We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classy & easy access to downtown eats & to do things”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Ranked #18 of 139 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Peoria, Arizona
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Classy & easy access to downtown eats & to do things”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful lounge area. This historic hotel is well appointed & good walking distance to everything. My only beef was that you have to pay $9.99 per day for Internet access (via phone too) unless you go down to the lobby or have AT&T or Hilton hotel membership. Given this is not a cheap hotel and much lower priced hotels have FREE access, this just seemed cheesy. Breakfast was great and happy hour good but I would be willing to go for one glass of free wine and have free Internet access in my room! Parking is high but so glad to have valet given my husband has a disability.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbHP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you for your kind review, Barb, and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,088 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,181
    657
    156
    63
    31
See reviews for
690
508
86
512
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

Lovely hotel with superior staff, always helpful and friendly. A FREE happy hour with snacks and drinks was very nice as was the free breakfast. Beautiful pool and many accomodations for the handicap.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hillcolorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
HillColorado, thanks for taking the time to review us and say such nice things! We will see you again I hope!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
75 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

This was my first time to Portland, Oregon. I decided on the Embassy Suites because of the location downtown and because of the usual perks (breakfast, mgrs reception, etc).

The Embassy staff was great. The front desk folks were enormously pleasant. Parking is not cheap. I did not use the valet, but the guys seemed extremely efficient. The self parking garage is across the street and extremely convenient, and $10 less a day. THe garage is...really tight...so if you have a big SUV or don't like tight spaces, go valet.

First...Portland. A very nice place and walkable city, but thing I noticed when arriving from the airport to the Embassy Suites was the enormous homeless population. I am from Philadelphia and am no stranger to homeless folks, but this was simply unreal. The folks I encountered on the streets were friendly (for the most part), with the occasional stuck in the 1970s hippie wanna be still trying to find him or herself.
I mention this not as a political statement, but instead because of how it impacted my comfort walking around the city. In the daytime, it was fine. At night, I thought before I walked, and as a result ended up (fairly or not) eating in the hotel an awful lot.

The Embassy Suites property is in a historic building. The lobby is very nice and very historic looking. The hotel has hosted many US Presidents in its history which is cool. If you are a HHonors person and have stayed in the historic Chicago Hilton you will understand the once 700 room hotel now being in the 250s with regard to the layout of the rooms.

ROOM: It seems there are different room types and layouts. I had a very nice room on the 8th floor. It was complete wall of windows. Very large living area. OK bathroom. Great bedroom area. The view was so-so, but the natural light was fantastic.

This hotel does something I have never seen before: on the first day, I had a door tag that asked when I wanted my room made up each day. I put the time I preferred and stuck it in the hallway. Every day at that time, the room was cleaned. What a great idea...every hotel should do it.

There is a restaurant in the lobby called the Portland Prime. Nice. Good happy hour. Pleasant staff. Overpriced menu otherwise. Many many options around, and every happy hour is cheap. I really liked the Thirsty Lion around the corner.

A note to people interested in the Voodoo donuts. It is around the corner. Always a gigantic line. I had a donut and frankly I did not get the hype.

Green Features: It is Portland...recycle cans everywhere. The hotel seems to follow the city's desire to recycle and be Earth friendly.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeaveFromPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
LeaveFromPA, thank you for the nice words about your stay and our hotel. I am so happy you were able to embrace the history of the Multnomah Hotel and enjoy the life of the city. Sounds like you did a lot while you were here and I hope to see you again for a future stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

The hotel lobby had a very elegant look. The hotel restaurant was good. I recommend the ahi. Breakfast was good but somewhat bewildering. Rather than all food service being in the same place, food items were widely separated and it took a while to discover all of the options. Parking was strange. Even though the parking lot was directly across the street, because of one-way streets it actually required several blocks and three signals to get from the check-in temporary parking to the parking garage.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Your comment about the parking lot makes me giggle, Tim, because the one-way streets even confuse me! I hope you will come back and stay with us soon as you are now a seasoned Portland driver! Thank you for the review. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

Ridiculous 48 hour minimum cancellation notice or pay entire amount of the room plus tax. I paid $342 for one night in a room I was unable to stay in. I talked to two different individuals on the phone, both were rude and were pushing me to cancel my reservation so the hotel could, obviously, get paid twice for one room. I will never do business with this hotel again. I will never do business with the entire chain again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Micah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Micha, I am sorry you ran into some issues with our policies and I hope you will reconsider staying with us. Please contact us if you have questions or we can Make It Right for you. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

We just returned from a week long trip in the Northwest. We spent one night at this hotel before we headed on to our next destination. When we checked in, our rooms were not quite ready (it was several hours before their designated "check-in" time.) The man who stood at the valet desk was extremely helpful! He told us about several different places to eat, things to check-out during our limited time in the city, and the best time to check out VooDoo Donuts. (I am sorry that I did not catch his name or his actual job title! He could have been the concierge or the head of Valet!) The hotel itself was clean and the architecture was beautiful! The location was good because it was near the water front and VooDoo Donuts and it was only a few minutes' walk from Powell's and from Deschutes Brewery (which I would highly recommend)!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Stefanie, it sounds like you had a fun “happy accident” while you were here. I will make sure to tell the Valets the kind words you wrote. Please come back and stay with us again for a longer visit so you are able to see more and more of what Portland has to offer! Thank you again for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Washington
Level Contributor
97 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

Without a doubt the finest Embassy Suites in which I have ever stayed. We had a corner suite which had windows on three sides. Two huge rooms, king bedroom and completely separate beautiful living room. The decoration was new and fresh, very handsome and clean. There was not a single flaw to the accommodations. We used the restaurant and bar off the lobby and enjoyed the drinks and food (however the music was way too loud -- live drums). The price is a bit high. Two nights cost us about $750 with all the unexpected taxes tacked on to our room rate (which was already high). Self parking is available but not obvious when you arrive so we defaulted to valet which was an extra $7 per day over self parking. Parking cost about $35 per day. All in all, I felt that although this is a beautiful hotel, it was pricey. After the first night at 10 am in the morning, I found a card slipped under the door stating that since i had a "do not disturb sign" on my door (prior to 10 am) that the maid would not service the room that day. i had to call housekeeping to complain about this and request the room be serviced. I had never experienced this before so early in the day.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
James, we are so happy you liked our building and the big rooms! I will take all your feedback to the appropriate departments so we may better serve our guests. Please come back and visit us again soon so we can Make It Right and WOW you! Thank you for the review and have a great summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#7 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
Downtown
Paramount Hotel
Paramount Hotel
#9 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Address: 319 SW Pine St, Portland, OR 97204-2725
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Portland
#9 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#10 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#10 Business Hotel in Portland
#14 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Portland, the Historic Embassy Suites Portland -Downtown features large two-room guest suites and a well-known foyer adorned in grandeur and architectural beauty. Built in 1912, the building combines it's original classic style and features along with modern comfort. The hotel is within walking distance of tax-free shopping, restaurants, nightlife, Portland’s revered Voo-Doo doughnuts and Powell’s books. The hotel also offers a luxurious Jacuzzi and Indoor pool for you to warm up to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown Hotel Portland
Portland Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing