We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice central location”
Review of Hotel Modera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Modera
Ranked #26 of 141 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice central location”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Across the street from the office made it convenient. nel centro restaurant/bar onsite was very good. Wish they had coffee in the lobby before 6:30am but I am an early riser. Valet's were very attentive and good with directions. I don't know about the thin walls others wrote about as I didn't hear any of the neighbors. There were no issues with my room. Very clean and modern. Daily paper delivered to room. Nice firepits outside in the courtyard. Overall a very nice stay.

Room Tip: Get on on the 5th floor overlooking the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,920 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,107
    547
    185
    52
    29
See reviews for
280
799
160
429
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

The location of this hotel was awesome, right near one of the "food truck rows" that PDX has become famous for. Also very close to the art museum and other downtown attractions. I got a great deal and the late night menu with outdoor fireplace was particularly enjoyable. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timothy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

LOVED the lobby, the restaurant and the courtyard. Did not like the paper thin walls, hearing others conversations and their trips to the bathroom. Also, because I like my own bathroom privacy, I didn't like the pocket door with the big gap underneath or the lack of a fan.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Modera_GM, General Manager at Hotel Modera, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Erin K,

Thank you for your recent patronage of Hotel Modera. I am very happy to hear you appreciated the lobby décor, the restaurant, and the courtyard, but am disappointed to hear that you experienced some issues with noise from adjacent guests. We normally are very happy to assist with room moves when requested, and we also offer ear plugs for guests that might be extra sensitive to noise. Please feel encouraged to make a request for a room in more quiet areas of the hotel at any time before or during your stay. We would be very happy to accommodate you whenever we can.

Best Regards,

Andrew Maffei
General Manager
503-484-1070
amaffei@hotelmodera.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

When I go to a nice hotel, I expect a few essentials. But places is lacking.
1. I expect to have a full body mirror in the room for getting ready.
2. I expect a shower/tub wide enough for me to stand in.
3. I expect an easily accessible power outlet next to my bed for charging my phone.
4. I expect an air conditioner that is quiet enough for me to sleep and that doesn't incessantly turn on and off.
5. I expect a nice gym within the premises without me having to walk in the freezing cold 6AM in the morning when I do my daily exercise.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Although location is a good walk to most shopping and restaurants, it is do able. Otherwise, close enough to take the light rail to most places a few minutes away. I like that they didn't have noisy ice machines. Instead, they had on each floor a nice built-in freezer cabinet where all the bagged iced were stored. The front desk were very helpful in suggesting places to eat. I highly recommend within walking distance the VQ for brunch. Overall, very satisfied and would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunnysideTempe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

The nicest part of the hotel is the walk up to the front desk and I'd imagine if the weather wasn't lousy, we would have spent some time there.
But, if you have to spend time in the room, I'm not sure I would recommend this hotel.
Now, it's possible we were in some weird tucked away room as it was a double with two queen beds but other than that, there was nothing in the room. In fact, there was about 12feet long and 8 feet wide of completely, unused area under the window. When I asked, I was told that "some of them have couches" and they could move us (should have selected this option) or they could bring something in while we were out. I selected the second option.
When we returned, there was a swivel-office chair sitting all alone under the window. It made me sad for that chair.
There was nothing else to speak of in this hotel, the bathroom was fine, boring. Everything was very clean and people were nice but I expect that of any hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SavvySeattleTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

I haven't been to any other hotel in Portland but Priceline lists Hotel Modera as ranked 1. It's a pretty average hotel to be honest. Everything you would expect a hotel to be: clean, friendly staff, good location, average/smallish size rooms.

CONS

1) The location isn't super central downtown. If you're doing some shopping I suggest you stay at the Hyatt or Niles which is right by the malls and shops.
2) The pool isn't at the hotel but uses a fitness centre's facilities that is across the street.

PROS

1) It's cheaper that most the other hotels in Portland.
2) Quiet

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fromVancouverCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#24 of 141 in Portland
2,005 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#13 of 141 in Portland
1,384 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#4 of 141 in Portland
2,777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Paramount Hotel
Paramount Hotel
#9 of 141 in Portland
1,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Modera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Modera

Property: Hotel Modera
Address: 515 SW Clay St, Portland, OR 97201-5407
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#19 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#27 Business Hotel in Portland
#30 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Modera 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The rooms are indulged with the softest linen, down blankets and a luxurious pillow top mattress. Our desk includes outlets that are easily accessible with a comfortable leather desk chair. Tarocco bath products are formulated with Sicilian Red Oranges. Amenities include high-speed wireless internet, complimentary passes to 24 Hour Fitness, iPod docking stereo, 46" LCD TVs with HD premium channels, a mini refrigerator, minibar, and an in-room safe big enough to accommodate a full size laptop. A daily Amenity Fee will be collected at the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Modera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Modera Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing