We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeds any and all expectations by miles”
Review of Hotel Modera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Modera
Ranked #27 of 140 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Eugene, Oregon
1 review
“Exceeds any and all expectations by miles”
Reviewed January 13, 2011

I went to Portland with my seven year old son to give my wife a break for a couple days. We decided on Modera and I called ahead to arrange for a few things, my son is currently big into being a VIP so I asked that they maybe greet my son with a little extra flavor and just have some fun with it, they agreed and off we went. I can't go into the details because there isn't enough room to describe how they treated my son and I. The incredible attention to detail, the fact that every single person from Modera knew about my son's wishes, the willingness to participate in the plan and most of all, the enjoyment each and every employee I dealt with displayed in making our stay utterly fantastic. My son tells everyone he meets now that he is a life long VIP at Modera and that they need to stay there. I agree and if you don't stay there you are missing out on something great, every minute you are elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swankymorty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,899 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,095
    540
    183
    52
    29
See reviews for
278
787
160
426
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2011

Liked the room and the location--close to transit and the university. Free Wifi in the room worked great. Found a great deal on the room through an online site (pretty much half price).

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tpc2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 7, 2011

From check in to check out everyone associated with the Hotel were very kind and helpful....Everyone works as a team and works with the idea that the customer is #1. This is a hidden Gem in the Portland?pearl District area!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suncentral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
2 reviews
Reviewed December 30, 2010

We wanted a quiet place to come back to and this hotel was it.
It's within walking distance to many good restaurants and the FREE tram stops right outside the hotel.
The rooms are spacious and the decor is simple and very elegant. The staff was courteous and helpful, The decor was serene and comfy. We loved that a window opened
which is rare in hotels. It was especially welcome because the temp control wasn't easy to use and it got too warm in the room. The next time we stay we'll ask for a garden facing room because the street noise in the morning woke us up. I suppose if you're there for business that wouldn't be too terrible.
The bathroom was luxurious..Italian marble and wonderful soaps. The door to the bathroom doubles as a door for the closet as it slides. This caused us to get stuck in the loo several times because the door is VERY heavy...
All in all I'd say it was a very pleasant experience and we'll definitely stay again if we're going to Portland

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thetraveler123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
1 review
Reviewed December 30, 2010

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Modera with our two young children. The staff at the valet and the front desk were courteous. We checked in and got our room keys within minutes of our arrival. The main lobby was beautifully decorated and the restaurant was already buzzing with patrons in the late afternoon. Our double queen room was spacious and the bedding was very comfortable.

The hotel is in the heart of downtown Portland. We were able to explore downtown on foot and by taking the MAX. We would definitely stay at Hotel Modera again the next time we visit Portland.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelsie316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2010

The service was great from the front desk staff to housekeeping to management. The room was as promised, a fifth floor garden view, with promised amenities, and the robes were a great touch. Mine was a king bed, and although the room is small, it was decorated well.
The hotel location was great, and downtown Portland is fantastic, if debating downtown or near the airport, stay downtown.
The fireside outside tables were great, especially with cooler weather. No onsite fitness center, but daily passes to 24/7 fitness, very large with a two lane lap pool.
Good management shows through the staff, I find no criticism to speak of with the Modera.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom0312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2010

I arrived quite early in the day, and was pleased that I was provided with a room right away - always a bonus. The room was clean, well-supplied, modern and comfortable in all respects. The windows open, and there's good WiFi. Staff I encountered were friendly and helpful. A pleasant stay overall.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seaward14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#14 of 140 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,350 reviews
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#24 of 140 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,975 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#5 of 140 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Paramount Hotel
Paramount Hotel
#10 of 140 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,170 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Modera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Modera

Property: Hotel Modera
Address: 515 SW Clay St, Portland, OR 97201-5407
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#19 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#27 Business Hotel in Portland
#30 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Modera 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The rooms are indulged with the softest linen, down blankets and a luxurious pillow top mattress. Our desk includes outlets that are easily accessible with a comfortable leather desk chair. Tarocco bath products are formulated with Sicilian Red Oranges. Amenities include high-speed wireless internet, complimentary passes to 24 Hour Fitness, iPod docking stereo, 46" LCD TVs with HD premium channels, a mini refrigerator, minibar, and an in-room safe big enough to accommodate a full size laptop. A daily Amenity Fee will be collected at the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Hotel Modera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Modera Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing