We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to Stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Modera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Modera
Ranked #26 of 139 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

Hotel Modera is everything we wanted in a hotel. It was within walking distance to everything we wanted to see and do in downtown Portland. The rooms were beautiful and very comfortable. The food at Nel Centro restaurant was excellent and the courtyard lounge was full everyday especially at Happy Hour. Parking is right outside of the front door so no long walks if it happens to be raining. The staff were really friendly never missing an opportunity to wish you "Good morning" or "Have a nice day" as you passed by the front desk or when the Valets were there to open the doors for you. We will definitely tell our friends about our great stay at Hotel Modera. Great value.

Ron S.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room in this hotel. Our room overlooked the street but we didn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,871 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,082
    535
    177
    50
    27
See reviews for
277
776
159
417
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

I stayed here to attend a conference at Portland State. The price was great as compared to the other hotels in the area, and the hotel was well worth the value. The decor was clean and hip and modern. The staff was extra friendly. The rooms were a bit small but were clean and comfortable. The location was very convenient to PSU and to public transportation. It was in a good area of town. The bar in the hotel was fabulous - fire pits galore, lots of seating, good food and beverages. I loved everything about this hotel. This was my first trip to Portland, and I LOVED the city. I plan on returning for vacation and bringing my husband, and will gladly stay at the Modera again! Thank you, Modera!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank woodstock41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Modera_GM, General Manager at Hotel Modera, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Woodstock 41,

We will gladly make that reservation for you! So nice to hear about your most recent stay with us and so pleased you fell in love with Portland. Please let us know when you will be returning for vacation with your husband by contacting us at theconcierge@hotelmodera.com so that our concierge can help plan your trip be it; dining recommendations, entertainment suggestions, or preparing an itinerary for your entire stay. Also, a tip for your next booking, if you plan on driving click the Special Offer link on TripAdvisor’s website and you will get $1 parking during your stay. It’s the cheapest parking in all of downtown Portland. Thank you for taking the time to post a review and we will see you soon.

Andrew Maffei
General Manager
amaffei@hotelmodera.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

This was a great place to stay in the downtown area during the cities Rose Festival. It was within walking distance to the water front where the events were held. There are also many good resturants inthe local area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank OneRanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foster City, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

I checked in early and offered to wait until later when a room on the fifth floor would be ready. I was told they would hold it for me. When I returned later they had given it away and they lifted a hold on a room to give me one on the second floor. They compensated with a reduction in parking fee and offered to move me again the next day, ugh. I signed up for green (no maid) and they didn't have it on my bill so I had to request as I left.
Bright spots were pleasant staff, great location to walk around the city and the valet helped me puzzle my bags into my car when I left. Second floor over the restaurant on a Saturday was not great but on the street side would have been worse so net was ok.

Room Tip: Get higher floors if possible or discount on the lower floors if you are noise tolerant and/or force...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Modera_GM, General Manager at Hotel Modera, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Jan B,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Hotel Modera. We pride ourselves on our pleasant staff and our quick thinking valet team so I am pleased they were able to assist you. I hope while you stayed with us you got an opportunity to try our restaurant Nel Centro, Portland is known for being a culinary destination and Nel Centro doesn’t disappoint. Riviera inspired cuisine crafted with a Pacific North Western flair is available just downstairs or in your room through our in-room dining menu.
Best regards,

Andrew Maffei
General Manager
amaffei@hotelmodera.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Hotel. Great location for access to everything. Very clean, very busy, and very accommodating. I wasn't in town long enough to take advantage of the lounge or restaurant but I will be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

Although the hotel was clean, updated, and beautiful, the thing that stood out most was how amazing all the staff is. Everyone from the front desk staff to the concierge to the valets were always friendly and eager to help in any way. Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beardsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

Perfect location by PSU and walking distance to downtown restaurants, shopping and sites. This is an old Day's Inn but has been transformed into a hip urban oasis complete with fake fur throws and fire pits. The staff is beyond friendly and helpful!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on higher floors if you are a light sleeper as noise from street could bother you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FoodFlowerTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#14 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,327 reviews
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#25 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,942 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#5 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Paramount Hotel
Paramount Hotel
#10 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Modera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Modera

Property: Hotel Modera
Address: 515 SW Clay St, Portland, OR 97201-5407
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#19 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#27 Business Hotel in Portland
#30 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Modera 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The rooms are indulged with the softest linen, down blankets and a luxurious pillow top mattress. Our desk includes outlets that are easily accessible with a comfortable leather desk chair. Tarocco bath products are formulated with Sicilian Red Oranges. Amenities include high-speed wireless internet, complimentary passes to 24 Hour Fitness, iPod docking stereo, 46" LCD TVs with HD premium channels, a mini refrigerator, minibar, and an in-room safe big enough to accommodate a full size laptop. A daily Amenity Fee will be collected at the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Modera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Modera Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing