We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, good for families”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Ranked #18 of 142 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Benicia, CA
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, good for families”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

The hotel is like many other Embassy Suites and is good for families. It is clean and spacious. The staff was very friendy, and the free breakfast was excellent. The parking garage is not connected to the hotel building, and is across the street.

The one negative does not have to do with the hotel itself, but is the location of the hotel. While the hotel is located close to the waterfront and Voodoo Donuts, it is not located in the desirable part of town. The area around Nordstroms near Pioneer Square appears to be cleaner and more pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matt_train
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us, Matt_Train, and for the great review!

Though our hotel won't be migrating closer to the Nordstroms, we hope you still choose us when you come back to town. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,258
    700
    174
    70
    31
See reviews for
746
546
87
548
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

My family of four stayed in Portland for 1 night and 2 days. The Embassy Suite Downtown was the perfect location. We arrived at the Portland airport, took the train to the Skidmore fountain and walked a couple blocks to the hotel. This location is perfect to access public transportation. Without a vehicle we were able to go to the Japanese Garden, Rose Garden, have lunch in Chinatown, access the gondola (tram), visit the Saturday market. The best part is that the hotel is near fantastic restaurants and down the street from Voodoo Donuts:) After we checked out, we took public transportation to Union Station and caught an Amtrak train to Seattle. Portland is now on my list of favorite cities. We will definitely visit again, and I've added Portland to our short list of cities to retire in.

Room Tip: We had a quiet room. Very quiet and great for sleeping, but as you probably guessed, it had a pathe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SanchezFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
We're so glad you took full advantage of our Public Transportation, and our surrounding area. You really don't need a car in most of Portland!

Hope to see you back sometime before retirement, SanchezFamily! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We loved everything about our stay here. The newly updated rooms, generous complimentary breakfast, fun swimming pool, really nice staff, great location and excellent prices! Can't wait to come back! P.S.- And it's walking distance to voodoo donuts, enough said?

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you, Robin M!

We're actually renovating our rooms staring in November. We hope you can come enjoy them when they're all shiny and new! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Great stay at Embassy Suites. Could walk everywhere-Art Museum, Pearl District, Powell's, Pioneer Square, River. Voodoo Donuts out door-try Mango. Friendly staff, great breakfast, decent gym, rooms spacious but could be updated. MAX from airport two blocks away. Great stay!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brooklyntraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
We're very excited to start our room renovations in November! We hope you can come take a peak when we're all finished and let us know your thoughts.

You should try the Tang Voodoo Doughnut next time you're in town! It blows Mango out of the water. :)

Thank you for the wonderful review, Brooklyntraveling.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We really enjoyed this hotel, from the history of it to the fun vibrant location. It's a bit edgy, but so close a lot of great stuff. Very nice staff, and the concierge, what a energized lady!
The breakfast room/cocktail room is a bit drab but you can't have everything! Overall we would recommend this hotel and we would stay here again. The famous Voo Doo doughnuts is right around the corner!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RodPyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
We love Zannah, our Concierge, and she'll be glad to know you like her too!

We're currently brainstorming ways to improve the atmosphere of our Arcadian Garden (where our Breakfast and Evening Reception are). If you can think of any ideas, we'd love to hear them!

Thank you so much, RodPyle. Hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Colorado, United States
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Having stayed at 5 different hotels in downtown Portland, this is the one I come back to repeatedly. It is my first choice for several reasons. The front desk staff is welcoming and helpful. Complimentary breakfast is great. The evening manager’s reception is staffed by some wonderful bartenders. The bellmen are very helpful. While an older property, the rooms are spacious and comfortable. The location is convenient for walking most places. And how can you say no to being across the street from Voodoo Donuts?

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Kathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you so much for the fantastic review, Kathy D!

I'm sure we'll see you back again soon. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I hesitated to add my review here after reading all the glowing recent reviews, but the good folks who work at the downtown Portland Embassy Suites deserve to have the praise heaped on them.

It's nice to have that spacious two-room suite you always get at Embassy, but the most important thing to us is to find an immaculately clean room, clean hallways, and bright & tidy common areas. This location delivered just all of that. Not the kind of wiping-down and straightening-up that someone in a hurry might do, but the kind of cleanliness you'd want in your own home if your best friends or family was coming over for a visit. You're not hit over the head with the smell of disinfectant or air fresheners; you're breathing in the real deal - very clean fresh air.

Other reviews covered the convenience of this location. Living in Austin, TX, we could only wish for such a great public transport system as the MAX light rail and the streetcar system. By the way, the nearby Portland Saturday Market is nice for crafts, but don't miss the farmer's market downtown on the Portland State University campus, also on Saturday morning. Even if you don't have space to store lots of fruit and veggies, it's still worth seeing.

Another tip is to check out the food carts at the pod on the east side of 5th St between Oak and Stark. Always busy at lunch and there's a reason - it's cheap, freshly made, and insanely tasty.

Love the Embassy breakfast? It's everything you'd want here. There's a hot-food counter with hash brown potatoes (plain, and with peppers & onions), pancakes, eggs, sausage, bacon, and hard-boiled eggs, and finally the omelette station. To keep the area from being too congested, there's another counter with cereals, fruit and yogurt, a separate area for toasting bread & bagels, yet another with muffins & danish, and if I remember correctly, a separate area for juices and milk. Not like the typical Comfort Inn or Residence Inn where everyone is elbow-to-elbow at one too-compact common buffet area.

At the evening reception, the beer & wine choices were good, the sangria was very tasty - a little spicy, not overly sweet - there were plenty of mixed-drink choices, and often there were three bartenders to help keep the lines short. Excellent. Snacks were usually veggies like broccoli, carrots, and cukes with dip, sometimes chips & salsa, goldfish crackers, a salty/spicy nut/cracker mix, or pretzels. Also popcorn on at least a couple of nights we were there.

As others mentioned, this is not the typical Embassy Suites with a large atrium, but the old Multnomah Hotel which was refurbished and transformed into this hotel is quite a beauty. The breakfast and reception area is actually two floors below street grade, but this very large room has a ceiling that must be at least 16 feet high, so it's by no means claustrophobic. It's a very generously-sized area with comfortable seating and a very attentive table cleanup crew.

Alright - you've read enough. Book this place & have a great stay!

Room Tip: Don't feel "cheated" by a room that faces inward to other rooms. I suspect those rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
What a wonderful review, Zapped! Thank you!

We hope you'll be back soon. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Benson Hotel
Benson Hotel
#17 of 142 in Portland
2,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Dossier
Dossier
#22 of 142 in Portland
916 reviews
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#8 of 142 in Portland
1,483 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 142 in Portland
1,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Address: 319 SW Pine St, Portland, OR 97204-2725
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Portland
#9 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#9 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#10 Business Hotel in Portland
#14 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Portland, the Historic Embassy Suites Portland -Downtown features large two-room guest suites and a well-known foyer adorned in grandeur and architectural beauty. Built in 1912, the building combines it's original classic style and features along with modern comfort. The hotel is within walking distance of tax-free shopping, restaurants, nightlife, Portland’s revered Voo-Doo doughnuts and Powell’s books. The hotel also offers a luxurious Jacuzzi and Indoor pool for you to warm up to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown Hotel Portland
Portland Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing