We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem of a Hotel”
Review of Hotel Modera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Modera
Ranked #28 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 30, 2014

This is a boutique hotel with only 5 floors located just outside of the PSU campus but within walking distance of downtown Portland. It's right on the Max line for light rail trail to anywhere in Portland. Rooms was well decorated with high end amenties, especially the faux fur throw on our bed which I fell in love with, but at a reasonable price. I happened upon this gem as a "mystery hotel" on Hotwire as was very pleased.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Atepower32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,982)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,008 - 1,014 of 1,982 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

We had a great stay at Hotel Madera. The style of the hotel is European modern and looks very sleek and functional
The hotel staff went out of their way to help us resolve some issues
The attached restaurant has very good food and great live music at night

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ASnowcat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Quaint yet upscale! Very comfortable like a warm family room with posh furnishings! From check-in to happy hour in the lounge to room service... The staff members are friendly and personable. A polished boutique hotel in the heart of downtown! Perfection!

Room Tip: Ask for Johnny at the front desk! He is very knowledgable about the area, welcoming and accommodatin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lisa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

It's so nice sometimes to get away from the chain hotels, although sometimes you take a risk, not this time! The decor was ultra modern and inviting, room was small but very comfortable and although it is located in the financial district there were some great eateries within easy walking distance. Now if only the Portland weather could be improved upon..

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sabine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

My wife and I ended up here on a Hotwire deal shortly after New Year's. The room was amazing: huge room, awesome king bed, big windows with a nice city view, immaculate bathroom. The bed was a little squeaky, but still awesome. The staff was young, energetic, and very helpful. The location is a bit out of the central area, but it's still close enough to walk to everything downtown, and if you're feeling lazy or the weather sucks, the streetcar is right there. We have stayed a quite few 3.5-4 star hotels in Portland, and I think this one has been my favourite so far!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CLandrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Our family enjoyed our stay. The front desk was very helpful and made us feel at home. The property had all of the necessary amenities. It was not in a tourist area, so it is best suited to business travelers.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lanpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We live an hour and a half drive from Portland and when we want to experience the big city with an overnight, this is where we stay. Highly recommend as a "best buy", upscale without the price tag. Pretty much everything about this hotel hits the right notes for us. Just the right amount of "city hip" without the attitude. Great service. Rooms are nicely appointed and spotless. It just feels like a splurge-y experience. Don't overlook the restaurant...you cannot beat the quality for the value and you will note the same high level of service here, too.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CateCaruso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Hotel deLuxe
#3 of 144 in Portland
2,837 reviews
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#27 of 144 in Portland
2,138 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#15 of 144 in Portland
1,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#4 of 144 in Portland
1,403 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Modera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Modera

Address: 515 SW Clay St, Portland, OR 97201-5407
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#19 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#27 Business Hotel in Portland
#30 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $153 - $362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Modera 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The rooms are indulged with the softest linen, down blankets and a luxurious pillow top mattress. Our desk includes outlets that are easily accessible with a comfortable leather desk chair. Tarocco bath products are formulated with Sicilian Red Oranges. Amenities include high-speed wireless internet, complimentary passes to 24 Hour Fitness, iPod docking stereo, 46" LCD TVs with HD premium channels, a mini refrigerator, minibar, and an in-room safe big enough to accommodate a full size laptop. A daily Amenity Fee will be collected at the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Modera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Modera Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing