We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Like drinking an melted chocolate bar” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cacao

Cacao
Ranked #8 of 102 Dessert in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Seating
Neighborhood: Downtown
Olympia, WA
Level Contributor
125 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Like drinking an melted chocolate bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We have been here before, and they have quite a variety of chocolates to choose from--not inexpensive, but very good quality. This time we each had a "small" drinking chocolate. I cannot imagine drinking the regular size, it is so incredibly rich. Our servings were about the size of an espresso cup, and it was plenty, AND plenty delicious. If I could have figured out how to lick the cup without getting chocolate all over my nose and offending my husband, I would have. Get here.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Coug1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    35
    8
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Chocolate heaven!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Chocolate lovers, do NOT leave Portland without visiting this place! The drinking chocolate will blow your mind, it is so amazingly good. Seriously, there is not enough hyperbole in the universe to describe how good this stuff is. We hit this place up twice during our short weekend in town. The first time, we tried the flight of 3 shots, and the second time we went back for more of our favorites. Note, just because they sell hot beverages, don't expect them to keep coffee shop hours. We were there with our little noses pressed up against the window waiting for them to open at 10 AM. Worth the wait...and for that matter, worth the whole road trip!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The most amazing hot chocolate ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

After a long day, this pregnant lady needed an after-dinner pick-me-up. Wandering past our hotel on Stark St we stumbled upon Cacao - best random sampling ever. I had the Rivoli dark drinking chocolate and it was AMAZING - bitter, thick and just what I needed. Will be back :)

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jilldewes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Don't visit Portland without stopping here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

This place was recommended to us by a friend who raved about it, and it lived up to the review! The hot cocoa flight was amazing!

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AmyLou812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
199 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Hot chocolate heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Get the drinking chocolate flight. 3 small cups -each unique and wonderful. It can easily be split between two people. Then pick out some salted caramels. Not cheap but fantastic.I think my favorite would be a shot of the cinnamon drinking chocolate mixed with a shot of the dark chocolate.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dp_2000NewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cacao also viewed

 

Been to Cacao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing