We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rave”
Review of Hotel Modera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Modera
Ranked #30 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 13, 2014

I adore Hotel Modera and its smart, stylish, charming, friendly staff. I've stayed there three times in the past two years and would rate it tops of my list anywhere. The rooms are mid-20th century modern with lovely amenities like a fabulous faux fur bed throw, good for cool rainy nights in Portland. The Nel Centro restaurant is wonderful with delicious meals any time of day and a terrific patio for dining under the stars or just a late night rendez vous. On a long weekend in Portland, we ate at some of the city's top restaurants and Nel Centro held its own perfectly. (But don't miss St. Jack in NW Portland!) Location is wonderful too, convenient for walking to the Portland Art Museum, taking bus or trolley to Pearl District, or catching a TriMax to the airport.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,991)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

851 - 857 of 1,991 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2014

I stay at Hotel Modera every time I visit Portland and have found it to be consistently enjoyable and comfortable. I especially love the restaurant and the friendly and professional environment and the location is very good for walking around and exploring the city and also for easy access to the major highways in and out of the city.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jbg71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Great service, super clean rooms, one of the best night's sleep I have had in years and a very knowledgeable and friendly concierge in Jonny. A 12 minute walk from Burnside but far enough away to not be in the thick of it all. Outdoor fire pits are a nice touch.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank khopz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Stayed 2 nights in this terrific hotel last weekend. The room was lovely (a garden view king) and the hotel staff was helpful,charming and welcoming. This is a great location for exploring Portland on foot and is also very close to the metro.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dadiohead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We were wanting a hotel downtown that had a modern vibe, Hotel Modera nailed it. I wouldn't want to stay any other place. The restaurant/bar was a great experience. Food was excellent for the price and service was stellar! We can't wait to come back. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nowree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We had a great time at hotel Modera. The staff was helpful and friendly. Our room looked over the garden and was really beautiful. We stopped by the restaurant after dinner and had a cocktail and amazing dessert that I am still thinking about (peach tarte tatin with ginger ice cream).

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank gracewilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We didn't get to stay at Hotel Modera due to a last-minute family emergency, however the staff was incredibly friendly and accommodating. Instead of the "well we can't do that for you" response you tend to get with many businesses, they were understanding and quick to help us cancel our reservation even though we had exceeded the cancelation policy time limit.

To me, this is a preview into the kind of customer service I can expect when I plan to stay there during a make up trip.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Matt V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#16 of 144 in Portland
1,435 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#6 of 144 in Portland
2,857 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#7 of 144 in Portland
1,643 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Modera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Modera

Address: 515 SW Clay St, Portland, OR 97201-5407
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#19 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#27 Business Hotel in Portland
#30 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $138 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Modera 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The rooms are indulged with the softest linen, down blankets and a luxurious pillow top mattress. Our desk includes outlets that are easily accessible with a comfortable leather desk chair. Tarocco bath products are formulated with Sicilian Red Oranges. Amenities include high-speed wireless internet, complimentary passes to 24 Hour Fitness, iPod docking stereo, 46" LCD TVs with HD premium channels, a mini refrigerator, minibar, and an in-room safe big enough to accommodate a full size laptop. A daily Amenity Fee will be collected at the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Modera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Modera Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing