We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Experience Portland starting with Hotel Modera-”
Review of Hotel Modera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Modera
Ranked #27 of 140 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Portland OR
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Experience Portland starting with Hotel Modera-”
Reviewed August 24, 2009

We really enjoyed the quality of Hotel Modera. Everything was first class without the huge feeling of so many other hotels. You felt taken care of rather then just put into room number 1201 on the 12th floor. The staff went out of there way to make it a memorable occaision. The restaurant on site served a unique and refreshing menu that demanded recipes that had to be taken home. Really enjoyed our stay and we will be back again!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelerPortlandOr67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,900 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,096
    540
    183
    52
    29
See reviews for
278
788
160
426
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2009

Thought we'd try something new on a long w/end out to Portland; so glad we did. The Hotel Modera was a good change. How you ask? Good downtown Portland location, hospitable & accomodating staff, convenient & available amenities (free wireless I-net & free biz center); and comfortable, although a little small, rooms. I would definitely stay at this hotel again and would recommend to anyone travelling to downtown Portland.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jazzylivin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east coast
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 23, 2009

I would recommend this hotel for anyone who is ok with their room in the 72-75 degree range. If you like a colder room at night, like I do, stay at a different hotel where you can control the a/c. Here, if the outside temp is moderate (like in the high 70's) all you can get is "ambient air" (the exact term the hotel staff used). The thermostats say the temp can reach as low at 65, but our room never got below the 70's.

Staff, restaurant, room service, courtyard, neighborhood were all wonderful. Even the valet parking was easy and efficient. If they improve their a/c I'd go back, or perhaps I'd return in a cooler season.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eastcoast_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, Ca.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 22, 2009

This beautiful hotel in the heart of Portland, OR well exceeded our expectations in all ways. It has a charm that's hard to describe, from the room itself, to its lovely courtyard and lobby. The staff was more than helpful and pleasant and friendly. We can't wait to go back. The restaurant and bar area are so charming. The menu is very nice and the food delicious. The only slight problem with the food (we ate there several times) is that the food was a little on the not warm enough side. Once the chefs get their timing coordinated in order that the food is served hot, it will be great. We will definitely stay at Hotel Modera on our next trip to Portland!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ocgal67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2009

The Hotel Modera is an trendy upscale hotel located in the heart of downtown Portland. I was in Room 517 with a nice city view. The neighborhood - just a couple of blocks from PSU Portland State University - is clean, safe, and very walkable.

The staff was friendly and helpful. Valet parking - your only parking option here - is not cheap ($20/night), but you get full in-out privileges. A call down to the front desk gets your car brought out of the underground garage to the front entrance in about 5 or 10 minutes.

You'll be within six short blocks of Tom McCall Waterfront Park along the Williamette River where you can walk for miles along the beautifully landscaped riverfront. About the same distance in the opposite direction, is the the Portland Art Museum. There are plenty of restaurants nearby.

With everything so close, you won't want to drive much. If you need to go far, there is a light rail stop a block away. Who needs a car?

I'm a travel photographer and I've stayed in all sorts of hotels. Overall, Hotel Modera was a very good experience.

PhotoCitizen.com

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PhotoCitizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
1 review
Reviewed August 19, 2009

I stayed at Hotel Modera in July, 2009 and found it to be one of the best hotel stays I've encountered in a long while. The staff is not only friendly and helpful but the hotel treats each guest as an individual. The rooms are nice, updated and clean. The atmosphere of the hotel is unique, inviting and comfortable. I will definitely stay at the Modera on future trips to Portland.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biz4FunTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens, New York
Level Contributor
205 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2009

If I had read some of the negative reviews before I booked here, I may not have come. Still, it worked out okay and I can recommend this place after all.

Looks like the prices have indeed come down for room and parking since the first reviewers posted here. Shop for the right deal. I found a good AAA rate on the hotel website (but not as good as some other tripadvisors got, apparently via prepay which doesn't allow changes, or hotwire) and their website wouldn't take my reservation for some reason (because we are 5?), so I called and a guy said he couldn't honor the good rate. I called back a day later, got someone else and she very cheerfully said she didn't know why the first guy wouldn't honor it and she took care of it. By then, this rate had disappeared from the website so this transaction was a pleasure to undertake. Now, the AAA rate is even lower on the website.

The bedding was plush. The rooms are somewhat small. The view of the street is nicely citified. The neighborhood doesn't appear scary, not even at night. The room and lobby design includes geometric lines, black garb for staff, nude sketches, coloring in mango and black and silver to shout "urban chic" at you. Although this property worked fine enough for our family, I don't think ours was the clientele they target. When I asked for recommendations for nearby sights, the front desk person didn't ask what we meant and began pointing out bars and swanky restaurants on her map.

We had to switch rooms because of a chemical smell that actually smelled similar to smoke. In the new room, there was a less smoky, but still chemical smell but the valet was so nice I didn't feel like moving again. Housekeeping was not perfect, but not terrible. You could walk a couple of blocks to the 7-11 for treats and drinks. Valet staff was prompt and very pleasant.

There is a fitness center they have an arrangement with about two blocks away. Kids can't use the pool or the facilities; they have some babysitting. My kids were tearfully hearbroken since we had called ahead and were told of the pool access and we found out only by walking in the cold to the very attractive center where we were told others had come with Modera passes and kids in tow to no avail. None of the Modera staff knew of the restriction but the guy at the front desk who took my feedback said, "Well, it is 24 Hour Fitness!" as if I should have known McDonald's doesn't sell wine. I didn't like that very much. I never heard of 24 Hour Fitness-- because I work out at home? because I'm from the East Coast? because I live in a suburb? Don't call me an idiot!

The bath products smelled unusually good and coordinated with the colors.

I didn't think the noise from other rooms prohibited sleep and I am a light sleeper. Could be I was lucky with my neighbors. You did hear from other rooms showers, TV, and doors slamming. The funny thing about the bathroom door is when I saw it at first I thought there was no bathroom door. It turned out that the sliding door that covers the closet moves to cover the bathroom. Watch your fingers! It's a clumsy door to move and then once you set it going, it flies and slams. Now you know the cause of all that slamming around you. To solve the problem in our own room, I propped a hand towel in the doorway to cushion the door's arrival. Now the door is open slightly but there's no slam.

Our faucet leaked but I didn't figure out that the puddling wasn't from splashy family members until our last night so I didn't report it until checkout.

Breakfast is not offered-- at least not obviously. There are books in the drawers that include good suggestions. Prompted by Man vs. Food show on the Travel Channel, we drove to the Stepping Stone for a good meal one morning, VooDoo Donuts for a fun meal, and Salvadore Molly's for a great selection for reasonably priced dinner.

Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank RoadTrip19Mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#13 of 140 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,353 reviews
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#25 of 140 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,980 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#4 of 140 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Paramount Hotel
Paramount Hotel
#10 of 140 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,171 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Modera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Modera

Property: Hotel Modera
Address: 515 SW Clay St, Portland, OR 97201-5407
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#19 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#27 Business Hotel in Portland
#30 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Modera 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The rooms are indulged with the softest linen, down blankets and a luxurious pillow top mattress. Our desk includes outlets that are easily accessible with a comfortable leather desk chair. Tarocco bath products are formulated with Sicilian Red Oranges. Amenities include high-speed wireless internet, complimentary passes to 24 Hour Fitness, iPod docking stereo, 46" LCD TVs with HD premium channels, a mini refrigerator, minibar, and an in-room safe big enough to accommodate a full size laptop. A daily Amenity Fee will be collected at the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Modera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Modera Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing