We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Ranked #19 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here in December & really enjoyed the unique decor, great location and friendly service. It's right across from Voo Doo donuts too!! The rooms were clean & comfortable. I slept great in the very comfy bed. It's nice they also include breakfast & happy hour too.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank TrvlG124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Thank you for the wonderful review, Becky! We hope to have you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,267)
There are newer reviews for Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,398 - 1,404 of 2,267 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2014

this is my first time getting a high end hotel so i didn't know what to expect by shelling out that type of money. but when i got into town and checked into my reservation it was quick and easy the front counter attendant was very knowledgeable of the surrounding area for attractions. the valet parking attendants were ever so generous willing to help out in any way they could. the room was amazing i thought i was living in a apartment only thing missing was the kitchen but i didn't care. only thing that was wrong was we couldn't stay for a longer period of time i would definably stay at the Embassy Suites Hotel again and for a longer stay so we could enjoy the sights and sounds of Portland in no rush

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
1  Thank Brian Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, Brian!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

The location is great - near the river, downtown restaurants and China town. The staff are fabulous - pleasant and helpful at every turn. Rooms are spacious with very clean and modern decor. Complimentary breakfast was good with custom omelets, breads, cereal, juice bar and fruit.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
2  Thank gwendolyn w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

We're so glad you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast! It's our favorite amenity. :)

Hope to have you back again soon, Gwendolyn!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We stayed here for one night Feb 8. Expected an average hotel experience for the price. Got way more. They pretty much treated us like royalty. Rooms were very nice. Best sleep in years. Valet guys were awesome, friendly, quick and helpful. Front desk too. Overall highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FrightenedTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

What a lovely review!! We hope everyone feels like royalty when they stay with us. :) Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We hope to have you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

It's a great place to stay. You can walk to everything in downtown. It's worth paying a little more to get the corner suite. Our suite was very spacious, lots of room for family of four. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank luvtravl8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

So glad you enjoyed your time with us! We hope you choose Embassy again next time you find yourselves in Portland. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

I travel a lot. I have about 100+ room nights a year.

It's clear you don't focus on business customers. Your rooms are nice and clean. However you fail at everything else I have seen.

Internet--same as dial up speed I had in my house in 1997.
Gym--that's an insult, they have clearly have never used it
Doorman--gave me wrong directions
Front desk--rude and insulting
Desk in room--terrible to work at
Shower--weak, but I can live with it

I went to the front desk to ask if you were connected to any local gyms, as yours is awful. Their response was no and that the gym in the hotel was enough. Clearly they had never been down there. I said it was bad and that it was about 50 degrees in there. She said "then run faster". Seriously? That's your answer? And how can you not have a connection to a local gym? Even if yours was acceptable, almost every hotel I go to has a connection with a nice big local gym.

Your "fitness" area is ice cold (which will cause injuries), half of the stuff is broken, it's in a dungeon, and I can't believe you even say it's usable. I'm happy to take you down there and show you all that's wrong with it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mqross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Oh my word, Markos314!

I'm SO sorry to hear that your stay was anything less than spectacular! I'll be sending you a private message shortly so my General Manager can get in contact with you.

Feedback like this, though negative, is very helpful! Thank you for staying with us, and for taking the time to review you time here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Literally, everything was perfect. I can't beat the fresh omelets every day from their breakfast. The evening receptions are fun to take advantage of as well. The room is perfectly clean, the staff were very warm, and the room service was excellent. Portland was definitely one of our best Embassy experiences, but I'd stay at any of them, and try to do so whenever possible.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
2  Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Thank you so much for staying with us, Kevin, and for taking the time to write such a lovely review!!

We hope to see you again very soon! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Hotel deLuxe
#3 of 144 in Portland
2,824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Benson Hotel
Benson Hotel
#18 of 144 in Portland
2,186 reviews
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#9 of 144 in Portland
1,542 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 144 in Portland
1,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown

Address: 319 SW Pine St, Portland, OR 97204-2725
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Portland
#9 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#10 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#10 Business Hotel in Portland
#14 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $204 - $397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Portland, the Historic Embassy Suites Portland -Downtown features large two-room guest suites and a well-known foyer adorned in grandeur and architectural beauty. Built in 1912, the building combines it's original classic style and features along with modern comfort. The hotel is within walking distance of tax-free shopping, restaurants, nightlife, Portland’s revered Voo-Doo doughnuts and Powell’s books. The hotel also offers a luxurious Jacuzzi and Indoor pool for you to warm up to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown Hotel Portland
Portland Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing