We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel is it's own destination”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Ranked #19 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Embassy Suites went over and beyond for my wedding. We booked over a 60 room block for a sold out Labor Day weekend. All staff of parking to executive management was on attentive and responsive to me and all of our guest 24/7. The complimentary breakfast was great. The rooms are huge. The location is close to the train and some of Portland's must sees attractions. Great hotel for a weekend getaway and large groups. Won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
1  Thank Fireball137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

We are SO GLAD you wedding went off without a hitch, Fireball137!

We were honored to be a part of your big day, and we hope to see you again soon! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,267)
There are newer reviews for Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,529 - 1,535 of 2,267 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2013

I stayed at both the Hilton and Embassy Suites while in Portland. The Embassy Suites were superior. I think they might have been cheaper as well. You receive much more bang for your buck. The rooms are huge! Two queen beds (in separate rooms) and a few pullouts. We were really comfortable. The decor was modern and the lobby was stunning. They also have a manager's reception each day. We went down for the food; the drink lines looked very long and moved slowly. It didn't look like many people were tipping so they didn't really have an incentive to move quickly! Enjoyed a free, mediocre breakfast in the morning (hey--free is free so I'm not complaining). I'll be looking for Embassy chains on my next vacation.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Thank you for the the review, Catherine B! We love making Hilton regulars into Embassy regulars! You really do get so much more bang for your buck here. :)

How could we make our breakfast less mediocre? We're really making an effort to spruce our breakfast and evening receptions up, and we'd love your feedback!

Hope to see you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

I stayed with my wife overnight in a lovely large suite (cheaper than an earlier business booking in a single room at the same hotel) All facilities work well and the lobby area is attractive to spend time and meet people. HOWEVER ... As usual ()my hobby horse - not unique to this hotel in North America) - No International programmes on the TV channel list. No International papers available (not even the International Herald Tribune. And (shockingly) this hotel still charges for Wifi use in your room. On these 3 criteria please enter the 21st century and global community! (Or reduce your charges significantly!)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Smithkgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

The room was very clean, well appointed and the view of Voodoo donuts a real hoot at night. The breakfast is wonderful - super variety. The staff is knowledgeable and very anxious to please. I can hardly wait to return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Carole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Our family of 3 stayed here for 2 nights this summer. Portland was one of the stops on our road trip up the coast, and we came here with the purpose of hitting the famous food trucks! The location was perfect and within walking distance to many food choices and shops. The building looks like it was redone from an older hotel, but spacious and our 1 bedroom suite (the size of a small apartment) was perfect and comfortable for our little family. Self-Parking was across the street ($18/day or $25/day for in/out privileges) , but check-in/out was easy and the hotel staff was accommodating in letting us park out front as long as needed. The included cooked-to-order breakfast and daily happy hour in the large lounge downstairs was convenient and one of the things we enjoy about Embassy Suites. As mentioned, we came to enjoy the food trucks and sights of downtown Portland. There were plenty of trucks within walking distance, as well as Voodoo Doughnuts (1 block away), Powell Books, a farmer's market, and the waterfront. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here, and would come back again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ling K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

The hotel has a history and a beautiful building which is maintained to perfection. The suites are gracious and comfortable. My sister wants to buy some of the sheets that were on the beds. The service was generous and friendly. You could not ask for more.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank CathleenMcLoughlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review!! We hope to see you back again soon. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is a great place to stay if in downtown Portland, OR. Walking distance to many awesome restaurants, sites, and the river. Great happy hour and breakfast; although held in the basement it is a little dark. Very clean and helpful staff. I have a meeting coming up in January at this hotel and can not wait to go back.

Room Tip: The upper floors have a better view of downtown.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SharkLady34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Thank you for the lovely review, SharkLady34! Can't wait to have you back. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Hotel deLuxe
#3 of 144 in Portland
2,824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Benson Hotel
Benson Hotel
#18 of 144 in Portland
2,187 reviews
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#9 of 144 in Portland
1,542 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 144 in Portland
1,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown

Address: 319 SW Pine St, Portland, OR 97204-2725
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Portland
#9 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#10 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#10 Business Hotel in Portland
#14 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $204 - $396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Portland, the Historic Embassy Suites Portland -Downtown features large two-room guest suites and a well-known foyer adorned in grandeur and architectural beauty. Built in 1912, the building combines it's original classic style and features along with modern comfort. The hotel is within walking distance of tax-free shopping, restaurants, nightlife, Portland’s revered Voo-Doo doughnuts and Powell’s books. The hotel also offers a luxurious Jacuzzi and Indoor pool for you to warm up to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown Hotel Portland
Portland Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing