We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Place in Downtown Portland”
Review of Hotel Modera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Modera
Ranked #26 of 141 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
SFO
Level Contributor
137 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
“Good Place in Downtown Portland”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Did a few searches for Portland hotels that had onsite parking (valet) good food and drinks with a clean modern room. Hotel Modera seemed to fit the bill and it lived up to the research. Great staff and outdoor seating in lounge area a plus. Large, well lit bathroom. Also,one of the quietest rooms (Room 519) to get some much needed sleep. Room was a bit under powered for lighting and could use an extra mirror.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WhirledTravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,920 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,107
    547
    185
    52
    29
See reviews for
280
799
160
429
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Gatos, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Although I only stayed one night at Hotel Modera, it will be my hotel choice for future visits to Portland. Nice rooms, efficient staff and good location. A contemporary, urban vibe all around. The attached restaurant and bar, Nel Centro, is a plus.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tmlgca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed February 18, 2014

This review may be biased, because I love Portland the city, the people of Portland, the food of Portland; and wait did I mention how much I love Portland? Hotel Modera was delightful. Jason at the front desk and Jonny, the concierge were awesome. Always had great recommendations. The beds were comfortable, and the hotel was very clean and hip. Never tried the restaurant downstairs, but it always seemed to be poppin. We also didn’t try any of the amenities, as we were out exploring. Although there wasn’t much to do in the immediate vicinity outside the hotel, everything we did want to do or see was walking distance or a quick, bus or Max ride away.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderlust_SP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Hotel Modera is my firm's hotel of choice, and I'm about to spend a great deal of my life here. I couldn't be happier. It's a great location - easy to walk anywhere downtown, and ridiculously well serviced by public transit options. The concierge staff have been more than accommodating on the two occasions I've stayed there to date, and give reliably good recommendations for dining that reflect authentic Portland, not "paid for by sponsor" choices. That being said, I don't feel I'm compromising if I stay or invite clients to join me in the on-site restaurant. Just like the rest of the hotel, it has a hip but civilized vibe, modern and classy decor, and friendly, helpful staff. The rooms are clean, well designed, and the only thing that's slightly challenging, but not impossible, is finding easy access to outlets for tech gadgets.

Room Tip: Some rooms might be too close to public transit/road noise for some travelers - ask to not be roadsi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Just stayed here for 2 nights. First impression: attentive valet (that's their job), friendly staff, nice contemporary lobby, and very accommodating concierge. The concierge, in fact, was extremely helpful with recommending restaurants and even leveraging some connections to make a last-minute reservation at a very desirable restaurant ON VALENTINE'S DAY. That was impressive.
The main beef I had with this place is the rooms. They are tiny. I mean, I've had bigger rooms in New York City. The bathroom is small, and has this weird sliding door that it shares with the closet (i.e. close the door to the bathroom, and you've opened the closet). There is just enough room on each side of the bed to walk around it, but little room to do anything else. No dresser to unpack your suitcase, so those just have to sit there for your entire trip, unless you want to drag it out of the closet each day. The rooms also have thin walls--you can hear more than you'd care to above and beside you.
It's pretty obvious this was a redesign of an old motel, and for that base I'd say they did a very good job reinventing the place. The staff was nice and the restaurant was pretty good too. I'd give 3.5 stars if I could, but I just can't bring myself to give 4 stars to a 4 star hotel, when the rooms were that disappointing.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JGS2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Modera_GM, General Manager at Hotel Modera, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear JGS2014,

Thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to leave a review. I appreciate you mentioning our attentive, friendly, and helpful staff, and I am thrilled we were able to help you secure a last minute Valentine’s Day dinner reservation.

During the 2008 renovation of the hotel we did our best to appoint all rooms with luxurious linens and well-appointed amenities and fixtures. While we were unable to change the original size of the rooms, many of our guests agree that they provide the class and comfort that you would expect from even a five star property.

If it is an abundance of space you seek, I would like recommend one of our Premier Suites for your next visit. It offers more than twice the space, and offers plenty of room to entertain or lounge about.

Best Regards,

Andrew Maffei
General Manager
503.484.1070
amaffei@hotelmodera.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
1 review
Reviewed February 17, 2014

What a great hotel!! The staff was so nice and helpful. Rooms are above average in size and the style of the room, hotel and restaurant was very modern and sleek. I would stay here every time.

By the way the lil snacks in the hotel aren't tripled in price they're a buck or two!!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jari91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hood River
2 reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Better for couples. We had our 9 year old daughter with us and there was no pool for her to enjoy! That's the only complaint I have. The staff was friendly, fast & efficient! Convenient to downtown activities.

Room Tip: Swimming pool should be N/A, as there was no pool. One of the reasons I gave the value an average r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jacyblu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#24 of 141 in Portland
2,004 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#13 of 141 in Portland
1,384 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#4 of 141 in Portland
2,776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Paramount Hotel
Paramount Hotel
#9 of 141 in Portland
1,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Modera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Modera

Property: Hotel Modera
Address: 515 SW Clay St, Portland, OR 97201-5407
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#19 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#27 Business Hotel in Portland
#30 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Modera 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The rooms are indulged with the softest linen, down blankets and a luxurious pillow top mattress. Our desk includes outlets that are easily accessible with a comfortable leather desk chair. Tarocco bath products are formulated with Sicilian Red Oranges. Amenities include high-speed wireless internet, complimentary passes to 24 Hour Fitness, iPod docking stereo, 46" LCD TVs with HD premium channels, a mini refrigerator, minibar, and an in-room safe big enough to accommodate a full size laptop. A daily Amenity Fee will be collected at the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Modera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Modera Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing