We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our stay at the Hotel Modera was thoroughly enjoyable.”
Review of Hotel Modera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Modera
Ranked #27 of 140 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Lake Oswego, Oregon
1 review
“Our stay at the Hotel Modera was thoroughly enjoyable.”
Reviewed May 28, 2009

My husband and I were invited to the opening of Nel Centro, a new restaurant in Portland, Oregon and we decided to spend the night downtown at the Hotel Modera. The restaurant is in the same building as the Modera so it seemed convenient, and although the opening was grand and wonderful, the real treat was our stay at the hotel. We loved it from the minute we entered the lobby, a modern light filled space with amazing local art and a courtyard that is expansive and beautiful---plants, sculpture and outdoor seating. Our room was equally impressive. The decor is modern, but also plush and inviting. Lovely appointments, and thoughtful touches seem to be a hallmark of this hotel. The staff was friendly and thoughtful and made us feel welcome. The experience was 5 stars all the way!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank airmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,898 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,095
    540
    182
    52
    29
See reviews for
278
787
159
426
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
portland
1 review
Reviewed May 25, 2009

I stayed for my birthday, was given a free upgrade in room. The rooms are quiet, clean and modern; very nice. The hotel is close to all of the shopping, and has a great restaurant in it, Nel Centro, which I highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pdxnow2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeast Wastington
Level Contributor
96 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2009

What a refreshing delight. We went to Portland to play in the city and Hotel Modera was in a great location. We parked on Friday and never saw our car until we left on Sunday. The Hotel Modera is trendy and unque, with outstanding service. Along with begin close to all transportation, the water, the Pearl District and it is still nice and quite. We look forward to returning again and again

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingCraigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
Reviewed May 22, 2009

My boyfriend and I have stayed at the Hotel Modera twice now. Once last year in August and again this year in May. Both times we have been nothing but pleased with our rooms, the service and especailly the staff. The rooms are always nice and clean and the beds are pretty big and comfy!!! The front desk has plenty of information for their guests regarding anything from where to get a great slice of pizza to all sorts of activities that one can do in the city. The location is near everything. You are close to the highway, downtown, and the transit system. However, if you are driving to the hotel, beware of the "bus only lanes" that is near it! Apparently it isn't legal to be in that lane unless you are a bus. Otherwise than that, everything has always been wonderful there. We are very much looking forward to our next visit to Portland and will definitely be staying there!!!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ptown206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
Reviewed May 21, 2009

My girlfriend and I stayed at Hotel Modera in early May for the second time and were just as impressed as the first time. The staff is very friendly and helpful for someone like my self who isn't to familiar with the city. They had great recommendations for dining and nightlife. The hotel very visually apealing as well as functional. The beds are very comfortable. The location of the hotel is great too. Easy access to downtown and public transit, to easily manuver the city.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oyshucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2009

While the Hotel Modera is a decent place in a good location, I had my engagement ring, another small diamond ring and $20.00 stolen from my wallet change purse while I was staying there. Someone actually went into my purse and into my wallet (probably looking for cash) and found my rings in the change pocket while my purse was in the room.

The hotel looked into the matter by checking the key cards and found that only two other people had entered our room during the time frame in which the items could have been stolen. But the manager vouched for the employees and decided I must have lost them, which I most definitely did not. The manager did comp our room for two nights, but I had something so much more valuable than that taken from me while staying here.

If you're going to stay here, I HIGHLY suggest you use the safe!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LoveOfTravel44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Modera_GM, General Manager at Hotel Modera, responded to this review, May 20, 2009
Dear Guest,

I am writing in response to your recent review which accuses our Housekeeping staff of stealing your personal belongings. It is very alarming and unfair that you have posted this review without any evidence. I am sorry that you are missing items that were invaluable to you.

As you know, our hotel provides in- room safes in all of our guest rooms so you are able to secure your personal belongings during your stay with us. Although our Housekeeping staff has an impeccable track record regarding guest belongings, we do still encourage our guests to utilize these safes.

I invite you to contact me directly if you wish to discuss this further at 503-484-1070.

Regards,
Desmond Mollendor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaw Island, WA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 29, 2009

From the moment we arrived at Hotel Modera, to the moment we checked out, there were nothing but genuine smiles and sincere helpfulness from all the hotel staff. Cool music wafted at just the right volume in the lobby (different selections in the rest rooms and continental breakfast room), and fabulous art adorned all the walls (including photo art in the hallways approaching the room. The room itself was pleasant (more great art), with the most comfortable hotel bed we've ever experienced with lusciously soft faux fur throw blankets. The comforts extended to a luxuriously appointed bathroom, flat screen HD tv, an alarm clock/speaker with a plug in for your iPod, and the traditional coffee maker and mini-fridge. The hotel is within walking distance of the Park Blocks, Art Museum, and Downtown. Light rail and Streetcar within blocks of the hotel connect you with areas further out (the Pearl District, the Rose Garden, etc.). There is a lovely courtyard with tables and artificial fire pits at night. A first class restaurant (Nel Centro) is scheduled to open next to/part of the hotel in May. Parking is expensive, but available, and the attendants are friendly and reliable. What we love best about Hotel Modera (after two stays) is the staff--always helpful and taking a genuine interest in you. The only negative is a very, very small one concerning the room design--a single sliding door acts as the closet and bathroom door (it's mirrored), which is a great, efficient use of space, but because it is heavy, tends to slam with loud effect when closing the bathroom side. I gladly trade that small, occasional annoyance for all of the superb positives the Hotel Modera has to offer its guests.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bebop49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#13 of 140 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,349 reviews
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#25 of 140 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,973 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#4 of 140 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Paramount Hotel
Paramount Hotel
#10 of 140 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Modera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Modera

Property: Hotel Modera
Address: 515 SW Clay St, Portland, OR 97201-5407
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#19 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#27 Business Hotel in Portland
#30 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Modera 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The rooms are indulged with the softest linen, down blankets and a luxurious pillow top mattress. Our desk includes outlets that are easily accessible with a comfortable leather desk chair. Tarocco bath products are formulated with Sicilian Red Oranges. Amenities include high-speed wireless internet, complimentary passes to 24 Hour Fitness, iPod docking stereo, 46" LCD TVs with HD premium channels, a mini refrigerator, minibar, and an in-room safe big enough to accommodate a full size laptop. A daily Amenity Fee will be collected at the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Hotel Modera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Modera Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing