We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast and amazing happy hour!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Ranked #17 of 139 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great breakfast and amazing happy hour!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed two nights in this hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Was pleasantly surprised by the complimentary breakfast which included an omelet station. We were incredibly surprised by the complimentary happy hour. Very nice selection available. We had cosmos which were made very well. The happy hour also included light snacks which was nice and it was very kid friendly. This hotel is around the corner from VooDoo Doughnuts which is a must in Portland. The suite with a separate living room with a sleeper sofa and a separate room was very nice. Would happily stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you so much for the review, Enrique C, and for taking advantage of all the complimentary amenities we have to offer!

We hope to see you back again soon. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,091 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,183
    658
    156
    63
    31
See reviews for
690
508
86
514
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
107 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

While we enjoyed the City of Portland, the Embassy Suites was adequate but not impressive. The location in the City was decent. Rooms felt dated, including the fold out sofa and linens for such not great if needed for your stay. Breakfast is the typical Embassy breakfast but in the basement of the hotel so felt a bit like a dungeon. We had been expecting an upgraded room which ended up meaning an outside view of a parking lot. If there are budget reasons to use the hotel (breakfast included and ability to put additional in the room and have a suite) then you get what you pay for, just don't expect to be excited or use your room for anything other than a bed and shower.

Room Tip: This hotel has a few wings to it with some rooms having inside court views. Ask for outside views a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeanV22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for your review, Deb B.

We appreciate you staying with us, and hope you'll be able to come take a peak at our newly renovated rooms next time you're in town! We start renovating in November, and should be finished up sometime in January! We're all super excited to get a room face-lift. :)

We're also currently revamping our Complimentary Breakfast and Evening Reception. We're working on better using the space we have. Your "dungeon" comment is helpful.

Thank you again, Deb!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aloha, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We just wanted to go spend a night at a really nice hotel. My dear friend has cancer and we were taking her for a night of luxury and swimming and good food. At $250.00 per room (we rented two) we thought we would be getting close to what we wanted. We pulled up in front and discovered first that we had to pay $18.00 to park the car. We went to the desk at check in time and our rooms were not yet ready. My friend desperatly needed to use the bathroom and one of the housemen directed us to the restroom. It was locked, we needed a key card. So we were going back to the desk when the same guy told us there is one in the restraunt. We went in a hurry to find a numbered key pad. So we then went to the desk and were given the key card to the first restroom. So then we went to eat at the Prime and came back to get our room keys. We finally got into our rooms and they were very stangely situated and totally opposite. Having adjoining rooms, i thought we would be more "together" but the way they are built, there is no continuity and it just felt very stark and cold. The beautiful windows were covered with plexiglass sheets and the windows were painted shut. No chance for fresh air at all. One of the living rooms was icy cold while the rest were hot. The beds and linens were wonderful though. We ordered room service for dinner. There is not much of a selection on the menu at all and the main entrees are not less than $29.00. A bottle of water from the room is $4.00! Unbelievable! Ok. So we then ordered dinner to our room. They came one entree short and my husband had to wait for his meal and eat after the rest of us were done. I had the seafood louie and the salad was soggy. There was about a teaspoon of crab and a cold slab of salmon plopped on top. The rest of the food was not at all memorable but it did fill us up. Later, we went to use the ATM machine and it was out of order. So we went to an ATM down the street and came back to the desk for change for the soda machine and it was like pulling teeth to get some change from the desk clerks who would not make eye contact. After I told them their ATM was out of order (I guess they didn't know) they were able to scrounge up some change from the valet boys. After that we were still looking forward to the pool and jacuzzis since this was one of the biggest reasons why I chose the place. When we got down to the lower dungeon level we found the pool was out of order. There was one jacuzzi running which looked dirty. And even if it was clean, it was so depressing down there I would never bring a sick person to that dark low place. As I said, my friend has cancer. We were informed at the front desk that we could walk 6 blocks to the Hilton to use the pool there. That is impossible. My friend isn't all that strong right now and she cannot go walking around town. We enjoyed people watching down at the Voodoo Donuts shop down the street. Other than that, we just went to bed as the beds and linen were the only part of this hotel that I found to be satisfactory. Then to add injury to insult, my friend set down her new Kindle and it was snatched from the front lobby while we were waiting for our rooms. The employees were unfriendly and would not make eye contact.I guess I don't blame them being depressed to work in a place like that. We will never go back to Embassy Suites or any Hilton Hotel ever.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurien47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for your honest review, laurien47!

We're very sorry to hear your stay with us was anything less than perfect.

You will receive a offline message momentary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
207 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

While i am now satisfied with how this situation was handled I am unhappy that for the second time things did not go as I had booked. We ended up being given a free night for the screw up they made but I would rather things just go as planned. We had a very rude and unhelpful run in with the valet as we were loading up that ended our visit on a horrible note.
The PR lady in the lobby all weekend and in the happy hour was super helpful and friendly and a great idea to have someone on hand to help visitors.
It is still a great location as others have mentioned but the value for the $$ is no longer there in my opinion in terms of service and amenities (no free WIFI?? - Hilton Doubletree across the river at half the price (no suites) has it?).
Our 4th stay and maybe our last...... time to move on.

Room Tip: 8th floor corner suites perfect for family of 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabcfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for your review, Sabcfamily.

Our Concierge, Zannah, will be happy to hear that you appreciated her service! I'll also send this note about the Valet along to Ace Valet.

With 100 year old historic walls, come a Wifi nightmare. In order to provide internet to all our guest rooms, a fraction of the exorbitant fee is passed along to our guests if they use it. I apologize and hope that the grandeur of the hotel makes up for it's lack of Wifi friendly bones.

We hope to see you in Portland again soon! Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel about a year ago when we were visiting some family in Portland. It was our first stay here and we were very happy with our room and the service we received from the hotel staff. Our room was very spacious and very nicely appointed. We especially enjoyed eating at Portland Prime, which is accessible from the hotel lobby. You will be very happy with this choice should you stay here. I just tried to make a reservation for this week, but unfortunately it was already full, so somebody else obviously knows this is a fine establishment.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aloha9620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
We're so glad you enjoy our hotel, Aloha9620, and are sorry to hear we couldn't squeeze you in this week!

When the Portland rain stops falling, the people flock. This summer has been wonderfully busy.

Shoot Jessica.Sheeran@Hilton.com an email next time you're looking to stay. She may be able to work some magic. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
215 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stopped here one night enroute to the Willamette Valley... From the first greeting curbside, then the front desk, the roving concierge, housekeeping staff, bellhops, the food service staff at breakfast... Everyone greets you, looks you in the eye...

Rooms are a bit different than the typical Embassy Suites and that's due to the renovation of a century old hotel. Found the accommodations very agreeable...

Location okay, ten some blocks from Pioneer Plaza...

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Wiggleglass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for staying with us, Wiggleglass. We hope you had a lovely time in the Willamette Valley!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

The Good — helpful and friendly staff. I interacted mostly with the Parking Valet staff and they were definitely above average. The location downtown is also fantastic. The bed was comfy, and the linens were very nice. I slept well.

The Bad — for the price, I would expect a more thoughtful room interior. I've only stayed at two hotels in downtown Portland, this one and the incomparable Hotel Monaco. But I've stayed at many Embassy Suites and this was probably the most impersonal, cold room I've ever had at an Embassy. I didn't look forward to returning to the room even after a busy day. My teenage daughter dreaded the room. And I know they don't want anyone jumping out the windows, but the plexiglass over the old windows was cheesy Many older hotels I've stayed in have updated the windows to make them secure but still allow for some fresh air. They also had maid service cards to hang outside to let housekeeping know the night before what time you want your room made up. While that's a nice gesture, I don't really want to advertise to everyone what time I plan to be away from my room. The breakfast and happy hour experiences were in a Lower Level area that is pretty dismal — like entering one of the first few rings of hell. Some more charming decor and more interesting food choices would go a long way toward transforming those two nice ideas into nice realities. The bartender was super nice though! The gift store experience almost qualifies as ugly. The mark up on snack foods was INSANE – worse than airport prices.

The Ugly: I think Hilton is incredibly greedy to charge for in-room internet service unless you are a "Gold" or "Diamond" status Hilton Honors member. It makes me never want to stay in a Hilton again, no matter how friendly the staff nor how nice the accommodations. Hilton would profit far more by generating the loyalty and good will that would come from providing in-room internet to its patrons, no matter what their "status."

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your honesty, Mary E!

We're in the process of revamping our Breakfast and Evening Reception, so your comments will be very helpful.

We're also starting renovations on all our rooms in November! We'll be all shiny and new by the end of January, so if you find yourself in Portland again, We'd love for you to come take a peak and tell us what you think!

With 100 year old historic walls, comes a WIFI nightmare! We do our best to provide internet to all our guests, but we certainly can't do it as easily as most hotels, and the cost reflects that. We apologize, and hope that the grandeur of the property makes up for it's inability to make this amenity complimentary.

Thanks again, Mary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#7 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
Downtown
Paramount Hotel
Paramount Hotel
#10 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Address: 319 SW Pine St, Portland, OR 97204-2725
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Portland
#9 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#9 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#10 Business Hotel in Portland
#14 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Portland, the Historic Embassy Suites Portland -Downtown features large two-room guest suites and a well-known foyer adorned in grandeur and architectural beauty. Built in 1912, the building combines it's original classic style and features along with modern comfort. The hotel is within walking distance of tax-free shopping, restaurants, nightlife, Portland’s revered Voo-Doo doughnuts and Powell’s books. The hotel also offers a luxurious Jacuzzi and Indoor pool for you to warm up to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown Hotel Portland
Portland Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing