We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Modera
Nearby Hotels
$316
$287
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$159
$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$142
Country Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sentinel(Portland)
$312
$186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$194
Kimpton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$214
$205
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$259
$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$261
$215
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$204
$198
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,033)
Filter reviews
2,033 results
Traveler rating
1,158
585
192
62
36
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,158
585
192
62
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshour fitnessnel centro restaurantfaux furkeller auditoriumdays innvalet parkingcloset doorportland state universityhappy hourfront desk staffrestaurant downstairsmodern hotelfarmers marketrooms are smallfew blockshotel restaurantvalet service
Filter
Updating list...
1,917 - 1,922 of 2,033 reviews
Reviewed February 3, 2009

The service is fantastic starting with the valet. The hotel lobby and all the rooms are squeaky clean. The rooms Nicely decorated with flat panel tv's, the hallways and lobby have an extensive photography collection, and the outside fire pit is a great touch. This is an upscale hotel with a personal touch.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jeff_reed8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2009

Loved it. I spent 6 nights there in early January. The hotel is beautiful, clean, well-appointed and wonderfully comfortable. It was about a two block walk to the FREE streetcar that takes you all over downtown Portland. There's no restaurant in the hotel but lots of cool places are close by or easily accessible by the streetcar. Would defintely stay there again!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dicorrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2009

Stayed two nights in this chic and very comfortable hotel with my new boyfriend last weekend. This was our first romantic getaway together, so of course it was very important that it be special and perfect - and we were absolutely thrilled with our experience at Hotel Modera.
Everything about the room was well designed and considered - from the healthy snacks that were there for us as we entered, the beautiful red orange soaps and lotions, fluffy white towels, luxurious bathrobes, and very well appointed and comfortable bed. We had a suite - and the living room was so pleasant that we grabbed the "fur" throw blanket from the bed, snuggled on the sofa/chaise and watched a movie.
The friendly, professional front desk staff never failed to smile and say hello or good afternoon as we passed by. We were always directed to excellent restaurants and things to do (convenient location to access all of these). The lobby was really a great place to sit for a while to appreciate the art (all from Oregon artists) and cool decor, and taste some great wine. It was too cold to hang out in the courtyard with the fire pits, but I'm looking forward to returning this Spring (April) when the restaurant will open.
I can't think of a reason to stay anywhere else in Portland!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank emsinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2009

Hotel Modera is a great place to stay if you can get the $99 special. It's downtown location is convenient, as you are just a block away from a streetcar stop. The nearest light rail stop, however, is about 6 blocks away (~10 min walk). The valet-only parking is a little annoying, so be prepared to pay a little extra if you drive in. The lobby is very chic looking, and there are some gas fires with modern chairs surrounding them if you want to hang out there. The rooms are very nice for the price, with very comfy pillows and a duvet comforter. The bathroom was nice, with good shampoo/soap, although I'm always surprised why hotels think that those 1/2 glass dividers will somehow keep water from splashing out of the shower onto the bathroom floor. They don't. The receptionist gave a great recommendation for a neighborhood restaurant/bar nearby, which served a mean hot buttered rum. Perfect for a cold, snowy night. The hotel was also accommodating in providing for an early check-in.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Marc D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2008

We stayed one night at the Hotel Modera. Really loved it. Very nice lobby, great room, comfortable beds, great TV, good breakfast. No complaints here. Great value and in a good location for walking around the downtown area. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingman59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews