We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Modera is great choice in Portland!”
Review of Hotel Modera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Modera
Ranked #28 of 142 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
MD
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Hotel Modera is great choice in Portland!”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights just recently! It was everything the other advisors shared. Very conveniently located! Very helpful staff! Very comfortable beds and rooms! There is an excellent restaurant connected with the hotel that we used for breakfast serveral times. You can get anything from a la carte items which makes for an inexpensive but yummy breakfast.
We stayed here and used a combination of cabs and public transportation which were both inexpensive compared to the DC area! We also took two tours and were able to be picked up and returned to the hotel by the tour company. You really don't need a car here in Portland!

Room Tip: This is a city so there is some street noise hear in the room. We did not find this bothersome! If y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachbums87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,946 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,118
    555
    187
    55
    31
See reviews for
286
808
161
434
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kirkland, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

The boutique hotel is modern and chic in downtown Portland. Close to all the business, yet a fun and spunky hotel, especially in the evening on the large terrace with open firepits. Happy Hour was a blast!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcclungp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Modera_GM, General Manager at Hotel Modera, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Modera for your recent trip to Portland, and thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay! We look forward to having you with us again on your next trip to Portland!

Best Regards,

Desmond Mollendor
General Manager
503-484-1084
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel a number of times over the past few years including several just in the last 7 months. I love this place! It has a wonderful boutique designer feel leaning heavily to a mid-century modern aesthetic. The rooms are clean, comfortable and have great amenities. The staff are always extremely friendly and knowledgeable. If the weather is agreeable, the spacious fire pit area outside is a wonderful place to spend a little time in the evening. The value here overall is amazing compared to other hotels in the area offering a similar experience. The Modera is hands down my "go to" place when I am in Portland.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dalec02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I stayed at the Modera one night and found the beds comfortable and staff was very friendly but that was about it. For the price I was hoping for a bit more. My room was located above the courtyard and when I went to my room for the evening to relax I found I could clearly hear the guests talking who were dinning in the courtyard. At first I thought my window must be open but no, it was that I couldn't do anything to buffer the noise and closing the curtains didn't help. The hotel is busy on the weekend and you can basically hear everything including your neighbors.

I dined in the courtyard and the food was ok but one person in my group found hair in her food, yuk. Also they was only one server so service became very slow as it became busy. So try the courtyard restaurant for drinks but not diner.

The next morning I tried to iron something and the iron provided would not heat up and also leaked water on the dress I was attempting to iron. Very frustrating!!

Nice hotel, decent decor, but no privacy or quiet time.

Room Tip: Don't choose a room facing the courtyard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MBLACK65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Modera_GM, General Manager at Hotel Modera, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Modera on your recent trip to Portland. I am pleased that you found your bed comfortable and our staff friendly. However, it is with regret to learn that we did not exceed your expectations during your stay with us. This is not the common experience and I am sorry that we fell short with you.

We do partner with Nel Centro restaurant that leases the patio for restaurant patrons. While we cannot control the noise level of these guests, we do stop all music and turn down the patio music volume promptly at 10pm so that the noise transfer to guest rooms is minimal. I suspect you were on the lower level directly above some noisy patrons. I am sorry that you experienced some noise transference of their conversation to your guestroom.

It is also with regret to hear that your friend seemingly found hair in their food. While the Hotel Modera has no control over the food that is served by Nel Centro, we do stand by their quality and food handling practices. I know, as I‘m sure you do too, that it is not totally uncommon for hair to somehow find its way into food in any restaurant. For this I apologize. I assume that you brought this error to the attention of your server and that your food was re-prepared.

Thanks again for choosing Hotel Modera. I hope that this experience won’t keep you from staying with us again, and we hope you allow us the opportunity to show you what the common Hotel Modera experience is really like.

Best Regards,
Desmond Mollendor
General Manager
503-484-1084
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I spent last week in downtown Portland and could not have been more pleased with the Hotel Modera. Clean, modern, quiet, good food, and the most friendly, knowledgeable staff - lots of suggestions of what to see and how to get there. They obviously loved their city as much as I did. This hotel is right on the transportation lines and is within easy walking distance of lots of good places to eat.

Room Tip: Ask for a City view -- wonderful view looking North into the City.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Marsha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Modera_GM, General Manager at Hotel Modera, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Modera on your recent trip to Portland and thank you for leaving this excellent review! We try our best to impress every guest that stays with us, and I’m thrilled that our efforts did not go unnoticed. I am very happy to hear that you found your guestroom clean and quiet, and our staff friendly and helpful. We look forward to having you with us again on your next trip to Portland.

Best Regards,
Desmond Mollendor
General Manager
503-484-1084
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapolei, Hawaii
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Very nice hotel! Clean, new, and very modern. Room was very comfortable. Excellent service and friendly employees. Nice bar/restaurant (Nel Centro) attached with fire pit outside. Easy to walk to restaurants. Public transportation close. When we go back to Portland, we'll stay here again. Mahalo!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CESMMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

This review of the Hotel Modera is a little overdue as it's my favorite hotel when my partner and I come to town to run in the Portland Marathon. The last time we stayed at the Hotel Modera was October, 2012, but we choose Hotel Modera every time we visit Portland. It's a perfect Marathon hotel (close to the Marathon Expo in a generic high rise hotel close to the Modera) and close to the start and finish of the Marathon. It's also a perfect hotel for exploring Portland...walking distance to Portland State (which has certainly changed since I graduated from there 25 years ago!), Downtown, Powell's Bookstore, The Pearl, the Food Trucks, Old Town and two blocks away from the MAX. If you're driving, the Modera is centrally located to all the freeways so you can access fun stuff in the Portland area. Super friendly staff, great lobby and room decor and the restaurant and bar on site is delicious. We'll be back for the Marathon!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janeanne24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Modera_GM, General Manager at Hotel Modera, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with Hotel Modera and thank you for taking the time to review your stay! No excellent review is ever overdue! I am thrilled you found our location convenient and our staff friendly. We hope to have you with us again for the next Marathon!

Best Regards,
Desmond Mollendor
General Manager
503.484.1084
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#25 of 142 in Portland
2,074 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#3 of 142 in Portland
2,808 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#14 of 142 in Portland
1,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#4 of 142 in Portland
1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Modera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Modera

Property: Hotel Modera
Address: 515 SW Clay St, Portland, OR 97201-5407
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#19 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#27 Business Hotel in Portland
#30 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Modera 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The rooms are indulged with the softest linen, down blankets and a luxurious pillow top mattress. Our desk includes outlets that are easily accessible with a comfortable leather desk chair. Tarocco bath products are formulated with Sicilian Red Oranges. Amenities include high-speed wireless internet, complimentary passes to 24 Hour Fitness, iPod docking stereo, 46" LCD TVs with HD premium channels, a mini refrigerator, minibar, and an in-room safe big enough to accommodate a full size laptop. A daily Amenity Fee will be collected at the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Modera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Modera Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing