We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great boutique hotel in the centre of Portland”
Review of Hotel Modera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Modera
Ranked #28 of 142 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
sydney
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great boutique hotel in the centre of Portland”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

A nice reasonable small hotel (not high rise) in a great location, good value with easy access to the CBD, and Portland State University. The accommodation was very modern, very clean, and especially quiet.The reception staff were pleasant, helpful, and cheerful. The door staff were helpful, but not intrusive or overbearing as in many CBD hotels. They were genuinely wanting to help, not urging for a tip at every moment which is a criticism of many staff in CBD hotels. I strongly recommend the Modera Hotel to anyone coming to Portland.

Room Tip: Request a room on the Second or higher floor to ensure a quiet sleep, away from the lifts which seem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pittjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,946 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,118
    555
    187
    55
    31
See reviews for
286
808
161
434
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

There was black mold along a baseboard and in a toilet of our room. I expect that as a resident of the Pacific Northwest, yet I have never seen it before or since in a hotel anywhere. The bathroom doors are on tracks that are very noisy, and I was startled repeatedly by neighbors above, below, and on each side slamming theirs repeatedly. I loved the location but found the design flaws and uncleanliness to be issues at their price point.

The lobby is also outrageously and absurdly euro-trashy, and all the furnishings look thoroughly whooped.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CookeeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Modera_GM, General Manager at Hotel Modera, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Modera on your recent trip to Portland. I am sorry to hear you had a less than perfect stay with us. Guest comfort is our top priority, and it is with regret that you experienced some noise transference and found your room to be less than perfectly clean. Our walls and floors are made of concrete and it’s usually the most sensitive of guests that are disturbed by the small levels of noise transference.

If you don’t mind, I would like for you to contact me directly so that I might learn which room you were in. We just finished our annual deep clean and preventative maintenance of every guest room, and I want to confirm the uncleanliness issues you mentioned. I find these issues hard to believe as our guestrooms don't have base boards and our Housekeepers, Inspectors and Housekeeping Managers are in every room daily making sure all room is in tip-top shape. But, like the old adage says, trust but verify. So, please contact me at your earliest convenience to discuss further as I am eager to confirm your findings.

Best Regards,
Desmond Mollendor
General Manager
503-484-1084
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Four wonderful days in Portland started with a wonderful welcome from the valet parking staff. It didn't stop there, the entire staff was friendly and helpful. Whenever we asked for directions we received excellent directions from whomever we asked. The decor and architecture of the hotel and restaurant were exceptional. Clean and functional. We overlooked a busy commercial street from the third floor and hardly heard a sound.

Room Tip: The site planning for the hotel was excellent so any room should serve anyone well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SAMUEL M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Modera_GM, General Manager at Hotel Modera, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Modera on your Recent trip to Portland. I’m very pleased to hear you had a great stay! Come back soon!

Best Regards,
Desmond Mollendor
General Manager
503-484-1084
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PNW
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Hotel Modera has been our hotel of choice in Portland for the past five years or so.

Love the Modera's sleek, modern decor - very reminicent of small European boutique hotels. The rooms are always immacculate, the beds are comfortable and the windows open for fresh air. Staff are always friendly and helpful (BTW, thanks for the complementary upgrade to a suite!). The hotel's location is perfect for visiting students at PSU and is easy walking distance to restaurants, shopping, and cultural events. The light rail is nearby as well. There's a restaurant/bar on premises - Nel Centro - that's pretty good. There's a nice central courtyard with firepits and they often have jazz on the weekends.

Highly reccommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marywileydore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Modera_GM, General Manager at Hotel Modera, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your continued patronage of our Hotel! I’m very happy to know that you like the décor of the hotel, find our rooms clean and comfortable, and our location convenient! We look forward to hosting you again on your next trip to Portland!

Best Regards,
Desmond Mollendor
General Manager
503-484-1084
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenbank
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Modera was priced lower than other nice downtown hotels-and what a value- room was pretty, clean, the staff were super friendly--will stay again. Parking was extra which is the case every downtown hotel- beautiful outdoor space and lovely Italian resturant

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PurrPurr42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We are visiting Portland frequently because our daughter and her husband live there. The city is always a treat and we happily discovered Hotel Modera, last weekend. It is as cozy as it is attractive. Although it's been open 5 years, it feels sparking new. The decor is mid '60s modern with lovely touches of painted and photographic art. The staff is young, friendly and knowledgeable, happy to help with directions or suggestions of restaurants and activities. And don't miss the Nel Centro restaurant, located in the hotel, The food is amazing -- a standout, even in a food lover's city like Portland -- and it's well priced. Everything about our stay at Hotel Modera was delightful.

Room Tip: A gem of a hotel. Take time to see the art on each floor and don't miss the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slappymurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Modera_GM, General Manager at Hotel Modera, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Modera on your recent trip to Portland. I’m happy to hear you liked the décor of the Hotel and found our staff friendly and knowledgeable. It’s also with pleasure to hear you had the opportunity to dine at Nel Centro and had a great experience there as well!

We look forward to hosting you again on your next trip to Portland!

Best Regards,
Desmond Mollendor
General Manager
503-484-1084
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I was lucky enough to stay at the Hotel Modera this last weekend and thoroughly enjoyed my experience. From the valet, to the front desk staff, everyone I encountered were genuinely nice, caring and helpful. The rooms were clean, functional and stylish. The public areas were modern, open and vibrant. We also had an early dinner there, sitting at the bar, we enjoyed an Oregon Pinot and the artisan pizza of the day, yum! When I checked out the next day, I stumbled by a group of musicians staying there and treating us all to a surprise acoustic session, totally unplanned. Cool things like this happen and places like this, it just attracts the right kind of people. When I find the opportunity to visit Portland again, I will undoubtedly stay at the Hotel Modera.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EscapeArtistNW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#25 of 142 in Portland
2,074 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#3 of 142 in Portland
2,809 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#14 of 142 in Portland
1,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#4 of 142 in Portland
1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Modera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Modera

Property: Hotel Modera
Address: 515 SW Clay St, Portland, OR 97201-5407
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#19 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#27 Business Hotel in Portland
#30 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Modera 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The rooms are indulged with the softest linen, down blankets and a luxurious pillow top mattress. Our desk includes outlets that are easily accessible with a comfortable leather desk chair. Tarocco bath products are formulated with Sicilian Red Oranges. Amenities include high-speed wireless internet, complimentary passes to 24 Hour Fitness, iPod docking stereo, 46" LCD TVs with HD premium channels, a mini refrigerator, minibar, and an in-room safe big enough to accommodate a full size laptop. A daily Amenity Fee will be collected at the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Modera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Modera Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing