We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Ranked #19 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 31, 2013

I loved this hotel. The rooms were nice and the staff was extremely helpful and friendly. It is located in downtown and restaurants, shops, transportation and nightlife are all within walking distance. It is only a few blocks from the river, which is beautiful. If I were able to go back to Portland, I would absolutely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Doray H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Thank you for the great review, Doray H! We look forward to having you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,345)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,539 - 1,545 of 2,345 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2013

The Embassy Suites Downtown is an excellent choice to stay in downtown Portland. The building is outstanding, the location is excellent, and the staff is very good. It has a lot going for it. There are some suggestions to make a great experience even better. It would be good if Zannah in concierge had an office in the Lobby rather float around the entire place. It would also be helpful if there is more staff at the evening reception. The lines were long and the food ran out for a while; the staff was simply overworked. This may also be a problem in the morning. We enjoyed our stay and will be back soon.

Room Tip: Corner room on high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank retiree67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Thank you SO much for taking the time to write a review, and for the great suggestions! I'll pass these along to our Managers and see what can be done. :)

Thanks again for staying with us. We hope to see you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We really like staying at the Embassy Suites. We like that they have a separate bedroom. The breakfast is always good and enjoy the evening managers reception. The location is great for seeing downtown Portland and the Saturday Market.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank okshew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Thank you so much for staying with us, OKShew! We appreciate you taking the time to review us and hope you'll be back again soon. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Wonderful staff with an excellent location. Walking distance to many local attractions like the Saturday Market and Chinatown. They have clean comfortable rooms with a very good value. My wife and I cant wait to return

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

And we can't wait to have you back, Michael G!

Thank you so much for taking a moment to write a review. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Lovely old hotel that has been updated but still has that "grand" feel. Located in downtown...the area is so-so, but mass transit is nearby as is many restaurants are within walking distance. I was part of a small group of friends and we were treated beautifully by the staff. Special mention goes to Amanda Davidson, Front Office Supervisor. The breakfast is included and guests will be happy with the many great choices of food. I received a complimentary upgrade and the suite was very large. The rooms are immaculate. One important observation-be careful if you use the indoor swimming pool/jacuzzi. One of the jacuzzis was broken & the floor tiles are slippery when wet and many people, included someone in our group did slip. There is a wine reception in the evening but we didn't have a chance to check it out.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Thank you so much for taking time to review your stay, Barbara!

We hope to see you back again soon! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I have stayed at a few Embassy Suites and this one was probably the most stunning. Beautiful lobby, staff very helpful and clean. Our room was not a suite but the bedding was comfortable and the bathroom was clean although we had a non-smoking room it did smell that someone had smoked in the room. We liked the convenience from the airport by taking the train which was only 40 minutes on the red line and cost $5 for 2 two hour tickets and only a 5 minute walk to our hotel.

As usual the complimentary breakfast was excellent as well as the managers cocktail reception.

Only concern is the area. We walked around town/china town and it appeared there were quite a bit of homeless as well as girly bars. You had some street characters but overall we felt safe in the evening.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kokua711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

We're so glad you appreciated our building! No Embassy atrium here, but we hope our 100 year old history makes up for it. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this property 2 years ago and throughly enjoyed ourselves but not
this time.
We were upgraded to an executive king suite. I felt as though I was in a boardroom.
The room was cold and drab-could use some redecorating. The bedroom did have a king bed but bedskirt was too big for bed(unkempt) and no adjoining bathroom(it was located outside of room). Lots of traffic noise-glad I had my earplugs for sleeping.
Appeared to be several" hookers"in the hotel(not kidding)!!
I accidently left something in the room during check-out and attempted to telephone the hotel post flight home and all I've gotten was a busy signal.
On positive side the staff were lovely and breakfast included.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Honeybunny1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Thank you so much for bringing your concerns to our attention, HoneyBunny1950!

We're VERY happy to be renovating all our rooms this Winter. So hopefully you'll be able to peek in and tell us what you think.

I'm guessing that busy signal was due to our power being out, and possibly the Water Main break in Downtown Portland? I'm not sure, but I'm very sorry you couldnt' get a hold of us!

Please send me a note if you're back in town again. I want to take special care of you!
Jessica.Sheeran@Hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Hilton Portland Downtown
Hilton Portland Downtown
#26 of 144 in Portland
239 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pearl
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District
Downtown
Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#3 of 144 in Portland
1,759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown

Address: 319 SW Pine St, Portland, OR 97204-2725
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Portland
#9 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#10 Business Hotel in Portland
#10 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#10 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $164 - $323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Portland, the Historic Embassy Suites Portland -Downtown features large two-room guest suites and a well-known foyer adorned in grandeur and architectural beauty. Built in 1912, the building combines it's original classic style and features along with modern comfort. The hotel is within walking distance of tax-free shopping, restaurants, nightlife, Portland’s revered Voo-Doo doughnuts and Powell’s books. The hotel also offers a luxurious Jacuzzi and Indoor pool for you to warm up to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown Hotel Portland
Portland Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing