We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW WOW WOW”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Ranked #18 of 142 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Orlando
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WOW WOW WOW”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Awesome hotel! Renovated Art Deco Lobby. It was a 5 star experience at an Embassy Suites? Pleasantly surprised . Loved it. Restaurant in Lobby was top notch as well as free breakfast and room service. The staff were perfection. Loved the place!! Beds very comfortable.(we carried the queen mattress onto the rollout couch and created two exquisite sleeping experiences. We stayed 6 nights.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Daryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,260
    700
    174
    70
    31
See reviews for
747
547
87
548
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed here for four nights in May, 2013. The location is excellent - we walked to everything we wanted to go to, but to take the public transportation (we did not rent a car in Portland because it is so easy to go so many places in the city that a car is not needed, but rent a car if you want to go outside the city) would require only a couple minute walk to very inexpensive public transportation. This was a quiet neighborhood, but our complaint on the sleep quality is the noise from the air circulation system the hotel has. We started in one room, but as soon as we walked in we could hear the noise from the large circulation motors just outside the window, so we asked to be moved to a quieter room.. They did this very quickly and with no problems or delay. That second room was much better, probably as quiet as the hotel can be, but still there is a bit of a constant noise that bothered our sleep.

The free breakfast was excellent - hot items ( eggs, potatoes, pancakes, bacon, sausage, and omelet cooked to order) plus milk, juices, coffee, tea, muffins, hot and cold cereals, and toast & bagels. We never had problems with long lines or with finding a table in the eating area. In addition, there is a Manager's Happy Hour each evening from 5:30 to 7:30 with free wine, beer, and mixed drinks plus a few "munchies" to go with the drinks.

The suites are very large - gigantic by European standards. The bedroom is plenty big enough and the living room is about as large with a couch, chair, desk, and a small kitchen area - refrigerator and microwave oven.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tmaier69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmdale, United States
1 review
Reviewed May 10, 2013

The Embassy Suites in downtown Portland has a gorgeous lobby, reasonable rates, and a better-than-average breakfast. The room was everything I could reasonably have wanted, and it's in a good location for work during the week and play during the weekend. A lot of interesting things are within walking distance and I'll stay there again if I go back to Portland.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Erik G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north coast of Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2013

You are a bit away from the hustle and bustle of downtown, but that's nice. It's a nice walk downtown to Nordies, Pioneer place, and all the places I like to go.

The hotel is clean and spacious. Crisp linens, clean, large bathrooms, and great room service!

Try the fruit plate!

J

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenlm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BELLINGHAM
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 5, 2013

8 senior ladies enjoyed the 2 night stayover with the friendly staff, convenient location, serve to order breakfast in a spacious area, and very comfortable beds & furniture. With our senior rate, we opted to spend the extra money for the 2 king suites with 2 extra bathrooms, which made for very "happy campers!"

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank LEA65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Great hotel.Had large corner suite that worked great for myself and 2 teenage girls.Location was perfect for our stay.Beautiful indoor pool,nice steakhouse.Service was excellent.Parking was a little pricey but expected in city.Usually stay at The Nines but will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank rryan62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

I had previously written a poor review based on customer service so bad it prevented my stay. I had to stay here for an event and was pleasantly surprised. The rooms are well maintained and updated for a hotel of this age. We had a problem with the air conditioning and maintenance was incredibly responsive. The walls are a little thin and if your neighbors are noisy you will here it, but the road traffic was not bad. The breakfast was good and included. If you go to the breakfast, remember that the line coming out the door is only for the first buffet. Pass it and go in you will find more options. The pool is clean and very kid friendly, with a tiny water fall too. There are two hot tubs. I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank localbeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Benson Hotel
Benson Hotel
#16 of 142 in Portland
2,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Dossier
Dossier
#24 of 142 in Portland
916 reviews
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#8 of 142 in Portland
1,485 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 142 in Portland
1,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Address: 319 SW Pine St, Portland, OR 97204-2725
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Portland
#9 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#9 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#10 Business Hotel in Portland
#14 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Portland, the Historic Embassy Suites Portland -Downtown features large two-room guest suites and a well-known foyer adorned in grandeur and architectural beauty. Built in 1912, the building combines it's original classic style and features along with modern comfort. The hotel is within walking distance of tax-free shopping, restaurants, nightlife, Portland’s revered Voo-Doo doughnuts and Powell’s books. The hotel also offers a luxurious Jacuzzi and Indoor pool for you to warm up to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown Hotel Portland
Portland Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing