We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our go-to place for Valentines day and other family get togethers.”
Review of Firehouse

Firehouse
Reserve with OpenTable
Firehouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #373 of 4,343 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: NE Durham
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Our go-to place for Valentines day and other family get togethers.”
Reviewed February 29, 2012

First you'll see the customer cars parked end-to- end in the blocks around the place. Second you'll smell the incredible odor of herb rubbed rotisserie chickens.
downstairs or outside in the courtyard on summer days are preferred places for families and romantic couples to be seated. Upstairs they have a room for your own private event, a place we used for a mini family reunion. because it is a historic building there is not an elevator to the second floor but the main floor and courtyard are a wheelchair accessible as is the main floor bathroom.
the food is impeccable, fresh locally sourced, mostly organicm You do not want to miss the meatballs, the wood - fired roasted mussels in a skillet. they make pure and simple italian style pizzas. the desserts are exquisite and sometimes awesome.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anji E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    42
    14
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Thornton, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Excellent country Italian Food with a Wine list that is from Southern Italy”
Reviewed January 30, 2012

What a fun place. The front door is a little hard to find, but once you find it you will be delighted by the service and the food in this small little neighborhood restaurant. It was fun to sit down and notice the Italian flare to the place, and we started with a Campari and soda which was made perfectly. Then I had this wonderful Roast Pork that the Firehouse says come directly from a local farmer. It was served with greens and northern white beans. The other guests had Cod which was tender and flaky, and Hanger steak. All the dishes were excellent. We started out with a pancetta and fresh mozzarella pizza, I could not get enough of this light and flavorful pizza. We also had an excellent bottle of wine that our server recommended. Overall a great experience.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank millerfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Second time just as charming”
Reviewed November 12, 2011

My second visit to Firehouse was as great as the first! Once again, the prix fixe menu was a spectacular bargain. The salads are original, and we really enjoyed the pizza bianca (eggplant, roasted pepper). There are no fussy dishes here--just fresh, high-quality ingredients in interesting and sometimes original combinations, like the meatballs with kale. The Primitivo red wine was scrumptious. The wait staff is refreshingly unpretentious, knowledgeable and so pleasant that we'd love to have them at our table for dinner! Even though we were sated by our meal, we wanted to return the next day to try more of their dishes.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rldavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida, United States
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“If you're in a hurry, don't go here. They take their time and you'll be glad they do.”
Reviewed October 11, 2011

This place screams ambiance. A 100-year old Firehouse, converted into a restaurant complete with a wood-fired oven which fills the place with a wonderful smoky aroma. I had the three course special which gave me lots of choices and great value to boot. The food was fantastic, the service impeccable. Each course was presented individually and enough time is allowed to savor. This is not a place to go if you you rush through meals. This is a place to take some friends and spend an evening. Definitely a must-go!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Food, service, atmosphere: A triple play”
Reviewed September 1, 2011

What a surprise! Firehouse is worth the drive up to way-north Portland. The location is charming; the owners did an excellent job renovating the Dekum Street firehouse. We sat in what would have been the garage door where the old fire carriages left the building, and the setting was very pleasant. The wait staff was hip, but without a trace of unpleasant PDX attitude. The service was impeccable. There was not a single pretentious word on the menu (although maybe there should have been--the "red pepper vinagrette" was really a fantastic romesco sauce). The food was out of this world: creative, well executed dishes, and all for the prix fixe of $25 dollars for a starter, salad and entrée!

The one thing we didn't try at our table were the wood-fire pizzas. (The chef complements his Italian bona fides with a wine list that is exclusively Italian, except for one Oregon and one Washington selection.) I'll be back to try more appetizers, entrées and those good-looking pies!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rldavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Firehouse also viewed

 

Been to Firehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing