We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern boutique hotel, friendly staff and nice patio!”
Review of Hotel Modera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Modera
Ranked #28 of 142 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
toronto
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Modern boutique hotel, friendly staff and nice patio!”
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights during a west coast road trip. We were very impressed with this hotel. A classy, yet modern boutique hotel experience. The rooms were up-to-date, clean and nice. The staff were friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay here again.

A tip - there are some really cool breakfast places about 15 minutes from the hotel. No need to spend the money at the hotel restaurent!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rubbish82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,946 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,118
    555
    187
    55
    31
See reviews for
286
808
161
434
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ponchatoula, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We loved our stay at Hotel Modera. Excellent staff, genuinely helpful, super nice - what more could you ask for? Rooms were cozy and comfortable, only lacking a chair for reading - though we didn't spend a lot of time in our room. Excellent linens, comfy bed and plenty of pillows.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gingerayle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Fantastic boutique hotel, the room was really clean, the bed was GREAT, high quality mattress and the bar/restaurant downstairs has good wine, food. We had breakfast there twice as well as enjoyed the happy hour which has a unique menu-everything was delicious. Staff was super helpful, providing restuarant recommendations and even going above and beyond helping us with out of state information/reservations.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Modera_GM, General Manager at Hotel Modera, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Modera on your recent trip to Portland. I am happy to hear you slept comfortably! It’s also good to know that you found the room clean and our staff helpful. Thanks again for staying with us! We look forward to having you with us on your next trip to Portland!

Best Regards,
Desmond Mollendor
General Manager
503-484-1084
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Nice, clean modern decor, great service, location and value! Really enjoyed the hotel's outdoor patio.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MuffyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

i wanted to write this positive review and thank all of staff of hotel modera for making my vacation so memorable.
location, service and security play a large part in my enjoyment of being away. you provide this and much more.
from the moment i booked on the telephone, through the smooth check in, to the smiling faces that i encountered at the front desk, valet service,the servers and bartenders in the nel centro restaurant throughout the week … i had a positively wonderful time.
what a pleasure the stay in such a great place. i appreciate everything they did for me. i know that everyone is treated exceptionally well but team modera has a way of making every guest feel very welcome and in their own way … special, another reviewer has also mentioned that they were treated like the only guests at the hotel.
i loved the attention to detail throughout the hotel. a beautiful modern lobby, many pieces of art to be enjoyed, paintings, sculptures and even wonderful art books to enjoy in the sitting areas.

the rooms are spacious, absolutely spotless, the cleaning staff greet you in the hallways and ask if everything is to your satisfaction.
a newspaper outside your door in the a.m. is a very nice touch. a coffee machine is in the room and while you enjoy your wolfgang puck coffee or tazo zen tea you can read up on what is happening in portland and see events that you may fit in during your visit.
the bed was like sleeping on a cloud … i was asleep the moment my head hit the pillow. lots of pillows on the bed, they are perfect, the fur throw on the bed is gorgeous (and toasty warm) who knew i'd need it in june (oregon was cold)
the double pane glass prevents any noise from the street below disturbing your nights sleep. the sheer drapes filter the sun, open for full light and heavy drapes block out the light for an afternoon nap. hallway noise can be heard at times from inconsiderate guests that feel everyone needs to know they are coming or going and think the doors need to be slammed to lock. (but that is in every hotel) the red chaise in my room was very comfortable and a great spot to catch up on reading and it also was a nice splash of colour in the room.
the radio at beside fits an ipod so that you can awaken to your favourite tunes / alarm.(i personally love this feature) but don't worry if you haven't an ipod, it functions as an alarm on it's own.
there is mini bar/fridge and and you will find many offerings of things you may have forgotten to pack … toothbrush, toothpaste. they also have bottled water, nutrition bars and snacks (at reasonable prices for your convenience)
in the armoire there is lots of space to hang your clothing so that you aren't living out of your suitcase. you will also find an iron and ironing board and a plush robe with slippers that were great to lounge in after a shower / before bed.
the bathroom was sparkling clean, nice and plentiful towels. they offer shampoo, conditioner, soap and moisturizer by torocco. it is very nice product line.
i appreciate the free wi-fi. it is something i now like to have as i travel with a laptop. there is an in room personal safe that each guest sets their own combination for. your jewellery, camera, passport , ipod and laptop are secure.
the lobby has two imacs so that guests not travelling with their own computers can check for email, perhaps visit a website to see what's on in portland or find directions quickly on google maps to your destination. in the spacious hall toward nel centro is an ipad. it is a popular spot to sit and enjoy web surfing while waiting for friends to join you for a delicious meal at the nel centro restaurant.
don't miss the happy hour specials there. an individual pizza and a glass of wine after i've travelled a long journey let's me unwind, get a second wind and settle into the early evening with a quick bite to eat in a thriving friendly spot without having to leave the building. if you are on your own you will enjoy not only the great food offerings but the people watching, perhaps sit outdoors by the firepits. it is a great ( very popular with the locals after work crowd) little social spot to meet new friends and other guests of the hotel. check out the living wall of colourful, beautiful grasses, ferns and other plantlife. marvel in the fact that this area once was a parking lot. it is forever changing and in the fall especially is stunning as it turns to autumn shades.
i would be amiss to not mention the fantastic jazz guitarist that plays on weekends. a huge thank you to mike pardew for a couple evenings of most enjoyable music played from the heart by this very talented man.
i am planning to return to portland in the fall and look forward to staying at what i consider "my home away from home"
you owe it to yourself to stay at this modern, elegant and most welcoming hotel.
thank you team modera … until next time.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank szabos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hotel Modera, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with Hotel Modera and thank you for taking the time to leave a thorough fantastic review on TripAdvisor! I am so pleased to hear that you appreciated all of the little details. We did our best to create a comfortable, friendly, and luxurious environment, and it’s excellent that you took notice of these efforts.

Thanks again for choosing Hotel Modera! We look forward to having you with us again on your next trip to Portland!

Best Regards,
Desmond Mollendor
General Manager
503-484-1084
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Stayed at Hotel Modera for 4 days. Nice lobby and outdoor patio. But rooms were a little underwhelming. Bathroom was small. Room space was big, but they didn't have any type of chair/ couch seating except for one task chair (for a double queen room).

Great location. Food and room service was great. Walking distance to MAX. Good customer service.

My only pet peeve - The walls are UBER THIN. I could hear every intimate details from my neighbor the entire night. Woke me up several times through out the night. Probably on their honeymoon or something but it was LOUD. You would think for a so called "luxury" boutique hotel, they would have better construction!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobalTravelerM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hotel Modera, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with Hotel Modera on your recent trip to Portland, and thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I am happy to hear that you found our location convenient, the lobby and patio to your liking and the rooms spacious. I am also pleased that you found our staff helpful.

It is with regret that you seemed to experience some issues with noisy neighbors during your stay. Our walls are concrete and we do not often have issues with noise transference in rooms besides those with adjoining doors. It is of upmost importance that all of our guests receive a good nights sleep, and I wish you had brought this disturbance to our attention so that we might have been able to address it with your neighbors or by offering you another room.

I would also like to mention that we will be sealing and sound proofing most of our adjoining rooms as we find them less desirable and rarely requested. We hope that by doing this we will eliminate the few comments we hear about noise transference, and allow for a more peaceful nights sleep for our guests in those particular rooms.

Thanks again for choosing Hotel Modera. Please keep us in mind for any future trips to Portland. I would also like to encourage you to contact me directly to discuss your recent stay.

Best Regards,
Desmond Mollendor
General Manager
503-484-1084
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Modern lobby, bar, and restaurant. Top-notch food. The courtyard with fire pits is a highlight. Excellent happy hour menu and cocktails. Excellent location for the Keller Auditorium or Schnitzer. Fairly quiet area in the evening; not much in the way of late night eateries or bars in walking distance but MAX is right in front of hotel. Wish there was more in the way of amenities (no pool or hot tub). Also a little surprised that they have no complementary offerings like continental breakfast or even coffee in the morning. Rooms are average for a hotel of this class; clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lacey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#25 of 142 in Portland
2,075 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#3 of 142 in Portland
2,809 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#14 of 142 in Portland
1,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#4 of 142 in Portland
1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Modera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Modera

Property: Hotel Modera
Address: 515 SW Clay St, Portland, OR 97201-5407
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#19 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#27 Business Hotel in Portland
#30 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Modera 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The rooms are indulged with the softest linen, down blankets and a luxurious pillow top mattress. Our desk includes outlets that are easily accessible with a comfortable leather desk chair. Tarocco bath products are formulated with Sicilian Red Oranges. Amenities include high-speed wireless internet, complimentary passes to 24 Hour Fitness, iPod docking stereo, 46" LCD TVs with HD premium channels, a mini refrigerator, minibar, and an in-room safe big enough to accommodate a full size laptop. A daily Amenity Fee will be collected at the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Modera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Modera Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing