We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Staff, Pleasantly Furnished” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Modera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Modera
Ranked #26 of 138 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Staff, Pleasantly Furnished”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

This hotel takes customer service very seriously. My partner and I arrived a few hours before check in, but the woman behind the front desk saw to it that we were in our room within 15 minutes. I joined my partner after his business lunch in the hotel restaurant the next day. My partner had already paid the bill and was doing business. Without skipping a beat, the waiter showed up with a large glass of water for me. It was 92 degrees outside. That evening I stopped in the restaurant/bar for an espresso. The restaurant was busy, but served the coffee quickly. The hotel is decorated nicely. Some of the whimsical touches made me think of a Kimpton. I would have given this place a 5, but the rooms were a bit small. That said, I'd certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mdm8360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,857 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,074
    530
    176
    50
    27
See reviews for
275
772
158
412
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alamo, California
Level Contributor
163 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Based on reviews we prepaid $215 on Expedia. There was not much else available anyway. Civilized joint. Polite, efficient and hip staff. Totally easy stay. Definitely would stay again. Had to turn loud AC off which was not a problem. Room tight. Very attractive outdoor patio. We walked 1.2 miles through down town to Andina to eat. Easy stroll through a handsome city. Parked on street and fed meter at 6.00 a.m. should have used $22 valet maybe.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BobOxenburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
92 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

We love this hotel! It's our second visit, this time with our 19 month old daughter. The room was a bit snug but still just as fab as we remembered. It's the only hotel on our two week road trip that set-up a pack and play for her when they saw we were arriving with a toddler in tow. Really lovely and thoughtful.

All the details are beautiful in both the public and private spaces, high design and yet extremely comfortable. The restaurant is fabulous and all the staff were attentive and well informed about ingredients and the fantastic wine list.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristinafromNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel-Aviv
Level Contributor
78 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

My husband and I just spent two nights at the modera

Pros:
Big Clean room
Very nice staff
had a bottle of wine waiting for us when we arrived
Toiletries are amazing

Cons:
The AC is so noisy it woke us up a few times
We found the city to be a bit disturbing. Every time we went out we were harassed by pan handlers. I read about Portland having a high unemployment rate, but this felt disturbing and unsafe.

In short, if the AC is fixed the hotel itself is great, but I'm not sure I'll be returning to Portland any time soon.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ayaarlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

We only stayed at the hotel for 2 nights - the first night was loud; the room was right outside a bus stop, and the buses ran until 12am. I was sort of used to this by the 2nd night and earplugs helped. There is a $27 fee to valet your car, and they park it on the street; the one time that we forgot to tip the valet, he gave us a reminder by commenting loudly to his co-worker, "we really need to pick it up on the tips tonight".

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VicSu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Modera_GM, General Manager at Hotel Modera, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
VicSu,

We wish we had a little more control over outside noise, but as a downtown urban hotel there are some city noises we cannot buffer. I’m glad the earplugs we offered were able to help with the noise. I would like to recommend reserving a Premier Garden King on your next stay, as it faces our courtyard and garden and is offset from the street noise. In regards to comments you heard from our valet, I would like to encourage you to contact me directly to discuss this event.

Best Regards,
Andrew Maffei
General Manager
503-484-1070
amaffei@hotelmodera.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

We spent 3 nights at the Modera which were an absolute pleasure.

Checkin was a quick and the staff were very friendly offering to provide transport and dining suggestions. Our modern and clean room overlooked the restaurant patio. The room was small but adequate for a few nights stay, filled with lovely furnishing and art work. The bed was very comfy with nice linens, we never heard any noise from outside our the other other room and hallway.

Breakfast was not included in the rate but we ate in the restaurant both mornings, I highly recommend doing this.

We also sate on the patio for happy hour which was fantastic, great prices for both quality food and drink.

My only complaint is the valet parking rate, which is quite pricey compared to the parking garage rate in Portland.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank AU_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Hotel Modera was very nice. Our stay was August 28 & 29. I hadn't been to Portland before so didn't know the area - I think if I were to stay again, I might prefer something further north downtown or the pearl district but the transportation options abound in this area so it wasn't an issue. Staff were really great, and very helpful. They asked us if there was anything we wanted to find, etc right at check-in and the couple times we popped by with questions, they were very pleasant and helpful. It was nice to be greeted that way.
The room (city view) was really nice and clean - we did find the A/C to be kind of useless. We had it set to 65 the whole time and there's no way it was actually at 65. We were cooking hot during the night. It wasn't worth asking for a different room because we were only staying 2 nights and had bounced around every night prior so we were happy to just stay in one place. So we just stuck it out! When we were checking out, we mentioned to the staff that our room had a strong smell of cigarette smoke as well. I could smell it the second we opened the door. We are both non-smokers so that was unpleasant for us but again, we didn't want to be moved at that point!
The hotel restaurant was disappointing for us. We went for a cocktail after having dinner out. The restaurant was completely dead and our 2 drinks took at least 20 minutes to get to us! The server was embarassed but nothing was said or offered to make up for it. So we just paid our bill and moved on. It's a bummer, because we had heard great things about the happy hour.
All in all, our stay was very nice!! The price point was a bit steep for us but we were booking last minute so we didn't have that many options. I would love to visit Portland again, there is SO much to see and do, and the cuisine was excellent (we went to Clyde Common, Departure, Portland City Grill- amazing happy hour there - Stumptown, Deschutes, Rogue, Bailey's Taproom... seriously, no shortage of yummy options).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#15 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,275 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#4 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,675 reviews
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#25 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Paramount Hotel
Paramount Hotel
#8 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Modera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Modera

Property: Hotel Modera
Address: 515 SW Clay St, Portland, OR 97201-5407
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#19 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#27 Business Hotel in Portland
#30 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Modera 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The rooms are indulged with the softest linen, down blankets and a luxurious pillow top mattress. Our desk includes outlets that are easily accessible with a comfortable leather desk chair. Tarocco bath products are formulated with Sicilian Red Oranges. Amenities include high-speed wireless internet, complimentary passes to 24 Hour Fitness, iPod docking stereo, 46" LCD TVs with HD premium channels, a mini refrigerator, minibar, and an in-room safe big enough to accommodate a full size laptop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Modera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Modera Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing