We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“nice place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Modera

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Modera to your Saves list
Hotel Modera
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   515 SW Clay St, Portland, OR 97201 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Valet parking for $1.00!
Ranked #24 of 137 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Bothell, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“nice place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Stayed 4 nights for a business trip and loved it. One highlight was being able to sit outside by the fire on the patio and chat with my friends. Only wish we could have stayed out later - even after the restaurant closed. Would be nice to not feel like you have to order something in order to enjoy the patio. Desk staff was really friendly too. They helped me find a stumptown espresso cafe - which was high on my list of places to visit. I'd come back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Malia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    968
    462
    159
    45
    21
See reviews for
237
687
148
380
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We randomly landed on this hotel due to a Hotwire bid on a downtown hotel. The room itself was quite nice, aside from a strange sink/shower/toilet 'all in one' bathroom with very little counter space. We didn't eat in the restaurant but it had a great atmosphere, as did the hotel's public areas. The location was just fine and very close to multiple public transportation options. Perhaps not as 'happening' of a neighborhood as the Pearl District, but a quick hop, skip, and a jump from everywhere we wanted to go.

What made this hotel an exceptional experience, for us, was the phenomenal staff. Every single person we spoke to at the front desk was knowledgeable, enthusiastic, and seemed to truly enjoy sharing their city with us through their thoughtful recommendations. If I needed to hire a team to work at my hotel (okay, I don't have a hotel ... but hypothetically), this would be the one.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jrhone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, KY
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Spent two nights here on business, One of two rooms was ready at check in at 1:30.

Room is small but clean and adequate. Well stocked with towels, so no need for housekeeping unless you can't make your own bed during a short stay. You receive a $5 credit for going green.

My biggest complaint is the street noise. Perhaps downtown Portland has a high percentage of drag-racing, super-muffler muscle cars, delivery trucks and semis going through but the noise is almost deafening at morning and night rush hour. (I managed to get a good night's sleep buy drinking wine from the serviceable restaurant and combining it with sleeping pills. It was either going to end well, or badly.) Ask for a high floor.

On a positive note, the shower has good water pressure and there's coffee in the room.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gypsydoodlebug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

I stayed here for one night and I'm glad that the hotel is now dog-friendly. There is a reasonable $25 fee per stay (not per night). I appreciated the fact that there were dog bowls in the room, as well as a basket of toys in the lobby.

The front desk staff were extremely friendly.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 209 and those on either side of this room. The AC/HVAC/heating system is located directl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TorontoLeesar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

After having spent many hours reviewing hotels online in Portland, I chose this hotel based off the previous reviews and also the fact that it had an affiliation to the local fitness club and hence a pool which was a key factor in my choice - having a child who is an avid swimmer! So after a long 7 hour trip to Portland, we received our cards to go to the Fitness centre (which I received with my son next to me) and we arrived at the fitness centre only to be told that children were not allowed, even in the pool! Well, that really was a disappointment to us all. Especially since this was not conveyed to us, on the website, nor in person when checking in and getting the cards with my son next to me at reception. Might seem like a minor detail but to traveling parents who have been in the car for a long span on time, getting out and doing something physical afterwards is important. I was told that access to recreational pools downtown is very hard to come by - not sure that is really an excuse.

Otherwise, rooms were fine, decor okay, restaurant good (had dinner and breakfast).

Not sure I would recommend the hotel to friends though. I would probably look elsewhere myself.

Room Tip: High floor, away from restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smilingkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I spent one night here. The staff was friendly and helpful. The restaurant had good food. And the room was really comfortable and clean. I also appreciate a few of the details. Refillable soap dispensers in the shower instead of tiny plastic bottles that are thrown out. The minibar was totally reasonably priced. They even had an intimacy kit available which included condoms. Super smart idea! I would totally stay here again and not think twice.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Butafli80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkridge, MD
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

The location is fantastic, within easy walking distance to many popular locations. The restaurant, Nel Centro, is great and the bar area--especially outside with the large fire tables is an awesome place to enjoy a drink at the end of the busy day.

The rooms are very basic, small and not particularly comfortable. There is not even a lounge chair in the room. The bed takes up all of the usable space in the room. It is difficult to sit at the desk and work.The bathrooms are very tight and the in-room coffee service is marginal.

The staff was fantastic and the valet parking was extremely responsive.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rjdoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Hotel deLuxe
#5 of 137 in Portland
4.5 of 5 stars 2,221 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#12 of 137 in Portland
4.5 of 5 stars 899 reviews
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#4 of 137 in Portland
4.5 of 5 stars 964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#26 of 137 in Portland
4.5 of 5 stars 1,594 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Rose - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Modera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Modera

Property: Hotel Modera
Address: 515 SW Clay St, Portland, OR 97201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#19 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#27 Business Hotel in Portland
#30 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Modera 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The rooms are indulged with the softest linen, down blankets and a luxurious pillow top mattress. Our desk includes outlets that are easily accessible with a comfortable leather desk chair. Tarocco bath products are formulated with Sicilian Red Oranges. Amenities include free wireless, passes to 24 Hour Fitness, iPod docking stereo, LCD TVs with HD premium channels, mini refrigerator, made-to-order amenity basket, and an in-room safe big enough to accommodate a full size laptop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Modera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Modera Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing