We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I feel like I'm in Italy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caffe Umbria

Caffe Umbria
Ranked #13 of 192 Coffee & Tea in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Pearl
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“I feel like I'm in Italy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Some of the best coffee in the city. The interior is very similar to what you'd find in northern Italy. Also their is usually someone speaking Italian off in the background.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank EatAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    17
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln City, Oregon
Level Contributor
64 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food, Simple Menu & Great Customer Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

In the busy Pearl District, this gem of a cafe is lively but somehow peaceful and calming. Excellent coffee drinks, pizzas, sandwiches, paninis with a healthy flare plus baked desserts and ice cream to finish it off. The customer service exceeded anything we could have desired with friendly smiles and timely taking, preparing and serving our orders. We will visit here again and often. Can't explain it but it feels like a friend's cozy kitchen. Outside seating also available on sunnier days.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cyndyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camas, Washington
Level Contributor
262 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 927 helpful votes
“Forget the Chains, this is the place for coffee in the Pearl”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

What a great spot. Lovely interior in the bottom of the highest end building in Portland, "The Casey". Not the least bit pretentious, great coffee and service, Italian TV playing, a real coffee house where you are welcome to linger.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank MonkeyGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anytown, usa
Level Contributor
85 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Amazing Traditional Italian Caffè Latte's!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

My barista was an artist. I ordered a caffè latte. It was so beautiful that I almost didn't want to drink it...almost. It was everything that I had expected and more. This is not a place that you should pass up. Visit and taste the wonderful magic!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SandEWanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
669 reviews
346 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
“Great espresso drinks, even better soups”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

We go here for lunch nearly once a week. We never know what the soup will be and the types change regularly - but they're always fresh and delicious, and when they run out, that's it for the day. Lattes are consistently some of the best in Portland. Get a small or medium latte "for here" and you'll get a pretty design on top.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TJandTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caffe Umbria also viewed

 

Been to Caffe Umbria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing