We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, loved our stay”
Review of Hotel Modera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Modera
Ranked #29 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Beautiful boutique hotel in downtown Portland. Very good restaurant on the premises. Warm & friendly service, super comfy beds. Would love to stay here again. My only complaint is the hotel is so popular we were unable to stay additional days.

One thing worth noting is the only parking available on premise is valet.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lopella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,991)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,545 - 1,551 of 1,991 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2011

Clean, safe, nice little walk down the hill to Portland Opera. Perhaps too ambitious for an elderly person because it was rainy and uphill at night, but fine for a fit person. Had to use valet parking for the auto overnight. Nice attached restaurant for breakfast. Compact, quiet room. Would stay there again! As an aside, there were some street urchins lurking in alleyways, however, we walked assertively and they did not bother us.

Room Tip: comfortable bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrustThis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Modera during a weekend getaway to Portland. I enjoyed our stay so much and will definitley stay at Hotel Modera when we return. The staff and service there are excellent. The rooms are beautiful and the bed was the most comfortable I've ever slept in. We ate at the restaurant downstairs which was delicious and had a lovely band playing. I wish we could have enjoyed the outdoor seating area and lovely firepits, but it was a bit too cold for me. I absolutely loved my stay and can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room with a Faux Fur blanket! They are awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IsobelsMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

We loved this hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms are small but comfortable. There is a lot of action on their beautiful patio.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KCconch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

Located in downtown Portland, the Hotel is beautiful, with comfortable and well appointed decor. The beds are insanely comfortable and the bathrooms are nearly perfect. Beware the closet door/bathroom door. It's very heavy and will startle you when it slams shut. Everyone there was utterly lovely and gracious.

It's perfectly located to walk around the city and we were thrilled with our dinner down at Veritable Quandary.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank turnipjunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Modera_GM, General Manager at Hotel Modera, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2011

Dear Guests from Atlanta,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Modera on your recent trip to Portland. We appreciate your business and thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am happy to see that your stay was comfortable. We hope to have you with us again on your next trip to Portland.

Desmond Mollendor
General Manager
503.484.1084

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

I booked my room on the hotel website about a month in advance. I selected an ADA compliant Junior Suite, which was priced in between the hotels "Deluxe" rooms and "Modera Suites". When I arrived, I was surprised to find that the "Junior Suite" was actually an ADA compliant regular room - and the bath was REALLY ADA compliant, in that there was no bathtub or shower stall at all - just a large open shower in the middle of the bathroom, making the bathroom a complete wet area. After some back and forth with the front desk (who were VERY nice and accommodating), we were moved to a "Deluxe Garden View" room. The front desk indicated they had no idea why the website listed the ADA compliant rooms as "Junior Suites" rather than "ADA compliant rooms." The front desk did send a bottle of wine to the room to apologize for the room mix up, which was a nice gesture.

Other than that, our experience was fine. Clearly, this property used to be a motel, but was renovated to be the boutique hotel it now is. The overall ambiance is great - very mid-Century modern chic. While the rooms are adequate, they are very small, and only a small section of the window opens up to allow in fresh air. My overall experience was ok. While I would be ok staying here again, I would probably opt for someplace else next time.

Room Tip: The city view rooms are more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MLD2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2011

Centrally located near the free light rail system that goes across Portland. A very modern hotel that was most suitable for us, as tourists. We were able to leave the car unused for most of our stay without the worries usually associated with having a vehicle in a larger city. Free Wi-Fi was available.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank handr40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#16 of 144 in Portland
1,433 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#6 of 144 in Portland
2,857 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#7 of 144 in Portland
1,637 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Modera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Modera

Address: 515 SW Clay St, Portland, OR 97201-5407
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#19 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#27 Business Hotel in Portland
#30 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $139 - $336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Modera 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The rooms are indulged with the softest linen, down blankets and a luxurious pillow top mattress. Our desk includes outlets that are easily accessible with a comfortable leather desk chair. Tarocco bath products are formulated with Sicilian Red Oranges. Amenities include high-speed wireless internet, complimentary passes to 24 Hour Fitness, iPod docking stereo, 46" LCD TVs with HD premium channels, a mini refrigerator, minibar, and an in-room safe big enough to accommodate a full size laptop. A daily Amenity Fee will be collected at the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Modera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Modera Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing