We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything Was Perfect!”
Review of Hotel Modera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Modera
Ranked #31 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We spent two nights at the Modera. Everything was perfect, from check in to check out. The king bed was firm and very comfortable, and the bedding was great. We were on the 4th floor and it was very quiet at night--didn't even notice the street noise. The cleaning staff was friendly and diligent. Anywhere in DT Portland you will pay a steep price for parking, but the Modera valet staff made it easy and well worth the $27/day fee. There was never a wait of more than just a couple minutes for the car. The Modera is within easy walking distance of almost everything in Portland, and only a couple blocks from the very fun food cart row right by Portland State University. The ONLY downside is that the rooms are fairly small, without a couch/love seat and limited drawer space. We got room service one night and the food came quickly and was delicious. Again, everything about this hotel screams great value for the very reasonable room rate.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OregonLawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Modera_GM, General Manager at Hotel Modera, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Modera on your recent trip to Portland and thank you for taking the time to review your stay! I’m thrilled that you found your bed comfortable and you enjoyed a quiet restful night! I also appreciate your kind words about the quality and value in our valet services.

Thanks again for the great review! We look forward to having you with us again on your next trip to Portland!

Best Regards,
Desmond Mollendor
General Manager
503-484-1084

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,000)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,230 - 1,236 of 2,000 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2013

Had a recent fun weekend trip to Partland and Stayed at the Hotel Modera! What a great hotel, excellent customer service and nice amenities. Was also a short walk from anywhere you need to go in downtown Portland. I would highly recommend to anyone looking to stay in Portland.

Room Tip: All rooms are very large with great beds!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jottele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed here on New Year's Eve. The room was nice and bed was super comfortable. Also, the staff was very friendly and helpful.

Big plus was that they provide free guest passes to the 24 hour fitness down the street which includes the group classes and pool area.

Also, the hotel is super convenient to restaurants and shopping. It is within 5 - 10 minute walk.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cecilia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Fantastic value boutique hotel just a few blocks from the shopping and the brewery district. Also very near to all of the important bus/tram stops. The rooms are spacious and comfortable with the added bonus of valet parking. Valet parking is chargeable

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilacstranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Modera_GM, General Manager at Hotel Modera, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Modera on your recent trip to Portland and thank you for the good review! We look forward to having you with us again on your next trip to Portland.

Best Regards,
Desmond Mollendor
General Manager
503-484-1084

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

My wife and I stayed three nights here and throughly enjoyed it. It is a very attractive hotel and the staff was extremely helpful and friendly. My wife, who is an artist, loved the many fine prints and paintings. Downtown Portland is very walkable which means you can get pretty much anywhere (including the Pearl District) in no more than 20 minutes. Unfortunately, Portland no longer offers free rides downtown on the MAX but it only costs $5 to buy an all-day pass. The rooms were very well furnished and quiet although the traffic noise on 5th might disturb anyone who is a very light sleeper. I encourage anyone visiting Portland to check out what this hotel has to offer!

Room Tip: The quietest rooms overlook the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bookman41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

My other & I stayed here for a friends wedding. The staff was friendly & helpful. The hotel was beautiful and priced well for being in downtown Portland. Our fave part was the faux fur king size blanket. So cozy!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pdxme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

I had a great time at Modera - I live in Portland, so I don't stay many places here but I would definitely recommend it if I had a guest in town who needs to stay here.

Decor is modern decorated by a local photographs (including photos of arrival of Portlandia - the statue, not the TV show). It is indeed walking distance from many downtown attractions (it is located in downtown). If you have to go to Rose Quarter or Convention Center, MAX stop is a block away. I would much recommend to stay here and enjoy downtown activities than stay around Convention Center.

Other areas that's close by - Schnitzer Concert Hall, Higgins restaurant, Heathman Bar, Portland State University - all within walking distance.

THe adjacent restaurant, Nel Centro, has improved a lot as of late, and have awesome happy hour specials both food and drink. It's more like a regular restaurant than a hotel bar.

Parking is valet only and costs something like $27 extra. If you flying in, you can just take a Max for $2.50.

Room Tip: One last thing - between garden view and city view, pick garden view. They have outside fireplace a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eusay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Modera_GM, General Manager at Hotel Modera, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Modera on your recent Staycation here in Portland. I am thrilled to hear that you found the décor and the restaurant Nel Centro to your liking! We appreciate you taking the time to post a review of our property for the TripAdvisor community, as it is posts like these that aid in our success. Thanks again, and I hope you choose Hotel Modera again when you’re looking for another Portland getaway!

Best Regards,
Desmond Mollendor
General Manager
503-484-1084

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#16 of 144 in Portland
1,441 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel
Hotel deLuxe
#7 of 144 in Portland
2,867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#8 of 144 in Portland
1,686 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Dossier
Dossier
#56 of 144 in Portland
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Modera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Modera

Address: 515 SW Clay St, Portland, OR 97201-5407
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#19 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#21 Family Hotel in Portland
#27 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $139 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Modera 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The rooms are indulged with the softest linen, down blankets and a luxurious pillow top mattress. Our desk includes outlets that are easily accessible with a comfortable leather desk chair. Tarocco bath products are formulated with Sicilian Red Oranges. Amenities include high-speed wireless internet, complimentary passes to 24 Hour Fitness, iPod docking stereo, 46" LCD TVs with HD premium channels, a mini refrigerator, minibar, and an in-room safe big enough to accommodate a full size laptop. A daily Amenity Fee will be collected at the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Modera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Modera Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing