We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for families”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Ranked #19 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed with our 3 children and had a truly wonderful experience. The rooms were large and clean. The breakfast in the morning has pretty much anything anyone could want from an American breakfast. Everyone in our family was happy with the choices. The pool was a great activity for the evenings to make sure the kid went to sleep easily. And, free cocktails at the evening happy hour? That just put us over the top!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Rhoni G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

We're so glad you had a lovely time with us, Rhoni G!

We love when our guests take advantage of all the complimentary amenities we have to offer.

Hope to see you back in Portland again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,345)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,649 - 1,655 of 2,345 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2013

My letter to the Hotel Manager:

Dear Hotel Manager,
We booked 2 nights at your hotel several months ago. We camped for four days on the Oregon Coast first and then looked forward to ending up our holiday at your hotel in Portland. The photos online looked amazing and my three kids were especially excited about your swimming pool. After we checked in we went straight to the pool to check it out. Much to our dismay it was EMPTY and under repair. Nothing was said to us at the front desk about this. As you well know, swimming is the highlight for most kids at a hotel. We were sorely disappointed. It would have been nice to have had some sort of compensation such as a free in-room family movie or free parking in lieu of the paying for an amenity and not receiving it. We were simply directed to walk seven blocks to the Hilton to use their pool. Our room was also sloppily cleaned. I would have expected better from a hotel of your calibre and price range. There was a used towel still in the bathroom, black smudges on the pillowcase, a broken lamp in the bedroom (broken and a burned out light bulb) and garbage under the hide-a-bed. Very disappointing. One of the biggest issues I had with our two night stay was the fact that your hotel rooms have next to no sound proofing. We had a baby rooming beside us and it cried intermittently the first night which was annoying but tolerable. The second night that baby screamed bloody murder from 10:30 pm to 3:00 am. Thankfully our kids weren't overly disturbed by it but my husband and I were severely sleep deprived that night. When we checked out the next morning we were not even asked at the front desk about our stay, so I am sharing my concerns via your website instead. I am very hesitant to ever stay in an Embassy Suites Hotel again. I have friends who have recommended your chain to me but at this point I have yet to be convinced to give you another try.
I look forward to hearing from you.
As a side note:
The breakfast was good and we appreciated at the seating area was plentiful. This is something that is usually lacking in hotels when they provide free breakfasts.
The room A/C is pretty pathetic and we alternated between roasting and freezing all night long.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RachelDBCCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Thank you so much for your honestly, RachelDBCCanada.

We're very very VERY sorry about the pool closure, but mostly that you weren't informed, or well taken care of while you were with us.

I'll be sending you a message shortly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

This is the old Multnomah hotel so it is quite different than normal Embassy Suites as it oozes with charm and warm feelings of the past. The rest is normal though as to two room suites(alyhough they are better here) and free breakfast, etc. A great location with several good restaurants very close: Portland Prime (Off the lobby), Dan and Louis’ Oyster Bar (Lunch), Portland City Grill (Fine dining on one side and a great bar and happy hour on the other side, both with outstanding views of the river) and Ruth’s Chris. Its is just a little bit longer walk to the Veritable Quandary, Jake’s Seafood and Jake’s Grill. If you are a Hilton Honors person this is far better than the Portland Hilton. It is my first choice for Portland hotels.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank braidmacd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

We're so glad you had a wonderful time in Portland and got a chance to check out the restaurants within walking distance to us, Braidmacd!

(We're also not-so-secretly gloating that you chose us over the Hilton! haha)

Thank you for the review. We hope to see you back again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed two nights in this hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Was pleasantly surprised by the complimentary breakfast which included an omelet station. We were incredibly surprised by the complimentary happy hour. Very nice selection available. We had cosmos which were made very well. The happy hour also included light snacks which was nice and it was very kid friendly. This hotel is around the corner from VooDoo Doughnuts which is a must in Portland. The suite with a separate living room with a sleeper sofa and a separate room was very nice. Would happily stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Thank you so much for the review, Enrique C, and for taking advantage of all the complimentary amenities we have to offer!

We hope to see you back again soon. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

While we enjoyed the City of Portland, the Embassy Suites was adequate but not impressive. The location in the City was decent. Rooms felt dated, including the fold out sofa and linens for such not great if needed for your stay. Breakfast is the typical Embassy breakfast but in the basement of the hotel so felt a bit like a dungeon. We had been expecting an upgraded room which ended up meaning an outside view of a parking lot. If there are budget reasons to use the hotel (breakfast included and ability to put additional in the room and have a suite) then you get what you pay for, just don't expect to be excited or use your room for anything other than a bed and shower.

Room Tip: This hotel has a few wings to it with some rooms having inside court views. Ask for outside views a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeanV22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Thank you for your review, Deb B.

We appreciate you staying with us, and hope you'll be able to come take a peak at our newly renovated rooms next time you're in town! We start renovating in November, and should be finished up sometime in January! We're all super excited to get a room face-lift. :)

We're also currently revamping our Complimentary Breakfast and Evening Reception. We're working on better using the space we have. Your "dungeon" comment is helpful.

Thank you again, Deb!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We just wanted to go spend a night at a really nice hotel. My dear friend has cancer and we were taking her for a night of luxury and swimming and good food. At $250.00 per room (we rented two) we thought we would be getting close to what we wanted. We pulled up in front and discovered first that we had to pay $18.00 to park the car. We went to the desk at check in time and our rooms were not yet ready. My friend desperatly needed to use the bathroom and one of the housemen directed us to the restroom. It was locked, we needed a key card. So we were going back to the desk when the same guy told us there is one in the restraunt. We went in a hurry to find a numbered key pad. So we then went to the desk and were given the key card to the first restroom. So then we went to eat at the Prime and came back to get our room keys. We finally got into our rooms and they were very stangely situated and totally opposite. Having adjoining rooms, i thought we would be more "together" but the way they are built, there is no continuity and it just felt very stark and cold. The beautiful windows were covered with plexiglass sheets and the windows were painted shut. No chance for fresh air at all. One of the living rooms was icy cold while the rest were hot. The beds and linens were wonderful though. We ordered room service for dinner. There is not much of a selection on the menu at all and the main entrees are not less than $29.00. A bottle of water from the room is $4.00! Unbelievable! Ok. So we then ordered dinner to our room. They came one entree short and my husband had to wait for his meal and eat after the rest of us were done. I had the seafood louie and the salad was soggy. There was about a teaspoon of crab and a cold slab of salmon plopped on top. The rest of the food was not at all memorable but it did fill us up. Later, we went to use the ATM machine and it was out of order. So we went to an ATM down the street and came back to the desk for change for the soda machine and it was like pulling teeth to get some change from the desk clerks who would not make eye contact. After I told them their ATM was out of order (I guess they didn't know) they were able to scrounge up some change from the valet boys. After that we were still looking forward to the pool and jacuzzis since this was one of the biggest reasons why I chose the place. When we got down to the lower dungeon level we found the pool was out of order. There was one jacuzzi running which looked dirty. And even if it was clean, it was so depressing down there I would never bring a sick person to that dark low place. As I said, my friend has cancer. We were informed at the front desk that we could walk 6 blocks to the Hilton to use the pool there. That is impossible. My friend isn't all that strong right now and she cannot go walking around town. We enjoyed people watching down at the Voodoo Donuts shop down the street. Other than that, we just went to bed as the beds and linen were the only part of this hotel that I found to be satisfactory. Then to add injury to insult, my friend set down her new Kindle and it was snatched from the front lobby while we were waiting for our rooms. The employees were unfriendly and would not make eye contact.I guess I don't blame them being depressed to work in a place like that. We will never go back to Embassy Suites or any Hilton Hotel ever.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurien47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Thank you for your honest review, laurien47!

We're very sorry to hear your stay with us was anything less than perfect.

You will receive a offline message momentary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

While i am now satisfied with how this situation was handled I am unhappy that for the second time things did not go as I had booked. We ended up being given a free night for the screw up they made but I would rather things just go as planned. We had a very rude and unhelpful run in with the valet as we were loading up that ended our visit on a horrible note.
The PR lady in the lobby all weekend and in the happy hour was super helpful and friendly and a great idea to have someone on hand to help visitors.
It is still a great location as others have mentioned but the value for the $$ is no longer there in my opinion in terms of service and amenities (no free WIFI?? - Hilton Doubletree across the river at half the price (no suites) has it?).
Our 4th stay and maybe our last...... time to move on.

Room Tip: 8th floor corner suites perfect for family of 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sabcfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Thank you for your review, Sabcfamily.

Our Concierge, Zannah, will be happy to hear that you appreciated her service! I'll also send this note about the Valet along to Ace Valet.

With 100 year old historic walls, come a Wifi nightmare. In order to provide internet to all our guest rooms, a fraction of the exorbitant fee is passed along to our guests if they use it. I apologize and hope that the grandeur of the hotel makes up for it's lack of Wifi friendly bones.

We hope to see you in Portland again soon! Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Hilton Portland Downtown
Hilton Portland Downtown
#26 of 144 in Portland
239 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pearl
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District
Downtown
Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#3 of 144 in Portland
1,759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown

Address: 319 SW Pine St, Portland, OR 97204-2725
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Portland
#9 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#10 Business Hotel in Portland
#10 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#10 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $164 - $323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Portland, the Historic Embassy Suites Portland -Downtown features large two-room guest suites and a well-known foyer adorned in grandeur and architectural beauty. Built in 1912, the building combines it's original classic style and features along with modern comfort. The hotel is within walking distance of tax-free shopping, restaurants, nightlife, Portland’s revered Voo-Doo doughnuts and Powell’s books. The hotel also offers a luxurious Jacuzzi and Indoor pool for you to warm up to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown Hotel Portland
Portland Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing