We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Embassy Suites in Portland Winds Five Stars”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Ranked #19 of 146 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed January 12, 2014

At a bargain rate we had a huge suite in a gorgeous historic hotel, with great breakfasts and free wine and beer in the evenings. Why does anyone stay a few blocks closer to downtown in one room for the same or more money? First class in every respect.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Gregory N S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

I too have NO IDEA why folks stay elsewhere! :)

Thanks for the lovely review!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,382)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,534 - 1,540 of 2,382 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2014

Hotels like these make me happy. This is an old style facility with just the right amount of patina. Our family of four stayed in a double suite - consisting of two separate bedrooms, two bathrooms and one connecting living room type of deal. The rooms some lacked the old grand style that was found in the other common areas of the hotel. The rooms appeared to have been up-dated in a 1990's type of style. On the plus side, the beds for comfortable, good bedding, the bathrooms were well stocked and the complimentary breakfast buffet was sensational. On the minus side, poor ventilation in the bathrooms and the room windows can not be opened for ventilation AND having to pay for internet access ($8.95/day) is not cool.
The location is great. There are several eating carts (this is a Portland thing) around the corner. The carts offer an abundance in eating choices, the quality of food is very good and you can't beat the prices.
The hotel offers off-site pay parking. The parking garage is just across the street from the hotel and access to it was easy. Our room package included the parking fee.
All in all, staying at the Embassy Suites Portland was a good experience - I would be happy to visit it again!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vandrare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

it was our first time to Portland and we were able to explore so much due to the location of the hotel. Voodoo Doughnuts is just around the corner, we walked downtown, to the pearl district, to the big pink and to the waterfront. Very easy to get around! The breakfast and happy hour is a special treat. They do not have free in room internet but you can use the internet for free in the lobby. Great hotel!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
1  Thank Erin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Thank you for the great review, Erin! We hope to have you back again soon! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel twice and both times the room we reserved was not ready and we were asked to take a lesser room. Since it has happened on two occasions we feel this is the policy of the hotel. It is a shame as the location is wonderful. Their procedures are horrible.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
2  Thank Cathie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

My word! Our Front Office Manager has been trying to get a hold of you, Cathie W.

Due to our continuously morphing room renovation, and a single late-check-out, we dropped the ball, and need to make it up to you!

If you have already spoken to our Front Office, fabulous. If not, please contact me at 503-416-7209 or Jessica.Sheeran@Hilton.com.

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

This is a lovely old building. I was very impressed when we drove up and were greeted by the valet/bellman. Very friendly and professional. Went to the lobby where we were once again greeted and had a very efficient check in. I want to note that lately while traveling - most hotel staff has been not so friendly or attentive - that's NOT the case here. Our room was lovely - nice furnishings - bed coverlet, drapery, and all furniture and amenities were very nice. The room was quiet and comfortable. We also enjoyed the complimentary breakfast which was quite a surprise - they have everything from fruit to made to order omelets. The location of the hotel is perfect - right in the heart of downtown and convenient for walking to everything. We were once again surprised when we checked out and the valet asked if we needed anything else - wanted to make sure we had directions to our next destination. Overall one of the best experiences we've had a hotel lately!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank purplelotus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Lovely review!

We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and took the time to review it. We hope to have you back again soon, Purplelotus. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Our favorite place to stay in Downtown Portland - especially with family and when needing multiple rooms. All of the staff are efficient, friendly, and cheerfully helpful. Rates that include a full breakfast, evening reception, and free in-and-out parking is a real plus.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Thank you so much for staying with us, and for taking the time to write a review!

Hope to have you back again soon. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

This was the 4th time our family has stayed here and it's our favorite hotel in Portland. It's perfect for families and the location is convenient to everything downtown.

This stay we had an issue come up, that was not only promptly handled by the hotel, but the night manager, Patricia, went over and above to ensure that it did not negatively influence our opinion of the hotel (even though it was totally outside of the control of the hotel). We were extremely impressed with her professionalism and customer service acumen.

Why we choose this hotel every time:
- Complimentary breakfast and evening reception
- One-bedroom suite is perfect for a family of three or four
- Game room
- Pool
- Convenient location
- Friendly and helpful staff

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelingBarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Thank you for the lovely feedback!

We love having regulars like yourself! Can't wait to have you again. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Hilton Portland Downtown
Hilton Portland Downtown
#28 of 146 in Portland
272 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Pearl
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown

Address: 319 SW Pine St, Portland, OR 97204-2725
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Portland
#9 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#10 Family Hotel in Portland
#10 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#10 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $169 - $334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Portland, the Historic Embassy Suites Portland -Downtown features large two-room guest suites and a well-known foyer adorned in grandeur and architectural beauty. Built in 1912, the building combines it's original classic style and features along with modern comfort. The hotel is within walking distance of tax-free shopping, restaurants, nightlife, Portland’s revered Voo-Doo doughnuts and Powell’s books. The hotel also offers a luxurious Jacuzzi and Indoor pool for you to warm up to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown Hotel Portland
Portland Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing