mezzanine that overlooks the whole thing...it's very nice to experience. The staff was very friendly, the suite I had was huge and spotless, and the room service was very fast and efficient.

I had been skeptical of the Embassy Suites brand for awhile as being a faded member of the Hilton line of hotels, but this one has changed my mode of thinking. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Genghisdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2010

This hotel is located about 5-8 mins walk to the main shopping area of Portland in a beautiful old building and has a very ornate lobby and traditional style decor in the rooms. I had a suite which was large and beautifully quiet and comfortable.
This was my first stay at an Embassy suites and I'm not sure about the positioning of the brand, partly full service Hilton with an Aveda spa in the lobby and pay internet but breakfast in the basemet was worse than a school canteen with a slow line for everything, hideous coffee, dirty tables and noisy.
All in, I chose this as I am a Hilton Honors member but would have been far happier in a better location in the Hilton downtown.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joeyjo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinehurst, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2010

Great place to stay. Good gym, wonderful pool and spa pools. Sauna is good and hot. Rooms are clean and comfortable. My only negative is the lack of affordable self parking and free Internet.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chuck P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, CA
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2010

My first time in Portland and after a day of air port trauma - I was greeted by pleasant staff, easy check-in and a beautiful, well-appointed suite. The room was quiet, impeccably clean and I can say I can not remember the last time I slept so well away from home. The manager's reception in the evening and the complimentary breakfast in the morning were very nice and a most welcome perk of the hotel. The location was fantastic and within walking distance to many excellent restaurants and shops. Thank you, Embassy Suites, for a wonderful introduction to Portland.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iliad2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this review, November 20, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We are so glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us. It is nice to hear that our staff made a difference in someone's traval. We look foward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2010

Just returned from a weekend at the Embassy Suites in downtown Portland. We rode the train down from Seattle, and the location was very convenient to the train station, the waterfront, and the Saturday market. We walked everywhere with no problem. Our suite was very comfortable and had some nice amenities: Two high-quality big screen tvs, a microwave and refrigerator, bottled water and chocolates delivered while we were out, and a comfortable bed. The Manager's reception was very popular with drinks and nibbles. Breakfast was a treat with made-to-order omelets (the cook was amazingly quick with the number of omeletes he had going all at once), pancakes, bacon, sausage, etc. The pool area included two in-ground jacuzzis and a sauna, along with the beautiful, warm pool. We had the whole place to ourselves for an hour. I had a wonderful massage in the spa (by Amy). Only one thing bothered us (just a little). The windows in our room were very dirty, so when the sun was shining (we got lucky in Nov.), we had a hard time enjoying the view from our 5th floor window. We have already gushed over the place to several friends and plan a return visit in the future.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderlust087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this review, November 20, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to post your comment. It is nice to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Please accept our apologies for the housekeeping challenges you have faced during your stay.
We appreciate your feedback and look forward to your return visit.
If there is anything I personally can do to make your stay more enjoyable with us, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at:
gorana.tifekchain@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Germany, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2010

In Portland for a trade show, we tried the Embassy Suites, as our normal hotel was booked solid. Normally when I think of Embassy Suites, I think of a newer hotel. This is in an historic building. The lobby is turn of the century, (20th) with old-fashioned grandeur and modern touches. Our suite was comfortably appointed, with a separate living room with a wet bar. The bedroom, although on the small size, was more than adequate. Of course, the smaller room sizes were due to the age of the building. The bath was equipped with fluffy towels, and for tall people like my husband and me, a showerhead that was actually above our height! Couple the elegant suite with the hotel's complimentary happy hour (top shelf liquors were available for a nominal charge) and the made-to-order omelet breakfast, and we have a new favorite in Portland. The only problem we had was with an overcharge on parking, but that was fixed immediately, and with a smile and apology.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Benson Hotel
Benson Hotel
#17 of 142 in Portland
2,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Dossier
Dossier
#22 of 142 in Portland
916 reviews
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#8 of 142 in Portland
1,483 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 142 in Portland
1,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Address: 319 SW Pine St, Portland, OR 97204-2725
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Portland
#9 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#9 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#10 Business Hotel in Portland
#14 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Portland, the Historic Embassy Suites Portland -Downtown features large two-room guest suites and a well-known foyer adorned in grandeur and architectural beauty. Built in 1912, the building combines it's original classic style and features along with modern comfort. The hotel is within walking distance of tax-free shopping, restaurants, nightlife, Portland’s revered Voo-Doo doughnuts and Powell’s books. The hotel also offers a luxurious Jacuzzi and Indoor pool for you to warm up to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown Hotel Portland
Portland Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing