We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good little bakery”

Ken's Artisan Bakery
Ranked #5 of 80 Bakeries in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Neighborhood: Northwest District
Ottawa
Level Contributor
370 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Good little bakery”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

Stopped in for a treat. Good selection of baked goods which we wanted to sample. We tried the chocolatine (chocolate croissant) and a blackberry macaron. The latter was delicious. The chocolate croissant was slightly overlooked. Nice place to have a break or pick up a morning treat.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ottawajester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    48
    10
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
407 reviews
303 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
“Great bakery and lunch spot”
Reviewed August 15, 2014

Each time I have gone whether for lunch or take-out it has been delicious. However, when asking to find prices for a catered lunch for a gift for some friends, it was like I asked for something on the moon. A simple, no... That is not our thing would have sufficed.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MikeLudin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

The bread is so good I had to buy the book! I doubted I could make bread as good as Ken's but he gives a step by step and you can't go wrong. I think it's really a complement to the owner to share his recipes, so us traveling foodies can enjoy his breads at home! I'm hoping they will share the biscotti recipe next which was also to die for.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Debbie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great Bakery Fare”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Great sandwiches and baked goods. Some small tables and a larger common table where you can eat some unique and delicious offerings. Novel takes on classic sandwiches (for example some mint and lemon aioli in the tuna salad sandwich.) I'm not a dessert person but could not leave without sampling a pastry and loved it. Not surprising, since Ken LITERALLY wrote the book on baking! ("Flower, Water, Salt, Yeast" by Ken Forkworth)

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Arashibi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Yummy breads”
Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

The hallmark of any notable sandwich is its bread. Ken's is delightful. I had the Croque Portobello, my husband had the roast beef. Both were exceptional. Just a bit of a atmosphere divot. Can't wait to take some baked delight home.

Helpful?
Thank Judith95008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ken's Artisan Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Ken's Artisan Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing