We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Gem in NE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Firehouse

Firehouse
Reserve with OpenTable
Firehouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #390 of 4,122 Restaurants in Portland
Cuisines: Pizza, Italian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: NE Durham
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
59 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Gem in NE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have been here a few times over the years and I really can say it seems to get better each time. Last night we met some friends so we were able to order more dishes to share and try things we had never ordered. The pizza is wood fired and very good. Not the best in town but better than most pizza in Portland. The beets, Cesar salad, fried cauliflower, brussel sprouts, meatballs and two desserts that we tried were excellent. Service is consistently good. Happy hour is from 5-6pm and the menu is a good one - good selection of food and a $3.5 pint of IPA as well as a house wine. The other good thing is that you can reserve your table on OpenTable or by calling them directly. They also take walk-ins but it does get busy on weekend nights. Nice atmosphere too.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jillandamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    39
    13
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Level Contributor
252 reviews
225 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Pretty delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We saw that Firehouse was one of the top rated restaurants on Trip Advisor, so we thought we'd give it a try. We made reservations as we heard it fills up and is pretty small. The place was pretty busy and we were seated right away. Our server took a bit to get us, but did a great job after that. The wines by the glass were pretty sparse, but we made a couple of good Italian choices. We ordered a Cesar salad, the meatball dish and a pizza with sausage. The food came pretty quickly and was delicious. I highly recommend this place try. The restaurant is in the middle of a neighborhood in the middle of some renewal. The area looked a little dicey as we drove to it, but it gets nicer as you get closer.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
todos santos
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“recommended by friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

visiting from Mexico, we stayed in downtown Portland, but took a cab which was worthwhile doing. When entering the restaurant, we immediately felt "at home". A typical neighborhood restaurant, cheerful guests and a welcoming mood. The menu was well diversified and everybody found something they liked. The food was very well prepared and nicely presented, my vegetarian wife enjoyed her plate as I did my fish which was just delicious, not overcooked or overspiced - just perfectly done. The chef/owner and his crew were great hosts. Great wine selection at reasonable prices. Will return when close to Portland.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bajatraveller38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delicious dinner in a warm ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We couldn't get a table inside on a Sunday night, which turned out fine -- we ate outside on the quiet and pleasant back patio, with a simple string of lights overhead and a bit of Italianate landscaping around us. Friendly, helpful, relaxed service and every course was delicious. We chose an assortment of Italian-inspired appetizers; four different main courses, all great (pizza, gnocchi, meatballs, and steak); and shared three perfect desserts (almond cake, chocolate cake, and a fruit dessert.) Highly recommend. The combination of warm welcome, attractive setting, and tasty food made this our favorite meal in a week of great eating in Portland.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank secluded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner in nice neighborhood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Was intrigued upon reading about this converted old firestation, was delighted with the dining experience. The ambiance inside the old firehouse is just about perfect. Waitress we had was Kirsten, who could not have been any nicer or diligent with her service. Bruschetta starter was amazing with heirloom tomatoes and fresh basil. I had the meatballs and my wife had the tuna, both were prepared just perfectly. Did not have any room for dessert as the portions were quite hearty, and for the quality and quantity of food, I would say prices are very reasonable. If you are travelling to Portland, I highly recommend dining here & suggest you make reservations.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank thefeetdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Firehouse also viewed

 

Been to Firehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing