We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“snazzy little place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Modera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Modera
Ranked #26 of 139 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
115 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“snazzy little place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

Loved my two day stay at the Modera. Clean, modern rooms, comfortable beds. Staff was friendly and attentive and relaxed. Restaurant was a real bonus, had good dinner and breakfast. Wished they opened the breakfast a little earlier than 8am on Sundays for the business travelers.In the evenings the outdoor patio features outdoor fireplaces, very cosy. Bonus was a complimentary workout at the nearby Nautilus. Place felt modern and comfortable without the over the top price tag. Location is great, in downtown and walking distance of shops and restaurants. A little noisy due to traffic in the morning hours, but ok. I stay here again.

Room Tip: Away from any elevator and top floors are quieter. I liked the 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,871 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,082
    535
    177
    50
    27
See reviews for
277
776
159
417
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

We just came back from a quick trip to Portland. There were 11 of us ranging in age from 13 to 75.
We all found the hotel to be great. We ate in the restaurant and enjoyed the bar area that has outdoor fire pits!
The hotel is in a perfect location to walk to all the shops and very close to the waterfront.
I would suggest the hotel to anyone!

Thank you Hotel Modera for a smooth trip and hope to see you in the near future

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMR2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Modera_GM, General Manager at Hotel Modera, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Modera and for taking the time to review your stay. I’m thrilled you and your party had a great experience! We hope to have you with us again on your next trip to Portland.

Best Regards,
Desmond Mollendor
General Manager
503-484-1084
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

My girlfriend and I spent a memorable night in a Premiere King room at the Hotel Modera this fall, and would certainly do so again.

Positive aspects of the experience:
Staff at the front desk were courteous, professional, and knowledgeable about the hotel, restaurant, region, and local events. They were clearly eager to help make patrons' stays as enjoyable as possible.

We ordered room service from Nel Centro, choosing Ravioli ai Quattro Formaggi & Basil Pesto and Mussels Marinière with Shallots, Garlic, Parsley & White Wine, in addition to a delectable salad. The serving sizes were hearty, and each dish was delicious. Prices were mostly in the 10-20 dollar range per plate, which I considered very reasonable considering the quality of the ingredients and the meticulous preparation taken. The room service staff was polite and timely.

Not only is Modera partnered with Nel Centro, the hotel is also makes available the 24 Hour Fitness gym right around the corner, allowing access to a plethora of gym equipment as well as swimming pool and steam room.

We had a great view of the charming restaurant below, but despite being right by a busy, downtown street on a weekend night, noise pollution was not noticeable at all. Which brings up another pro of Hotel Modera; it's located right in the heart of Portland.

The room was impeccably clean and included comfortable and aesthetically-pleasing furniture and appliances, which extends to the hotel in general, which featured crisp, modern, relaxing decor and color schemes. An HD flatscreen with a channel selection including HBO and ipod docking station and speakers were nice to have, as were freshly-laundered bath robes.

Negative aspects:
The bathtub was on the short side; I am about 5'9'' and was unable to stretch out much, so would imagine that it would be quite uncomfortable for taller guests. In fact, the room was a little cramped in general, without a whole lot free space for maneuvering, which made for easily stubbed knees or trips.

Many items that may have been complimentary at other boutique hotels, such as water, candies, etc., were charged for if taken from the bedside or cabinet. A small kitchenette would have been handy, as well.

Despite a few shortcomings, this was an overwhelmingly positive experience, and I highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: I would not recommend this hotel for families with young, energetic children as the rooms are not ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bryantheoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
136 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

This was a very nice hotel with awesome restaurant attached. I know the prices are adjusted up and down depending on the city activity but this hotel might be a little overpriced for what they deliver. Love the restaurant but the room is small. The charge for valet parking is a little steep.

Very friendly staff but I signed the bill through gritted teeth.

Room Tip: The higher level rooms take you away from the noise of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dannieboysreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Modera_GM, General Manager at Hotel Modera, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Modera on a recent trip to Portland. You are correct in your assumption that hotel room rates increase with certain city and expected increased business levels. Typically the rates and quality of hotels decrease for hotels the further away you get from downtown. In regards to our room sizes, they are comparable to other boutique hotels in downtown Portland. Our rooms are comfortable, clean, and well appointed and we are confident in the value our guests receive at any room rate. Also, our valet parking fee is one of the least expensive for a hotel property in downtown.

Thanks again for choosing Hotel Modera. Please keep us in mind for future trips to Portland.

Best Regards,
Desmond Mollendor
General Manager
503-484-1084
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

While the outside of this hotel is somewhat "blah", 3* at best, don't judge the hotel until you have entered the lobby. Fantastic boutique hotel, rooms are great, fabulous location! Our room is on the 5th floor (top floor), nice and quiet. The staff are super friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m1ch1sweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Reserved a King room and were upgraded to a King Suite! Complimentary bottle of Pinot Noir was a great touch! Bed was extremely comfortable, bathroom elegant with white marble. Great location in downtown Portland. Had lunch when we arrived and breakfast the next morning at Nel Centro, both were excellent! Highly recommend this great hotel!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CAT1209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

I had a great stay at Hotel Modera while attending a conference in downtown Portland. Staff was very friendly, professional, and proactive in checking whether I was comfortable and had what I needed. My room was comfy and nicely laid out, with upscale linens and urban-chic decor. The Nel Centro restaurant in the hotel is very pleasant too. The only downside, in my opinion, is city street noise. Portland's not a terribly noisy city, but you can definitely hear the buses and light rail on the street side of the hotel. Given that my room cost the same as the conference hotel down the street (which was overbooked and not nearly as nice), Modera turned out to be a great value. I will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the courtyard side are probably a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#14 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,327 reviews
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#25 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,942 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#5 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Paramount Hotel
Paramount Hotel
#10 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Modera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Modera

Property: Hotel Modera
Address: 515 SW Clay St, Portland, OR 97201-5407
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#19 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#27 Business Hotel in Portland
#30 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Modera 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The rooms are indulged with the softest linen, down blankets and a luxurious pillow top mattress. Our desk includes outlets that are easily accessible with a comfortable leather desk chair. Tarocco bath products are formulated with Sicilian Red Oranges. Amenities include high-speed wireless internet, complimentary passes to 24 Hour Fitness, iPod docking stereo, 46" LCD TVs with HD premium channels, a mini refrigerator, minibar, and an in-room safe big enough to accommodate a full size laptop. A daily Amenity Fee will be collected at the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Modera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Modera Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing