We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Different and average”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Tambayan Restaurant
Ranked #2,627 of 4,292 Restaurants in Portland
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Asian, Filipino
Good for: Families with children
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Level Contributor
284 reviews
208 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Different and average”
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Not bad, not grand just ok. Only open till 8:00 at night on weekends. Fillapino fare which is different than most SE Asian food. More of a Indian influence. Many options to choose from. Worth a stop by if your in the area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mraschio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    3
    3
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Unclean and food is just so-so”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Last time I was here, I ordered the Daing (that's the fried marinated fish with side of fried egg and rice). I found a "dead fly" under the tail of the fish and just threw the whole thing out. I will never go back to this place. Their food is really just so-so, nothing to write home about. However, I will concede that their halo-halo is quite good and tasty.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Nemor Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Center, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“our family's experience”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

I found the service was very good, The food ok, The restaurant was clean,food was moderatly priced, it did not break us! My family and I enjoyed ourselves! We probably will return again sometime whenever the mood hits us for fillippino cuisine; Thank you very much!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 992Larry1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
177 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 326 helpful votes
“LOT OF COURAGE AND PATIENCE TO GO ON...”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

To manage a filipino restaurant and to serve the filipino community will take a lot of courage and patience in this part of the northwest...The ownership and its staff are really doing their best and trying to serve a good filipino food down to the minimal expenses without cutting corners so they can pass the savings and satisfaction to the customers...You might wait a little bit if you ordered certain foods due to preparation and cooking while you wait...They do not want to just reheat the food to serve but to serve it "fresh"...We always appreciate this place for making the filipino culture in cuisine going...The place maybe average at this time but they will get better and better...Lastly, we will definitely come back to cherished the filipino cuisine in this place...

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank anaklakay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damascus, Oregon
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“never again”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

thousands of Filipinos in the Portland area and do you know why there are not a lot of Filipino restaurants??? because the cuisine is horrible. the only 1 Filipino dish I have ever liked was chicken adobo. my wife ordered this and it was just okay. restaurant was cheesy in decor and tv was on and loud for the kids who lived there as their parents worked. Waitress never asked if we wanted drinks.... not even water. really? bunch of amateurs.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LanceM75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tambayan Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Tambayan Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing