We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and great location!”
Review of Hotel Modera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Modera
Ranked #26 of 142 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Excellent service and great location!”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

My husband and I spent 5 wonderful days at the Modera hotel. We could not find a single thing that we did not like: the room was comfortable and spotless, the staff was nice, professional and always ready to assist, the restaurant menu good and with healthy choices (the breakfast waiters particularly well mannered), and the few computers at disposal in the lobby, besides the wifi, were a nice addition (we could easily print our boarding passes the night before leaving). What a pity that we were too busy in Portland and we could not take advantage of the daily passes to access the Gym (open 24/7)!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmanuelaDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,935 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,116
    552
    185
    52
    30
See reviews for
283
805
160
432
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atascadero, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We had a great time at Hotel Modera. The room was lovely, the staff excellent, the restaurant tasty, the beds cozy and the price was right! The outside patio is a nice place to sit outside and drink wine in the evening. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meg K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, CA
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Our Montana friends had met us at the Modera several times, and we had really enjoyed the experience. But things had changed there. It was obvious to us that their focus was now the business singles market. The rooms are quite small with barely room for a desk and one chair. The small conference rooms that the four of us had used to play cards in the evening were no longer available and the people at the desk were not helpful at all as far as letting us use one of the unused larger conference rooms. The food at the restaurant was not nearly as good as it had been in the past, and the fee for parking was a ridiculous $30 per night.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank milasmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Modera_GM, General Manager at Hotel Modera, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Milasmom,

Thank you for staying with us again on your recent trip to Portland. It is great to hear that Hotel Modera has impressed you enough in the past for us to have been your normal rendezvous location multiple times with friends. While we do not normally allow the use of our private meeting space complimentary, and without prior arrangement with our Catering Manager, I am happy to hear we were able to accommodate your card games during prior stays. I would like to encourage you to reserve one of our Premier Modera Suites next time you are in Portland. Not only are our suites spacious, they each have a living area which includes a table that can comfortably host a card game with friends as well.

Best Regards,
Andrew Maffei
General Manager
503.484.1070
amaffei@hotelmodera.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

I love boutique hotels...it's overall a much better experience, thats precisely it, you actually get an experience.
It started with Hannah who answered the myriad of questions I threw at her over the phone, she made my booking effortless.
When I arrived the valet staff was courteous and on top of it. Next Front Desk, Mr. Reed was on point, and situated me in a perfect room. I HIGHLY recommend getting a suite. Well worth it.

Lastly Dane was helpful as I checked out, and even doubled as a concierge as I grilled him with questions regarding shopping & an auto detailing shop in the area.
I'll be back.

Room Tip: Book a Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stevonselects
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

We visited Portland for the first time and wanted to make sure we got an authentic visit because we are considering moving to the city. The staff at the hotel were extremely helpful as we tried to experience different types of food and various things to do during the day. Brennon and JD were also able to give us a little insight into the life of a Portlandian, which really helped us decide to visit again. Hotel Modera will see us again soon.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SllKronos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed the weekend for the Portland Marathon and tried this hotel because others were full. Glad we did. The rooms are nicer than any big chain hotel. The concierge was amazing and the onsite restaurant was delicious for lunch after the race. Fantastic downtown location. In the two queen bed suite I thought the beds were a little smaller than queen but overall we were so impressed and thankful we found Hotel Modera.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weehawken, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Upon booking Hotel Modero, I was really excited and looking forward to our stay, and upon arrival everything was going as planned, the staff was helpful and knowledgeable, the rooms were clean, comfortable and playful. We had a great happy hour at the bar, with fair prices and excellent cocktails. We went out and paid a visit to places suggested by staff and all was well. We even enjoyed the outside fireplaces which were awesome. We headed up to bed around midnight and it all went downhill. We passed out but was soon awoken with the sound of partying THE REST OF THE NIGHT. And the people next door to us were PARTYING like crazy, being loud, obnoxious, and we could hear their conversations verbatim, I contacted guest services several times, but the party continued until 6am, when we were about to check out. Its kind of funny because other reviews mentioned their paper thin walls, but I didnt take it seriously, and it was a big problem. They did knock off the parking fee, but it still put a damper on our stay especially because we were only staying one night. The place is beautiful and modern with excellent amenities, however if you get stuck next to a noisy neighbor, your stay may be faulted.

Room Tip: just pray your are not next to people partying
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dfox0403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#24 of 142 in Portland
2,045 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#3 of 142 in Portland
2,796 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#13 of 142 in Portland
1,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Modera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Modera

Property: Hotel Modera
Address: 515 SW Clay St, Portland, OR 97201-5407
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#19 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#27 Business Hotel in Portland
#30 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Modera 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The rooms are indulged with the softest linen, down blankets and a luxurious pillow top mattress. Our desk includes outlets that are easily accessible with a comfortable leather desk chair. Tarocco bath products are formulated with Sicilian Red Oranges. Amenities include high-speed wireless internet, complimentary passes to 24 Hour Fitness, iPod docking stereo, 46" LCD TVs with HD premium channels, a mini refrigerator, minibar, and an in-room safe big enough to accommodate a full size laptop. A daily Amenity Fee will be collected at the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Modera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Modera Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing