We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Less is More”
Review of Hotel Modera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Modera
Ranked #28 of 142 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Less is More”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Design and decor is tres cool.
Staff is very attentive.
Restaurant is very good; with a nice happy hour.
Beds are extremely comfortable.
Good downtown location.
Only real drawback is the cramped rooms, especially if you have a double. Two people and one queen bed would probably be OK.

Room Tip: Avoid doubles; simply not enough room for more than one bed / two people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rambler391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,946 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,118
    555
    187
    55
    31
See reviews for
286
808
161
434
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed here for first time was very impressed with rooms and service. Loved the outdoor fire pits for relaxing with a drink in the evening. Will definitely stay again. Staff was very helpful and informative with tourist attractions and travel lines.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kslocum13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Modera_GM, General Manager at Hotel Modera, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review! I’m thrilled you had a great time and will stay with us again! We certainly look forward to having you with us on your next trip to Portland!

Best Regards,
Desmond Mollendor
General Manager
503.484.1084
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Girlfriend weekend enhanced by great customer service ... Nice restaurant. Jonny at front desk was particularly helpful. Comfy rooms. A little off the beaten path, though, and a little pricey. But the parking valet even got in the car to go over directions with us when we were leaving. They seemed to genuinely care about the customer. Off-site exercise And swim facility not always available as advertised.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie4971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wyoming
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed for two nights for a Portland conference. Very much enjoyed the location, vibe of the hotel, and exceptionally friendly reception staff. The hotel has a positive feel and design. The outdoor courtyard area makes for a great entrance and fun place to catch a drink or socialize. The rooms are nicely decorated and spacious enough to navigate. Having stayed on the other side of the building before I found the rooms to have good natural light and relatively quiet (courtyard can be louder with an open window). There are a variety of sites and restaurants that are within reasonable walking range or the MAX is right out the front door to ride downtown in 5-minutes. The team at the hotel has been nothing but generous and friendly during every request I have made.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willsummit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Modera_GM, General Manager at Hotel Modera, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Modera while staying in Portland recently! It is with pleasure to hear that you found many aspects of our hotel and your stay to your liking! We hope to have you with us again soon!

Best Regards,
Desmond Mollendor
General Manager
503.484.1084
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Your stay begins as soon as your cab pulls up to the curb. The valet takes your bags, places them on a cart and escorts you to the front desk for check in. He waits patiently as you are given your card keys and then takes you to the elevator where he begins to introduce you to the Hotel Modera. Inside your room, he explains the electronic signals for privacy or room cleaning. Finally he warns you about the impossibly heavy door that slides over the closet and bathroom. A wonderful use of space I thought. Just watch you fingers and toes and you'll be fine. The hotel has big windows and my room faced an office building acroos the street so it would be great for travelling exhibitionists! I recommended this hotel to my 27yr. old nephew, he will love it.

Liked: Slow closing toilet(cool). Marble floors and tiles in bathrooms, good quality water, electronic do not disturb/privacy/housekeeping signs, good minibar snacks at reasonable prices, modern decor. Very good Italian/New American restaurant attached to hotel(El Centro). Across the street, food vendors serving delicoius thai, vietnamese and greek cuisine.

Dislikes:No microwave available so my food went bad (I hate that). Mini fridge was too small; there is too much good food in Portland not to bring back to the hotel.
Not enough drawers for my drawers. You might be uncomfortable staying more than 3-4 days.

Despite my dislikes this was my second favorite hotel that I have ever stayed in (Viceroy Miami #1) and would stay again...now if they would just let me use the firepits to heat up my leftovers.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertDean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calabasas, CA
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We have been to Portland several times and decided to try a new hotel closer to downtown. We usually stay at the Marriot near the river. I agree with other reviewers on staff attentiveness. However, the rooms are extremely small, have one dangerous, heavy door that closes over the closet and bathroom. No special amenities as advertised. Coffee pot still the same type as every other hotel ..try to make tea without it tasting like coffee.. no tea pods just tea bags which do not work in this brewer, power strip wouldn't be needed if other outlets were not covered. Having stayed in several boutique hotels this one in no way offered anything special.
As for location. I requested a place to get a cup of tea -- it was like asking for a million dollars. Staff at front desk did not know of any place and the one place they did send us to was closed (this was 7:00 in the evening). This hotel is near a lot of buildings with restaurants that close when workers go home! Also, not convenient to downtown unless you have a car and the parking was horrendous. We will choose a hotel closer to actual downtown or back to the river area before staying here again. Forgot, beds are nice if you can sleep over the noise from the restaurant or through the walls next door.

Room Tip: Stay in a hotel in Downtown area not "near" downtown area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lucy6232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Modera_GM, General Manager at Hotel Modera, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Modera on your recent trip to Portland. I am very sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied with a number of aspects during your stay.

We are located downtown in the central business district adjacent to Portland State University and only a few blocks to both the Keller Auditorium and Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall. While some of the businesses in the immediate vicinity cater mainly to the office buildings located nearby, we are a short five block walk or light rail ride to Pioneer Square which is the center of downtown. We do also offer overnight valet parking to our guests at a reasonable rate. Our nightly parking rate is on the lower spectrum for comperable hotels in downtown which is $27 per night.

In regards to the special amenities you are referring to, I don’t think I understand. We do offer all amenities we advertise so I’m not exactly sure what you were expecting.
We understand that it is impossible to please everyone, and perhaps we were not the right fit for you. Thanks again for trying us out.

Best Regards,
Desmond Mollendor
General Manager
503.484.1084
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights just recently! It was everything the other advisors shared. Very conveniently located! Very helpful staff! Very comfortable beds and rooms! There is an excellent restaurant connected with the hotel that we used for breakfast serveral times. You can get anything from a la carte items which makes for an inexpensive but yummy breakfast.
We stayed here and used a combination of cabs and public transportation which were both inexpensive compared to the DC area! We also took two tours and were able to be picked up and returned to the hotel by the tour company. You really don't need a car here in Portland!

Room Tip: This is a city so there is some street noise hear in the room. We did not find this bothersome! If y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachbums87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#25 of 142 in Portland
2,074 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#3 of 142 in Portland
2,809 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#14 of 142 in Portland
1,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#4 of 142 in Portland
1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Modera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Modera

Property: Hotel Modera
Address: 515 SW Clay St, Portland, OR 97201-5407
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#19 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#27 Business Hotel in Portland
#30 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Modera 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The rooms are indulged with the softest linen, down blankets and a luxurious pillow top mattress. Our desk includes outlets that are easily accessible with a comfortable leather desk chair. Tarocco bath products are formulated with Sicilian Red Oranges. Amenities include high-speed wireless internet, complimentary passes to 24 Hour Fitness, iPod docking stereo, 46" LCD TVs with HD premium channels, a mini refrigerator, minibar, and an in-room safe big enough to accommodate a full size laptop. A daily Amenity Fee will be collected at the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Modera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Modera Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing