We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous find in Portland downtown.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Modera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Modera
Ranked #26 of 138 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fabulous find in Portland downtown.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2011

Because hotels near the convention center were booked for a conference I just attended, I decided to venture away from the Hiltons and Marriotts and try something different. The Hotel Modera sounded cool on their website, and it is! Great location within walking distance of some of Portland's best restaurants, and near the tram, this hotel wins 5 stars from me for its chic but not cold ambiance, comfortable rooms (with good lighting!!), and genuinely nice and helpful staff. Besides being priced more reasonably than the aforementioned chains, Modera provided "better than expected" accommodations. I will return.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChiliGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,852 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,071
    529
    176
    50
    26
See reviews for
275
770
158
409
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2011

Hotel Modera is very retro. Great value. Good breakfast at the adjacent restaurant (not owned by the hotel). The housekeeping staff, especially Guadalupe, was sooo helpful. Had left something there and she found it and sent it to me. Only room available the 2 different nights we stayed there was a handicapped room. The shower, toilet and sink were in one room, a minor inconvenience. But other than that, room was quite comfortable and had free wi-fi.

Room Tip: Try not to get a handicapped room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SKO4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Modera_GM, General Manager at Hotel Modera, responded to this review, December 19, 2011
Dear Guest from San Diego,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Modera on your recent trip to Portland! I am very happy to hear that you were impressed enough by our Housekeeping Manager to leave a positive review on TripAdvisor. We are very lucky to have her on our team, and hope she will stay with us in the years to come.

Thanks again for choosing Hotel Modera, and we hope to have you with us again soon!

Regards,
Desmond Mollendor
General Manager
503.484.1084
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
172 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2011

The Hotel Modera is located centrally in Downtown Portland. The property has been renovated and the result is very satisfactory. The hotels offers a very modern and soothing atmosphere, in addition, they have excellent service at a great value. There is a Max line right in the front of the hotel. Their restaurant, Nel Centro, offers a wonderful menu and drinks. I would highly recommend this hotel for those visiting PDX for the first time.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TallTaste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaview, Washington
Level Contributor
103 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2011

This is truly a 'Boutique' hotel, the interior design of lobby and rooms is high style 'Mad Men'
with wonderful art and 50's modern mixed for a clean, lean design, bright colors. This hotel is located a short transit ride from 'The Pearl District' which is the place to go for art gallery's, restaurants and all around fantastic shopping. The service staff is excellent, pleasant and helpful, the restaurant has tasty food and great martini's. One of the best things to do is sit outside by the fireside and enjoy the small food plates and drinks, chat and sit back, enjoy the evening. Parking not a problem, available right at the hotel. Rooms are very clean and bathroom roomy and spotless. Tarocco bath products infused with orange, wonderful.

Room Tip: 3rd floor over the patio area
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wendell01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2011

This hotel presents itself as a "Boutique" hotel and the lobby/restaurant does have a boutique feel to it. The main downside to the place are the rooms which basically feel like a 70s renovated Days inn (which I was told it used to be by a local). For a me a boutique hotel should have more upsides for the clientele than the lobby/restaurant such as any of the following:

- free breakfast
- Use of name when dealing with the client.
- Impressive decor in the rooms.
- Hightech options (i.e. Aloft's media center)

That said, it is in no way a bad place to spend a few days in Portland, it is close to downtown and next PSU. I did not visit the restaurant but there were many good dining options within a few mnutes walk.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank klear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Modera_GM, General Manager at Hotel Modera, responded to this review, November 9, 2011
Dear Guest from Montreal,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Modera on your recent trip to Portland. I appreciate you taking the time to review your stay and point out our convenient location.

We welcome all critiques and comments and value our guests’ opinions. When the property was completely renovated in 2008, we put in countless hours into the design, details and overall ambiance and created what is Hotel Modera. We take great pride in what we developed at Hotel Modera and believe that our boutique feel and luxurious amenities can be found throughout the entire property.

Thanks again for your critique, and we hope to have you with us again on a future trip to Portland.

Regards,
Desmond Mollendor
General Manager
503.484.1084
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

So glad we stayed at Hotel Modera. The room rate is very reasonable, with a location near the river and several blocks from downtown worked perfectly for us. The entire hotel has been renovated and is very modern. Our room was great - contemporary furniture and bedding, plenty of room and clean, funky bathroon. The outside lounge area under the sails with the fireplaces was perfect for a drink and snacks at happy hour. The staff was very helpful, courteous and fun. SPECIAL thanks to Jake - who helped secure us a room - when we found at check in - that I had reserved the wrong date by a day!!Thanks again Jake.
We did not at at the new restaurant, but it looked to be an interesting menu. Next time.

Room Tip: 4th floor, overlooking the 'living' wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fayeCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay area
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

Fantastic staff -- some of the best I've ran into, and super-fun decor. I love the firepits outside, the iPads in the lobby, and the great restaurant downstairs. Parking is a little pricey at $27/day, but the cars are kept on site and are quickly delivered when needed. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michdawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#15 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,275 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#4 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,674 reviews
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#25 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Paramount Hotel
Paramount Hotel
#8 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Modera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Modera

Property: Hotel Modera
Address: 515 SW Clay St, Portland, OR 97201-5407
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#19 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#27 Business Hotel in Portland
#30 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Modera 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The rooms are indulged with the softest linen, down blankets and a luxurious pillow top mattress. Our desk includes outlets that are easily accessible with a comfortable leather desk chair. Tarocco bath products are formulated with Sicilian Red Oranges. Amenities include high-speed wireless internet, complimentary passes to 24 Hour Fitness, iPod docking stereo, 46" LCD TVs with HD premium channels, a mini refrigerator, minibar, and an in-room safe big enough to accommodate a full size laptop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Modera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Modera Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing