We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay at the Hotel Modera was fabulous!”
Review of Hotel Modera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Modera
Ranked #28 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 16, 2009

Just returned from a wonderful two-day stay at the Modera. Can't recommend this great hotel enough. Our room was perfect right down to the details, spacious, great bed, aesthetics, amenities. In addition, the new restaurant Nel Centro where we had two breakfasts and one dinner was outstanding, fine cuisine. The breakfast menu offered multiple choices, healthy to indulgent, and was very reasonably priced. We walked just a few blocks to pick up some Christmas gifts at Nordstroms, window shopping at some others. By the way, we took the train to Portland from Seattle and were delighted to find the street car runs right by the hotel (debark one block away) and it's free. We'll definitely return often.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joplin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,961)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Modera
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,737 - 1,743 of 1,963 reviews

Reviewed December 14, 2009

This is such a find. It has the high design and really smart lines of an expensive hotel with a very friendly price tag. From the lobby to the rooms, it is comfy and sleek and cool. The staff is super nice and there is free internet service in the lobby. The in-hotel restaurant Nel Centro, is superb for breakfast or lunch/dinner. Cannot say enough about this super hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2009

I recenlty stayed in Portland for a close friends wedding in Vancouver, WA. When mentioned this to my Executive Vice President at work, he said that I should for sure stay at the "Modera Hotel". Gotta be the best deal in town. He travels a lot for business and so do I. I have seen many nice hotels over the years and have to say that I will stay there everytime I visit the Portland.

The rooms were super hip and cool. Fresh off a renovation everything is brand new. Be sure to visit the outside fire pits. We had a group of 15 or so friends hang around the fire pits and it was totally warm. The restaurant and bar were outstanding. Can't say enough. ***Check it out you won't be disappointed. ****

Mark Stephenson
Seattle, WA

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mstephenson3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2009

I have stayed at Hotel Modera three times and have always enjoyed
the staff, service, and internet availbility and give it a five star rating.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeanieashlandoregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2009

Very nicely decorated with a great staff. The restaurant was top-notch. Good business center with free wi-fi. Loved the location- could get anywhere without a car!! Rooms small.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dp-tHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2009

I very much appreciate the cleanliness and attention to detail. The staff was enthusiastic and helpful, but not over-bearing. Great restaurant and bar for dining meant I did't have to leave the hotel (raining).

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spaslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2009

Loved all the modern art and how close it was to all of downtown. All the staff were extremely helpful and made our stay feel like it was their top priority. The restaurant attached had great food and even better drinks. Even when we came in dripping from the rainstorm outside they didn't make us feel like any less then any other guest. The modern clean rooms were very warm and inviting. It was a great stay and I look forward to enjoying a room with them again.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Imp2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Hotel deLuxe
#3 of 144 in Portland
2,824 reviews
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#26 of 144 in Portland
2,106 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#13 of 144 in Portland
1,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#4 of 144 in Portland
1,390 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Modera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Modera

Address: 515 SW Clay St, Portland, OR 97201-5407
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#19 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#27 Business Hotel in Portland
#30 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $179 - $376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Modera 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The rooms are indulged with the softest linen, down blankets and a luxurious pillow top mattress. Our desk includes outlets that are easily accessible with a comfortable leather desk chair. Tarocco bath products are formulated with Sicilian Red Oranges. Amenities include high-speed wireless internet, complimentary passes to 24 Hour Fitness, iPod docking stereo, 46" LCD TVs with HD premium channels, a mini refrigerator, minibar, and an in-room safe big enough to accommodate a full size laptop. A daily Amenity Fee will be collected at the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Modera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Modera Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing