We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Perfect spot to end a busy business day”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Modera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Modera
Ranked #26 of 139 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Arroyo Grande, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Perfect spot to end a busy business day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2009

I very much appreciate the cleanliness and attention to detail. The staff was enthusiastic and helpful, but not over-bearing. Great restaurant and bar for dining meant I did't have to leave the hotel (raining).

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spaslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,873 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,083
    535
    177
    51
    27
See reviews for
277
777
159
417
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carlton, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2009

Loved all the modern art and how close it was to all of downtown. All the staff were extremely helpful and made our stay feel like it was their top priority. The restaurant attached had great food and even better drinks. Even when we came in dripping from the rainstorm outside they didn't make us feel like any less then any other guest. The modern clean rooms were very warm and inviting. It was a great stay and I look forward to enjoying a room with them again.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Imp2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ILKLEY
Level Contributor
130 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2009

Well located if you can penetrate the Portland one way traffic systems!
Very close to excellent free public transport so you don't need your car in the city.
3 night package included valet parking.
All staff friendly & helpful.
Room adequate with all mod cons but not very big. Wi-Fi worked fine!
Very good value for money.
In hotel Italian restaurant very good too.
They have a hotel in Seattle & I would check that one out next time!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Albert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, WA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2009

This is an elegant hotel near Portland State University and the MAX line to downtown. I read reviews to select the hotel and was not disappointed. My room (single with king bed) wasn't big, but it was very comfortable. Breakfast (french toast) was outstanding. Service was excellent. I stopped by the front desk a few times to ask for directions and restaurant recommendations, and was always pleased with the helpful staff.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank idahoskp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2009

Sleek, modern, safe, clean -- and even my snobby, picky wife loves this place.

First the big "con." If you want to be in the midst of the downtown action, the Modera is a bit off-center. It's located on the south edge of downtown, which is a very nice area and adjacent to Portland State University.

But, the downtown action, Pioneer Square, etc., is about a pleasant 10-minute to 15-minute walk away.

The minor "con" is the valet parking, but if you are used to big city hotels, valet parking is nothing new to you.

Yes, it is a remodel of some budget chain, but they have done a fantastic job, modern, sleek fixtures, bright colors, a nice outdoor garden area.

Their new restaurant is also very good. My only regret is that since the restaurant opened, the Modera ended their "free" breakfast. And the hotel/restaurant has taken some hits on the high cost of breakfast in the restaurant.

During my last stay in Sept. 2009, my wife and I had superb full breakfasts for a total tab of $25. When I go to my hometown chain diners (think Denny's), our tab usually hits $20 and the food <and service> is nowhere as good. So, I can't fault the cost.

The rooms are a bit small, but plenty of room to get done what you need to do.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Timbirr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West USA
Level Contributor
149 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2009

We've stayed here twice before and it keeps getting better. The new restaurant is good...the service is excellent...bar is nice to have on site. I can only comment on breakfast and brunch...both were good. We also spent one evening before dinner around the fires outside drinking wine...very nice even on a cool October evening.

The staff at the front desk is great...very quick to take care of everything from checking you in, to charges for snacks, to providing directions and advice. We probably stopped by three times a day for something and everyone was great.

Last visit we had a difficult time getting our room made up before 5 or 6 PM. This time no issues.

Still a great location...if you are there on a Saturday am don't miss the farmers market a couple of blocks away...try their excellent local products.

In summary...inexpensive hotel with great service...attractive environment...a real value.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Western View
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
66 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2009

I believe this joint used to be a Days Inn. I think I stayed here years ago (am I dating myself?). If you look at the basic lines of the place from the outside, you can definitely see how this could be a 60's or 70's low-rise urban motel/hotel ... but the transformation of this place has taken it into a whole new realm.

Modern, chic, hip, retro ... all words that can easily describe the Hotel Modera. If you're looking for drippy, velvety, gold-leafed luxury ... this ain't your place. If you're looking for clean lines, bold colors, and interesting design, you'll love it here.

Rooms are a bit on the tiny side, but the windows are massive and pull in a lot of light (careful, those big windows are easy to see in at night ... exposing more of you than your typical hotel room windows). The bed was comfy and sheets were crisp. Overall you'll find earth tones accented by bright orange accents in the throw pillows, window coverings, and the bathroom wallpaper. Even the bath toiletries are coordinated ... they're orange in tone and made with blood orange extract (and they smell great!). The desk in the room is a bit spartan (following the theme) and the desk light was a CFL that was much too harsh for task work. A CFL with a lower lumen rating would have been a better choice. Free WiFi is too often a rarity and something I really appreciated about the Modera. It was plenty fast, too. I don't watch TV on the road, generally, but there was a nice sized LCD LG TV in the room.

The bath area is, again, compact but sufficient. The tub/shower were very clean and water pressure/temperature were great. The toiletries, as previously mentioned, were fantastic. The decor and choice of colors makes the space feel larger than it is.

There was more noise transfer in my room than I expected. I didn't mind the city noise from outside (you're in the city for God's sake ... get used to city noise). I was a little surprised that I could hear a gush of "water" through the pipes anytime anyone flushed above me (and there were a few floors above me, so you can guess how frequent this was). I could also hear, well, let's say "murmuring" from the room next door late one night.

I was a bit surprised that here, in the northwest and in the very green city of Portland, that recycling bins were not provided in the room. I understand that Portland has a comingled recycling program, but I was forced to throw away my used tissues and food scraps (not recyclable) with paper bags, receipts, and scrap notes (clearly recyclable). I told myself that somewhere deep in the bowels of the hotel, there was someone sorting through my trash and recycling what could be recycled ... but I'm also hoping to win Mega Millions someday, too.

Front desk staff were approachable and helpful. There was one particular guy I dealt with on checkout (can't remember his name ... red hair, though) who was one of the most genuinely pleasant front desk persons I've dealt with in a very long time. Valets were speedy, polite, and they always seemed like any tip I gave them was the first time they had received a tip in their life ... like they were so amazed and thankful. Kind of funny.

I dined with friends at Nel Centro, the restaurant in the hotel, and was very pleased. Selection was decent (even for this vegetarian) and the server was very polite and knowledgeable. One dish at our table didn't please us all that much and the item was comped, no questions asked, no big deal made about it. Very classy service.

The Modera is right on two streetcar lines and also on many bus routes (all free downtown). There are plenty of restaurants, shops, and services within a stone's throw of the hotel. Portland State University is right at its doorstep, too.

I've stayed in Portland many times and can honestly say that the Modera will be my first choice in the future. I just may request a room on the top floor so I don't need to hear items being flushed down the pipes.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ryan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#13 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#25 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,944 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#5 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Paramount Hotel
Paramount Hotel
#10 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Modera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Modera

Property: Hotel Modera
Address: 515 SW Clay St, Portland, OR 97201-5407
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#19 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#27 Business Hotel in Portland
#30 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Modera 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The rooms are indulged with the softest linen, down blankets and a luxurious pillow top mattress. Our desk includes outlets that are easily accessible with a comfortable leather desk chair. Tarocco bath products are formulated with Sicilian Red Oranges. Amenities include high-speed wireless internet, complimentary passes to 24 Hour Fitness, iPod docking stereo, 46" LCD TVs with HD premium channels, a mini refrigerator, minibar, and an in-room safe big enough to accommodate a full size laptop. A daily Amenity Fee will be collected at the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Modera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Modera Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing