We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really liked it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Ranked #18 of 139 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Tacoma, WA
Level Contributor
91 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Really liked it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

Our family of 4 stayed here for 5 nights in April 2013 over spring break. The kids loved that it was a block from Voodoo Donuts (OK, I did too), and it was conveniently close to a MAX light rail stop. I loved that it is all suites, and we had plenty of room for my husband and I in our own bedroom, plus our 8-yr-old on the hideabed and our 13-yr-old on a rollaway that they brought up for us. This was probably an extremely nice hotel in its day, but don't be fooled by Embassy Suites stereotyping... it is still nice, and different from other standard business hotels. It has this huge area where there is a free breakfast (complete with omelet bar, pancakes, waffles, cereal, bacon, sausage, etc) and a happy hour later. There is a game room tucked away behind that room which I think most people didn't know about, as we were usually alone in there (has arcade games, pool table, air hockey, and a TV). The boys loved the pool, and its 2 hot tubs. There aren't many downtown hotels with pools. There also aren't many family-friendly restaurants within walking distance to this hotel - exceptions include Old Town Pizza (great), and Rock Bottom Brewery (good, but a chain). You can walk downtown from here - we walked all the way to Jeld-Wen to see a Portland Timbers game, which was probably a couple of miles. We took the MAX to the zoo one day and that was very convenient. We took Amtrak to Portland from Seattle, and then a cab to the hotel, but we probably could have walked from the Amtrak station... it was a very short cab ride. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: 1-bd corner suites have tons of space for a family of 4. Staying on a higher floor might help with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hambug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,088 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,181
    657
    156
    63
    31
See reviews for
690
508
86
512
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wichita, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

From this hotel you can walk a short distance to most of the downtown attractions and restaurants. Just make sure you get a deal on parking or you'll have to pay additional for that. Breakfast includes a chef cooking omelettes to your liking. Walls facing hallway seemed a little thin with regard to noise but overall it's a nice place which you'd expect when paying $175+ per night.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Raymond G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
294 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

The suites are very pleasant and the hotel is in a good location - lots of good restaurants nearby and close to trolley and light rail transport. There is a fairly good included breakfast including hot dishes and omelets made to order which I like but my wife (who favors fruit and healthy things) finds the breakfast a little lacking. One great thing about it is that the food is served on real china rather than plastic or paper plates as happens in so many mid-range hotels. The hotel also offers a "manager's reception" every evening with cocktails, beer, wine, and snacks.

The lobby is splendid - it was a grand old hotel in earlier days, but the breakfast and cocktail party area down 2 floors from the lobby is cavernous, dark, and not particularly pleasant - a pity because with some renovation it could be a pleasant space.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gogocar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, British Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

The room was comfortable, every amenity was available. The room was very clean. Valet service was pleasant even when dealing with a tired 2 year old. I would stay there again. It was close to the train station and Saturday Market. Also across the street from Voodoo donuts although that may not have been such a good thing. Luckily there is a fitness center.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank kim d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California
Level Contributor
118 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

l stayed at this nicely restored historic hotel on Thursday through Saturday night in mid-April. I enjoyed my stay very much and will definitely be back. I took the train to and from the airport and it was a breeze, taking all of forty minutes or so each way. The stop downtown is not far from the hotel.

Check-in was handled quickly and politely. All of my interactions with staff were quite satisfactory. The room I chose was a top floor king corner suite. It was spacious, quiet, and nicely appointed. The modestly sized microwave and refrigerator were adequate for my needs, the bathroom was well-appointed with an ample supply of good towels, the wireless internet was fast, the views were great, the TV had good channel selections, and there wasn't too much ambient noise from outside. I heard nothing from other rooms during my stay.

My trip was a solo visit to tour the city sans car and it worked out really well for me. Portland is a great walking city and all of downtown, the Pearl District, and Chinatown/Old Town are close by. You can grab yourself a Voodoo donut basically across the street and head one block over for the Saturday market. The Williamette river is right there nearby. I was dieting so I skipped the food options in the hotel but I found what I needed at a Whole Foods which was only a ten minute walk away. I was also able to easily walk to the theater district to catch a show on Saturday night. I took the Best of Portland walking tour on my first day there and I highly recommend it as a good way to get acclimated to the city.

I loved Portland. It's a great city to visit without a car and just walk your way around! The Embassy Suites Downtown is a good value. Just be aware, especially late at night, that there is an abundance of street people in the area, but you're generally in the company of plenty of other tourists so I wasn't overly concerned.

Room Tip: Choose an upper floor room to minimize street noise (there is a small additional fee).
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank southwest_traveller9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

Awesome hotel! Renovated Art Deco Lobby. It was a 5 star experience at an Embassy Suites? Pleasantly surprised . Loved it. Restaurant in Lobby was top notch as well as free breakfast and room service. The staff were perfection. Loved the place!! Beds very comfortable.(we carried the queen mattress onto the rollout couch and created two exquisite sleeping experiences. We stayed 6 nights.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Daryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
177 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed here for four nights in May, 2013. The location is excellent - we walked to everything we wanted to go to, but to take the public transportation (we did not rent a car in Portland because it is so easy to go so many places in the city that a car is not needed, but rent a car if you want to go outside the city) would require only a couple minute walk to very inexpensive public transportation. This was a quiet neighborhood, but our complaint on the sleep quality is the noise from the air circulation system the hotel has. We started in one room, but as soon as we walked in we could hear the noise from the large circulation motors just outside the window, so we asked to be moved to a quieter room.. They did this very quickly and with no problems or delay. That second room was much better, probably as quiet as the hotel can be, but still there is a bit of a constant noise that bothered our sleep.

The free breakfast was excellent - hot items ( eggs, potatoes, pancakes, bacon, sausage, and omelet cooked to order) plus milk, juices, coffee, tea, muffins, hot and cold cereals, and toast & bagels. We never had problems with long lines or with finding a table in the eating area. In addition, there is a Manager's Happy Hour each evening from 5:30 to 7:30 with free wine, beer, and mixed drinks plus a few "munchies" to go with the drinks.

The suites are very large - gigantic by European standards. The bedroom is plenty big enough and the living room is about as large with a couch, chair, desk, and a small kitchen area - refrigerator and microwave oven.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tmaier69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#7 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
Downtown
Paramount Hotel
Paramount Hotel
#9 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Address: 319 SW Pine St, Portland, OR 97204-2725
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Portland
#9 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#10 Business Hotel in Portland
#10 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#14 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Portland, the Historic Embassy Suites Portland -Downtown features large two-room guest suites and a well-known foyer adorned in grandeur and architectural beauty. Built in 1912, the building combines it's original classic style and features along with modern comfort. The hotel is within walking distance of tax-free shopping, restaurants, nightlife, Portland’s revered Voo-Doo doughnuts and Powell’s books. The hotel also offers a luxurious Jacuzzi and Indoor pool for you to warm up to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown Hotel Portland
Portland Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing