We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Modera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Modera
Ranked #26 of 139 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Stayed two nights at this hotel for the marathon. Very hip & trendy hotel. Friendly & informative service. Very helpful in recommending how to get around the city, etc. Clean rooms & quiet. Easy walking distance to the heart of downtown & Portland State Univ. Nice restaurant Nel Centro connected to it.

Only have two very minor negatives and that is I could only find one accessible electric outlet in the living area and it was low under the main windows in the middle. Kind of odd. The other is that the clock radio lights lit up the room like a neon blue disco. Had to block that out.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buldoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,873 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,083
    535
    177
    51
    27
See reviews for
277
777
159
417
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
HK
Level Contributor
157 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

We only stayed one night in Portland in late September. Beautiful modern hotel and only a few streets away from downtown (close enough to walk downtown but far away from the noise or traffic). Since there were three of us, we stayed in a suite which was quite nice and spacious. Love the fire pits in the bar area. Pricing was reasonable. You get a 10% discount if you are a member of AA or BCAA. What I didn't like was the valet parking - they have parking facilities but has to be valet. Price reasonable but prefer to park ourselves. There are plenty of parking facilities near by the hotel. We only paid US$14.95 from 6pm to 12noon the next day.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank World_explorer_HK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
337 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Large, modern, well-equipped rooms. Pricing is reasonable and service is first-class. Restaurant food is very good, especially for a hotel restaurant.

Ok location for accessing Williamette Valley, north towards Seattle and west to the nearby Oregon coast.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank packcal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

Stayed 3 nights in September and was greeted by very friendly staff and nice comfortable (although a bit small ) room. Also we checked out the bar/restaurant one evening before dinner and it was just fine for a drink. The location is very good for walking to dinner and all spots in the downtown area. The Williamette Valley winery region is also a short 30 minute drive....beautiful and not to be missed". Great city with very friendly folks who know their food and wine . For the price, Hotel Modera is excellent and we will go back when in Portland.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lantacpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Loved the service, common spaces, and decor. However, the rooms and bathrooms feel a bit cramped, and the location isn't quite as central to the prime downtown PDX shopping/entertainment, yet is still walkable (plus the light rail is around the corner).

It's still a great place to stay if one's looking for a clean, modern boutique hotel with great service. Just be

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank han1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

When we first arrived we were greeted in our car immediately. Our luggage and our car were taken care of. From there on out we were pampered and spoiled. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms were a so nice and the bed was the best. We loved the experience and would stay again anytime we get to Portland. The location was outstanding as well. We will be back.

Room Tip: We were overlooking the courtyard and it was very quiet and so nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank becyoung1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

On holiday from the UK. We found this a well located hotel, spotlessly clean with welcoming staff. Breakfast is ok but not one of the best we had in our three weeks in Canada and the US. Wifi a bit flaky. Able to get to various places easily including the waterfront.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsmills55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#13 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#25 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,944 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#5 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Paramount Hotel
Paramount Hotel
#10 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Modera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Modera

Property: Hotel Modera
Address: 515 SW Clay St, Portland, OR 97201-5407
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#19 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#27 Business Hotel in Portland
#30 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Modera 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The rooms are indulged with the softest linen, down blankets and a luxurious pillow top mattress. Our desk includes outlets that are easily accessible with a comfortable leather desk chair. Tarocco bath products are formulated with Sicilian Red Oranges. Amenities include high-speed wireless internet, complimentary passes to 24 Hour Fitness, iPod docking stereo, 46" LCD TVs with HD premium channels, a mini refrigerator, minibar, and an in-room safe big enough to accommodate a full size laptop. A daily Amenity Fee will be collected at the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Modera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Modera Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing