We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“City Gem”
Review of Washington Park

Washington Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$79.00*
and up
Best of Portland Small-Group Sightseeing Tour
More Info
$105.00*
and up
Portland Sightseeing Tour Including Columbia Gorge Waterfalls
More Info
$34.00*
and up
Portland Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #2 of 448 things to do in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This popular park offers miles of trails, an extensive rose garden, a large Japanese garden and a zoo. For information on free shuttles, attraction admission hours and pricing within the park, and maps, visit our website.
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“City Gem”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Hike the Arboretum and the Marquam trails. Get the MAX to the zoo and head north for the Arboretum and south past the zoo for the Marquam. Both are great and in general you are hiking downhill as the start point is high up. End the MArquam at the OHSU and get the tramway down to meet the trams back into the center.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gordon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    908
    238
    31
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Longwood, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great view of Mt. Hood”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

The entrance I went to was in a neighborhood at the end of the street. The walk to the park is up a steep hill. Maybe not steep to everyone, but being from Florida it was an accomplishment to reach the park. I went to take photos of the changing leaves, but the area I was in did not have the right type of trees. Turning around to go back down the steps at the entrance of the park, I saw the beautiful view of Mt. Hood. It was a nice surprise and more than made up for the lack of changing leaves. On another day, I drove into the park and saw a section of the rose garden. A few flowers were still in bloom, but it must be gorgeous in season. I didn't realize how large the park really is. I wish I had more time to see more of the park, but it will have to wait until next time.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank traveljunkie1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Japanese Garden”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

The Japanese Garden is absolutely beautiful all year long. I went for the fall colors which are world famous and was about 7 to 10 days late for the peak colors. I was alittle dissapointed but came away with some great pictures anyway

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank nikonbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Japanese Garden a gem”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We did not have time to tour the entire park, but the Japanese Garden is absolutely authentic and beautifully designed

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gordon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayenne, French Guiana
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Nice Colors of fall”
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

Many things to do with kids ( zoo, children museum, playground). We rode with my daughter in a trailer, be careful of the many climbs! Heavy job! Colors of Maple trees are divine at this Time of the year, especially at the japanese garden. Nice view of Mont Hood and of Portland.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank isayade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Washington Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing